DDNS no longer working with QVPN after 4.3.5

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
mixar
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:54 am

DDNS no longer working with QVPN after 4.3.5

Post by mixar » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:41 am

I use to be able to log in via name.myqnapcloud.com but after 4.3.5 I can no longer do this with the VPN active. I'm currently using OpenVPN. I can now only use qlink to gain access. Anyone else having this issue? Disabling the VPN allows the DDNS to work again.

mixar
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:54 am

Re: DDNS no longer working with QVPN after 4.3.5

Post by mixar » Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:13 am

Ok, I figured out the why. The DDNS is updating the external IP address with the VPN IP and not my ISPs IP. If I manually update the DDNS with my ISPs IP then everything works. Is there any sign of an update soon?

Invisibleman
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:46 am

Re: DDNS no longer working with QVPN after 4.3.5

Post by Invisibleman » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:54 am

I have the same issue. I have a VPN connection (thru DD_WRT software) working in the router and have there then a different IP address then my ISP's. Now Qnap is taking the WAN-IP from the standard Gateway you set up in Qnap and you are not able to select the adapter you want the WAN IP being taken from.

Like I have adapter 3 is ISP's IP address (excluding in the VPN), which I want to use for the DDNS and adapter 4 I want to use as standard gateway going thru the VPN on the router. But if I use adapter 4 as standard gateway the WAN IP in the DDNS will take this IP Qnap sends to the DDNS (DynDNS) service.

I think we should be able to select the adapter ourselves that will connect to the DDNS service and not being depending on the standard gateway.

delid4ve
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 12:53 pm

Re: DDNS no longer working with QVPN after 4.3.5

Post by delid4ve » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:09 pm

Same problem here

Latest update to Qnap firmware/QVPN killed my network,
Use to use default gateway as WAN and then for VPN set the use vpn as default gateway for CLIENTs.

Now it’s changed my ddns only uses vpn,
Need to be able to select an adaptor for this.

Or...

Be able to choose the VPN as an adaptor in the new static route section.

My setup is as follows:

WAN —> Router 1 —> NAS adapter 1
Clients —> switch —> Router 2 subnet 1—> NAS adapter 2 (to use vpn)
Router 2 subnet 2 —> Router 1
Router 1 is edge router with cable in
Router 2 uses router 1 for non vpn traffic
Router 2 uses NAS for VPN traffic using routing marks
QNAP TS-453 Pro - WD Red 4tb Drives x4 - Asus N66u Dark Knight - Netgear Pro Safe POE switch - Hikvision 2032 Cams - Raspberry Pi 2&3 Model B - DM800s - ASUS TP300L

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”