NAS mounting

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
Post Reply
dave2582
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 1:48 am

NAS mounting

Post by dave2582 » Tue Mar 23, 2021 1:59 am

Hello all,

I have a QNAP TS253BE and a MacBook Pro, on my previous NAS I was able to mount the entire volume on my Mac and from there I could navigate through all the various sub folders but it would appear this is not possible the way I currently have my QNAP set up.

On my Qnap when I use finder to goto a folder on the NAS it mounts that one folder and an icon to that one folder appears as a drive on my desktop. When I goto a different folder again that folder gets mounted and another folder appears as a drive on my desktop.

Is there a way to mount the entire NAS volume on my MAC

Thanks and any help offered is greatly appreciated

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22778
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: NAS mounting

Post by dolbyman » Tue Mar 23, 2021 2:24 am

a NAS works via shares, there is no way to mount the root filesystem (without 'creating' a share via SSH) just mount all shares needed and keep share count to a minimum

syncthing
Know my way around
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 4:58 pm

Re: NAS mounting

Post by syncthing » Tue Mar 23, 2021 3:44 am

maybe you mean something like this
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... w-to-guide

but samba only; not possible with AFP

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”