Network change

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
Jrviper
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 10:18 am

Network change

Post by Jrviper » Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:32 am

Hi all
I have TS 328 3Bay Nas.
Until now it has been working fine.
My problem is my network has changed from 192.168.0.x to 10.0.0.x, and and now i cant connect to my ts328.
I tryed connecting the ethernet from the ts328 to my pc hoping I could connect, but I wasn't able.
I loged in to Qnap cloud hoping I could make the changes there which I wasn't able, soI unlinked it see If I could relinkit but I was unable because I need to sign in to cloud ling on the nas, which I cant.
Can some one help me connect to my Nas.
Thanks

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18734
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Network change

Post by dolbyman » Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:07 am

either do a 3 second reset do bring the nic back to dhcp or temporarily change you computer nic to match the network config and change it back in qnap interface

Jrviper
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 10:18 am

Re: Network change

Post by Jrviper » Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:37 am

Thank you fro your help
I tryed you second option and now the nas is back online.

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”