Cannot register a QNAP device using a google account

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
rocobruno
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:00 pm

Cannot register a QNAP device using a google account

Post by rocobruno » Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:02 am

Hi,

When trying to register a device to my existing QNAP ID I get an error.

Story short this QNAP (TS-231P) has been repaired and everything was lost so it was fully reset and consequently the QNAP ID link to it was lost as well. At first the device was shipped with an account already set by the computer shop, so I asked them to unlink my device from their account (QNAP ID). Once done I tried to setup the MyQnapCloud so I can manage this device again along with my other devices. Now, I don't quite remember how I did it first time but it seems that when I connect to the myQNAPcloud web site the credentials are linked to a Google Account as many services on the web do offer as a way to login/register (aka Facebook for instance)
QNAP ID.png
The message is in french but you see the figure. But when trying to connect with that same Google Account using the associated password, it generate an error code... In the process there is no option to connect with a Google Account so I am puzzled as to how I will register the device.

Thanks for your help !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19973
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Cannot register a QNAP device using a google account

Post by dolbyman » Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:30 am

What is the plan with QNAP cloud anyways ? ..

if you are planning to expose QNAP NAS services to the outside .. abandon that plan (unless you like getting hacked and infected by malware)

For the rest of the question .. only qnap would know (open a ticket with them)

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9201
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Cannot register a QNAP device using a google account

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:25 am

like he said. why do you need that to begin with?

You can still use the QNAP perfectly fine using vpn (usually setup on your router, a VPN server, assuming your router is capable and suitable for this), to then let a client device (another pc etc) connect to it over the internet.

Now you got remote access to your qnap over the internet.

You don't need myqnapcloud to do this. if you needed a dyndns, there is a cloudflare docker app you can run via container station?
https://www.reddit.com/r/qnap/comments/ ... e/fm8vdll/


for website hosting, i suggest using bluehost or something similar which is cost effective (i usually don't recommend using NAS for web host server, unless you know what you are doing to maintain that properly)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0lHHJvPkK8


If you don't need remote access, even better. This is the most secure setting possible (assuming you DO NOT port forward and expose your network including your nas online). at this point you really don't need to be using myqnapcloud at all.


if you want to register the qnap for warranty purpose, do that here
https://service.qnap.com
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”