macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
salvodelli
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by salvodelli » Mon Nov 14, 2016 3:22 am

I can verify that encrypted Time Machine backups are working again for me, too, as of build 20161102.

User avatar
herksen
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: Soesterberg, NL
Contact:

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by herksen » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:51 pm

Hi folks

Big problem!

After upgrading my iMac 5K to Sierra, the iMac cannot make connection to the Timemachine on a QNAP TS-659 Pro+
i have updated the FW on the QNAP to the latest version (4.2.2) but still cannot connect to `timeMachine on the QNAP.

I urgently need connection to Timemachine as I need to restore lost files on a customers' system.
Is there any trick to access the make a connection to backup share with TimeMachine?

All help greatly appreciated!!!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-EC879U-RP (16Gb ram), 8x WD3000FYYZ-01UL1B2 3Tb in Raid 6 (yes, six!!).
TS-1079 Pro ( 8Gb ram), 10x WD Raid Edition 4 (WD2003FYYS) 2Tb HD in RAID 5
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Robert_73
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:11 am

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by Robert_73 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:29 pm

Hi,

Please check firmware build date - builds 20161021 and 20161028 have TimeMachine issues. The last 20161102 works but have hdd spin down issue and it is confirmed by Qnap tech support. Eventually You can downgrade to build 20160901 - works well with TimeMachine, Sierra and spin downs hdds.

User avatar
herksen
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: Soesterberg, NL
Contact:

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by herksen » Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:37 am

Hi Robert !!

YESSSSSSS, I got all my stuff back!!

You saved my mouldy behind..

Thanks so very much for your great help. VERY much appreciated!!

Question: the '73' in your 'screenname', are you a ham maybe??

Cheers from Robbert /PA3BKL
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-EC879U-RP (16Gb ram), 8x WD3000FYYZ-01UL1B2 3Tb in Raid 6 (yes, six!!).
TS-1079 Pro ( 8Gb ram), 10x WD Raid Edition 4 (WD2003FYYS) 2Tb HD in RAID 5
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Robert_73
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:11 am

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by Robert_73 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:29 am

Hi Herksen,

happy to hear that everything works again! I learned this in hard way fighting with Qnap support - they, as usual, suspect that everything what is wrong is because of user...

73 shows just my age :) and it is simple coincidence with Philips code :))

Cheers

jbburf
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:32 am

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by jbburf » Tue Nov 29, 2016 7:47 am

I'm having issues with Time Machine as well. I purchased a TVS-882 recently and have been able to successfully backup via time machine but only sporadically.

I often receive the following error (this happened before I successfully moved my backup to the NAS, and happens after I have successfully backup up via Time Machine to the NAS):

Screen Shot 2016-11-28 at 4.02.05 PM.png


Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fix this? Thanks in advance.

- Ben
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
herksen
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: Soesterberg, NL
Contact:

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by herksen » Tue Nov 29, 2016 8:26 pm

Could u give some more info??

Is your Mac wired or wireless??
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-EC879U-RP (16Gb ram), 8x WD3000FYYZ-01UL1B2 3Tb in Raid 6 (yes, six!!).
TS-1079 Pro ( 8Gb ram), 10x WD Raid Edition 4 (WD2003FYYS) 2Tb HD in RAID 5
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pddv70
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:05 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by pddv70 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:55 pm

yeah!

I've been struggling for hours on this.

After the October upgrade all my Macs failed to backup.
First I thought only my MBP was the issue as I upgraded it to Sierra OS (which has quite a number of known issues).

Anyway, just upgraded to the 11-02-2016 FW and backups are rolling again.
Thanks QNAP.

for Yosemite, El Capitain and Sierra.

Peter.

salvodelli
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by salvodelli » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:52 pm

Also, Apple just released macOS Sierra 10.12.2, which seems to have fixed some issues with Time Machine. I'm now able to start a new backup to my NAS, which was previously failing with Sierra 10.12.1.

CrashTestOz
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by CrashTestOz » Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:55 pm

Try this:

1. Remove the Disk from your TimeMachine Preferences
2. Open terminal on your Mac
3. Type: sudo tmutil setdestination -ap afp://TimeMachine@QNAP.local/TMBackup
I replaced QNAP.local with the IP of my QNAP
4. Go back to your TimeMachine Preferences and start the backup.

Hope this helps, it worked for me after upgrading to OS X Sierra 10.12.2. I am on QNAP 4.2.0 2016/1/30
----------------------
QNAP TS469L v4.0.7 0410

lukeksk
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by lukeksk » Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:46 am

@CrashTestOz.
I tried your steps below on terminal but I received the following:

Failed to mount afp://192.168.1.101/TMBackup (error 2)
The backup destination could not be added.


I'm on macOS 10.12.2 and QNAP 4.2.2 (2016/12/14).

What should I do? Thanks.

chandler_s
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:17 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by chandler_s » Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:52 pm

After bubbling round on the net I found some hints that I combined into Qnap settings. It seems to be related to SMB.

To resolve this issue for myself I enabled Microsoft networking. In the advanced options button changed the Highest SMB version to 3.0

Deleted all previous backups ( All my backups had failed ).

Its now working and backing up.

bealedave
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:07 am

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by bealedave » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:13 am

SMB versions are the issue. MAC no longer appears to work with older versions? On my TS419 PII it appears to only have a max version of 2.1. This can only be changed using the command line and not the GUI. check other forum comments for how to.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43673
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by schumaku » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:47 pm

bealedave wrote:SMB versions are the issue.
Five by one. The maxOS Sierra (10.12.x) Time Machine has some logic built-in to decide if it's using AFP or SMB. Wild guess is that if the same host announcing a "dk" device in the _afpdisk._tcp. service plus _afpovertcp._tcp. and _smb._tcp it will prefer SMB over AFP.

Subject TS-419PII on QTS 4.2.3 201701xx (and before) does nost announce SMB under the NASname(TimeMachine) host - older OS X as well as current released or Beta macOS Sierra (10.12.x) continue to work with AFP as before. The family MBAs and MBPs on Sierra and Sierra next" Beta are backing up to a classic Time Capsule, to a bunch of QTS 4.3.2.0050 (x86_64, Kirkwood, Annapurna) [using SMB unless I'm worng], and to a TS-419PII on QTS 4.2.3 201701xx (current build) using AFP in the Time Machine round-robin schedule.

No tricks, no manual mounts, plain standard. Of the backudisk can't be found, or the backup fails ... it might be a network issue (or the NAS has crashed and rebooted).

JBX077
Starting out
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: macOS Sierra Time Machine not working

Post by JBX077 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 7:09 pm

superflytnt wrote:
Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:56 am
Quick update. In Finder, if I manually add a QNAP share using AFP, that share will show up in Time Machine. For example...

1) Open Finder. Hit command-k
2) Type "afp//qnap/TMBackup" (replace "qnap" with your server name or IP address)
3) Authenticate (using your QNAP Time Machine creds in the example above)

TMBackup will now successfully show TMBackup in your list of available Time Machine backup disks. If you just use "afp://qnap" and leave off "TMBackup", then after you authenticate you'll get a list of all your QNAP shares. The one you select will mount and be available to MacOS Time Machine in the event you wanted to backup to any old QNAP share.

HOWEVER -- Still can't see any of my QNAP devices in QNAP Finder Pro. Is there another protocol or something involved? And I'm not sure why I have to manually add the TMBackup server in the first place to get MacOS Sierra to see it. Meantime, I'm auto-mounting that drive on boot so Time Machine can see it every time. That seems like something I shouldn't have to do, and didn't have to on any MacOS version prior. I suspect this is the problem other MacOS Sierra users are experiencing to. This is therefore a stop-gap, not a real solution. Not sure what's going on here otherwise.
I have an old Qnap TS-409 Pro (QTS 3.3.3 Build 1003T) which was gathering dust. It still works fine but was replaced by the more powerful TS-470 Pro to run Plex and Kodi. My iMac running macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 is now able to make TimeMachine backups to this old NAS using the method described above.

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”