Something wrong with the volume's DB

Questions about using NAS on Mac OS.
franklahm
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by franklahm » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:24 am

QNAPAlex wrote:Actually, the triggered message is not belong to NAS system, but sent by Mac OS.

The message is send by Netatalk's afpd process using the AFP function FPGetSrvrMsg. It is send by afpd when it failed to connect to the CNID database daemon for whatever reason.

HTH
-Frank

tuennes
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:38 am
Location: Frankfurt

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by tuennes » Sun Nov 21, 2010 5:02 am

Hmmm, since I updated my Mac Book Pro to 10.6.5 I have the same message.
I have updated my NAS 439 to the latest firmware (3.3.6.) as well in the meantime, message still does pop up.

It takes forever, if I want to connect through the Finder and I always get that message.
I am connecting via AFP.
No problems via SMB, but that is too slow, so I want to have the connection via AFP.
In addition I have my complete itunes libary on the NAS via AFP and in case I am trying to connect itunes via SMB it does not find my movies etc.

Has anybody a fix for this?

That is really annoying.

Reset (both, Mac and NAS) does not help. Restart is not solving this either.
:evil:

Best,
Tuennes

ebomber64
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by ebomber64 » Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:20 pm

+1
with the same problem

In my case every time TM will starts backup the message appears
Really annoying

NAS reboot fixes it temporarily, but reappears
TS-209 (v3.3.2 Build 0918T)

User avatar
herksen
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: Soesterberg, NL
Contact:

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by herksen » Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:48 am

It's now 1st of December 2010 and I STILL see this message in my QNAP TS409 Pro, running FW Version 3.3.0 build 0924T

Rebooting doesn't help.
Have 4 iMacs and 2 Macbooks Pro plus one Macbook Air backing up to the QNAP TS-409, and I get the error message all the time on all machines while backup up.

Can someone from QNAP staff please state here that this problem will be on the official buglist???

Thanks

Robbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-EC879U-RP (16Gb ram), 8x WD3000FYYZ-01UL1B2 3Tb in Raid 6 (yes, six!!).
TS-1079 Pro ( 8Gb ram), 10x WD Raid Edition 4 (WD2003FYYS) 2Tb HD in RAID 5
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nerdy
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by Nerdy » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:03 pm

I raised this back on the 23rd July. I started receiving the error when I upgraded to 3.3.1 from 3.3.0
I received the error message on multiple macs. Nothing had changed on any of my systems except for the firmware upgrade on the NAS.

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=32549

As expected, no response from QNAP.

jcatchpoole
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:55 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by jcatchpoole » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:18 am

I'm assuming you've both replied to QNap Alex's post here in this thread asking for help to troubleshoot the issue?

Nerdy
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by Nerdy » Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:38 pm

jcatchpoole wrote:I'm assuming you've both replied to QNap Alex's post here in this thread asking for help to troubleshoot the issue?


Absolutely.
Unfortunately the QNAP is used in a business environment and I am unable to open it up to whoever is on the other end.

I have offered to run commands required and send logs if QNAP wishes.

tuennes
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 5:38 am
Location: Frankfurt

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by tuennes » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:39 pm

I have received an e-mail from QNAP Germany suppert, which is absolutely useless. :twisted:
They said they cannot create the issue on their own and would recommend upgrading the FW again. :shock: In addition I should reboot... :shock:

???
Hello, all of that I have done and wrote in my support request...I've done it numerous times by the way...no change... :twisted:

My workaround by now is the following, and it might be working for others as well. :)

I have established SMS protocoll via bonjour as well, so in my Finder there is not only the NAS seen as NAS (AFP), but also NAS (Samba).
Even though I am not using the Samba connection I can now connect through AFP without getting the message every time. I still get it every tenth time or so and the overall mounting does take longer (but not 30 - 45 seconds as before).

As said it does work for me, though it is all but perfect or how it should be.

Best,
Tuennes

ahbrown41
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by ahbrown41 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:14 am

I have the same issue, rebooted everything multiple times.. I have not opened the apple share with the finder, happens right after a reboot and no activity I am aware of.

Looks like it could be with the opensource nettalk driver QNAP may be using. There is a reference to the error in the code here:

http://netatalk.git.sourceforge.net/git ... ;h=25f0ca7

There is a newer version here:

http://netatalk.sourceforge.net/
QNAP 209-Pro

AlexKe
Experience counts
Posts: 1823
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by AlexKe » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:54 pm

@All

The issue has been verified as the unused message sent from the netatalk source code on NAS. The issue will be fixed on next release version 3.3.7.

@ ahbrown41

Thanks for your message.

jcatchpoole
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:55 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by jcatchpoole » Wed Dec 08, 2010 8:41 pm

Thanks for the update Alex - does that mean you are no longer looking to connect to and test users' QNAPs ? Any ETA on the 3.3.7 release? :-)

AlexKe
Experience counts
Posts: 1823
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by AlexKe » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:54 pm

@ jcatchpoole

As the root cause is found, and there is no need to check on user's NAS site.

For 3.3.7, the ARM based NAS will be released in this week.
For x86 based NAS, it will be released a couple of weeks later, with some other potential issues fixed.

AlexKe
Experience counts
Posts: 1823
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by AlexKe » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:21 pm

Please upgrade firmware to 3.3.7 to prevent the warming message. The firmware download link is listed below

[Official Firmware] v3.3.7 Build1213 for TS-x10/x19(+)
viewtopic.php?f=160&t=37988

ahbrown41
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by ahbrown41 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 pm

Glad to hear there is an update! Sadly it does not appear to be available for my TS-209PRo. Any word on when/if that will be available?
QNAP 209-Pro

AlexKe
Experience counts
Posts: 1823
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Something wrong with the volume's DB

Post by AlexKe » Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:33 am

ahbrown41 wrote:Glad to hear there is an update! Sadly it does not appear to be available for my TS-209PRo. Any word on when/if that will be available?

We will have the update firmware version for TS-x09 NAS series, like 3.3.x. The schedule will be decided later.

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”