Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
rcr203
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:46 am

Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by rcr203 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:39 pm

So, I want to send a link to family to view a video or a picture on my QNAP.

I send a sharing link via email, or just generate on.. for example: https://myqnapsname.myqnapcloud.com/pho ... neratedSID

Clicking on the link, I get the 'Unable to access" (Firefox), "Can't reach this page" (IE), "This site can't be reached" (Chrome). This happen internal or external to my home network where the QNAP sits.

This was happening previously, and I solved it and had it working, and completely forgot how I did it. The problem re-surfaced after I put in a new router (Verizon G3100).

What am I missing? Some sort of permissioning on the network end? (I did have to go back into all my PC's and reset the network connections from 'Public' network classification to 'Private' - Windows 10 on the PC's)..

Maybe something in the QNAP settings? The QNAPcloud settings wouldn't have changed, since that is external to any network changes I would have made.

So I have to think it's either a router setting, or a QNAP setting. This is a TS-253Be. (I can of course access the QNAP internally without any issue)

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:44 pm

best to sign up for free onedrive,dropbox etc and use that to share videos and stuff

exposing your nas to the web is very dangerous (ransomware,botnet hacks, etc)

rcr203
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:46 am

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by rcr203 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:04 pm

Understanding all the warnings, etc about exposing the NAS to the web. I'd like to solve this problem.

It's really 6 of one, half dozen the other. Put all my private photos and videos on some external cloud service and give up all my privacy to large corporates or run my own private cloud and manage the risks. This is why I got the NAS in the first place, instead of giving everything to google, amazon, onedrive and everything else.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:14 pm

ok..no tears when they are all encrypted..ok? (so run regular backups and rotate them)

are the port forwards in place on the router ?
Last edited by dolbyman on Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rcr203
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:46 am

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by rcr203 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:10 pm

Says they're all active on the router admin, yes.

And all other precautions are being taken in regards to the data, so no tears.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by dolbyman » Fri Jun 26, 2020 11:16 pm

see if the ports are actually open

https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

rcr203
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:46 am

Re: Unable to connect error on smartlink

Post by rcr203 » Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:40 am

Yep, the right ports are open.

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”