Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
Post Reply
ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Thu Nov 24, 2022 4:28 am

I'm running MacOS Ventura 13.0.1 with Native Instrument application called Native Access to install my virtual instruments. Every time I tried to install the instruments on the mapped network drive, it'll failed. However, if I try to install the instruments locally, it works fine. Anyway suggestion? Is this an MacOS issue, Native Instrument, or QNAP?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 29470
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by dolbyman » Thu Nov 24, 2022 4:53 am

Probably a question for the manufacturer of whatever app that is (they might not support network locations)

ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:24 am

Thanks!

PeterT1959
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:16 am

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by PeterT1959 » Thu Nov 24, 2022 1:06 pm

From their web site

https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... sk-Formats

https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... ing-Error-

Simply put they categorically state that only internal drives are supported.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk


FSC830
Experience counts
Posts: 1358
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:11 am

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by FSC830 » Thu Nov 24, 2022 3:39 pm

Then you can use the NAS only if you connect by iSCSI - if this would be an option.

Regards

ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:19 pm

PeterT1959 wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 1:06 pm
From their web site

https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... sk-Formats

https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... ing-Error-

Simply put they categorically state that only internal drives are supported.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
Yeah, it seemed that is the case. I found other threads that people have similar issues but if it's Windows then there's registry hack that can get around that. However, I'm using a Mac so option there.

ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:21 pm

FSC830 wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 3:39 pm
Then you can use the NAS only if you connect by iSCSI - if this would be an option.

Regards
Wasn't there an option in Qnap where I can setup the drive to appear as an internal drive? I thought I came across something like that when setting up my Qnap.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 29470
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by dolbyman » Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:25 pm


ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Sun Nov 27, 2022 2:35 am

Thank you, I'll check the link out.

ljCharlie
Starting out
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2022 11:34 pm

Re: Help diagnosing issue storing virtual instruments

Post by ljCharlie » Sun Nov 27, 2022 3:16 am

dolbyman wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 11:25 pm
yes as FSC830 suggested, ISCSI

https://www.qnap.com/en-au/how-to/tutor ... a-qnap-nas
Do you know of any iSCSI that will work with M1 Max running MacOS Ventura? I'm trying to look for one but a couple I've found are quire pricy and I don't know if they'll work too.

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”