Page 1 of 1

(SOLVED) Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:24 pm
by ApolloPT
Hello guys,

I have a QNAP TS-459 Pro II, using both two NICs are trucked with load balance, but only one NIC is being used.

There is a static IP configuration where I am able to access QNAP from LAN without problem, but unable to communicate with internet. In my firewall router there is no traffic being blocked to outside connections.

I can ping to local machines but cannot to external in internet. There is no problem with my local DNS server, it can resolve both internal as well as external machine names, but with the last one is unable to ping to those IP's.

So anyone here knows what can be blocking this access? It can be from the fact that I am using just one NIC from two using trunking?

I dont have freedom to just do a test to see if it is from being using trunking, because there are other users always using my QNAP.

Re: Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:30 pm
by Trexx
ApolloPT wrote:Hello guys,

I have a QNAP TS-459 Pro II, using both two NICs are trucked with load balance, but only one NIC is being used.

There is a static IP configuration where I am able to access QNAP from LAN without problem, but unable to communicate with internet. In my firewall router there is no traffic being blocked to outside connections.

I can ping to local machines but cannot to external in internet. There is no problem with my local DNS server, it can resolve both internal as well as external machine names, but with the last one is unable to ping to those IP's.

So anyone here knows what can be blocking this access? It can be from the fact that I am using just one NIC from two using trunking?

I dont have freedom to just do a test to see if it is from being using trunking, because there are other users always using my QNAP.


1st, lets simplify things. Unplug your 2nd NIC and remove your load-balance config.

Also QTS version and build information would be helpful.

Re: Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:36 pm
by Don
Also provide following NAS info - IP address, subnet mask, gateway IP, and DNS IP(s).

Re: Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:37 pm
by ApolloPT
Trexx wrote:
ApolloPT wrote:Hello guys,

I have a QNAP TS-459 Pro II, using both two NICs are trucked with load balance, but only one NIC is being used.

There is a static IP configuration where I am able to access QNAP from LAN without problem, but unable to communicate with internet. In my firewall router there is no traffic being blocked to outside connections.

I can ping to local machines but cannot to external in internet. There is no problem with my local DNS server, it can resolve both internal as well as external machine names, but with the last one is unable to ping to those IP's.

So anyone here knows what can be blocking this access? It can be from the fact that I am using just one NIC from two using trunking?

I dont have freedom to just do a test to see if it is from being using trunking, because there are other users always using my QNAP.


1st, lets simplify things. Unplug your 2nd NIC and remove your load-balance config.

Also QTS version and build information would be helpful.


Firmware version: 4.2.5
Model: Ts-459 Pro II

2nd NIC is not plugged, and I will have to wait to remove trunking to use just one NIC (I will try it in the end of the day)

Don wrote:Also provide following NAS info - IP address, subnet mask, gateway IP, and DNS IP(s).


Doesnt seem relevant but here it goes:

IP: 10.0.0.5
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.0.0.138
DNS Server: 10.0.0.2

P.S. this configuration is used by all machines in this subnet, and all have connection to internet.

Re: Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:44 pm
by Don
ApolloPT wrote:
Don wrote:Also provide following NAS info - IP address, subnet mask, gateway IP, and DNS IP(s).


Doesnt seem relevant but here it goes:

IP: 10.0.0.5
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.0.0.138
DNS Server: 10.0.0.2

P.S. this configuration is used by all machines in this subnet, and all have connection to internet.

It's relevant if it wasn't configured correctly.

What error message do you get when you ping an internet IP address from the NAS?

Re: Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:51 pm
by ApolloPT
It was from having trunking activated, after disable it and use just one interface, my qnap gain access to internet again. I have also tried to use trunking with both NICs until disable it but still I didnt was able to gain access.

I will take another shot in the future to see if I can use both without problem.

Thanks guys!

Re: (SOLVED) Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 4:16 am
by antarias
Hello, had the same problem.
I logged via ssh and saw I could ping by ip and not by dns.
I edited /etc/resolv.conf, there was only one line:
nameserver 127.0.1.1
I replaced by
nameserver 8.8.8.8
and it began to work
But after restarting, the problem would continue..
It seems DNS configuration at the iface or vswitch level does not correct this problem..!
Anyone from QNAP, could you hace a look at this?
Thks!

Re: (SOLVED) Unable to access to internet :?:

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:59 am
by Don
This is a community forum and QNAP does not participate. You need to open a ticket with QNAP.