myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
Athlios
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:54 pm

myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by Athlios » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:20 am

Hello,

I have this issue for a while and I didn't change anything for it to happen.

When I try to access xxx.myqnapcloud.com from an external ip it works fine.
When I try to access it from an internal ip, like my pc, it will point to my modem.

My configuration is fiber optic modem > router (linksys) > devices (pcs, NAS, tv sets, mobile phones, etc)

Anyone has any ideas?

Things I already tried:

1. Resetted my modem and router
2. Disabled UPNPs on modem and router
3. Removed all port forwarding
4. Redid all port forwarding

Thank you in advance
Andreas

Athlios
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:54 pm

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by Athlios » Sun Nov 15, 2020 8:51 am

Here are some of my setting in the NAS

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8102
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by OneCD » Sun Nov 15, 2020 8:56 am


ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9398
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:56 am

what is your purpose for myqnapcloud?

and why use upnp? you should usually just port forward and only if it's required
https://www.howtogeek.com/122487/htg-ex ... rity-risk/


if you need remote, do it this way
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgielyUFGeQ


myqnapcloud not needed


if you are not careful, and you overly expose your nas online simply, you may end up getting hit eventually :'
https://www.reddit.com/r/qnap/comments/ ... _the_wild/
https://www.reddit.com/r/qnap/comments/ ... ation_and/
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) single disks.
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228
[^] QNAP TS-128
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Athlios
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:54 pm

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by Athlios » Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:56 am

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:56 am
what is your purpose for myqnapcloud?
I was using it as a default ddns for port 9987 for my teamspeak server. Since that started malfunctioning I cannot use it.
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:56 am
and why use upnp? you should usually just port forward and only if it's required
https://www.howtogeek.com/122487/htg-ex ... rity-risk/
As mentioned. I tried without and without it.
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:56 am
if you need remote, do it this way
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgielyUFGeQ
I barely understand any of it :(
I am far from an expert and from linux.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8102
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by OneCD » Mon Nov 16, 2020 4:37 am

Athlios wrote:
Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:56 am
I am far from an expert and from linux.
The links I provided earlier explain why it doesn't work: viewtopic.php?p=770408#p770408

The short answer: your router doesn't support NAT loopback.

The short solution: you need to use a different router that does support NAT loopback.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Mousetick
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: myqnapcloud links on my modem from external ip

Post by Mousetick » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:54 am

OneCD's solution is short but requires spending money :) and it can be hard to find consumer-grade routers that support NAT loopback, especially if your ISP locks you into specific models.

I'd like to suggest another solution, that is free, short, and doesn't require any Linux wizardry.

- When you need to connect to your NAS from outside your home network: use the xxxx.myqnapcloud.com hostname.
- When you need to connect to your NAS from inside your home network: either use the LAN IP address of your NAS (e.g. 192.168.1.xxx) or the local hostname(1) of your NAS

Note 1: typically if the machines on your LAN receive an IP address via DHCP from your router, which also acts as a small DNS server for your home network. Your LAN domain name is configured on the router (e.g. ".home"). So for example, if your NAS hostname is "mynas", its full name on your LAN is "mynas.home". If your myqnapcloud hostname is also "mynas" (to keep the same example), then it's even easier to use inside or outside your home network:
- inside your LAN, from your PC, you connect to your NAS using the "mynas.home" (or simply "mynas") hostname, which resolves to its LAN IP address
- outside your LAN, you connect to your NAS using the "mynas.myqnapcloud.com" hostname, which resolves to the external IP address of your modem/router, which then forwards the connection to your NAS

The fact that using the myqnapcloud.com name from within your home network connects you to your modem/router is not an anomaly. You shouldn't worry about it, there is nothing wrong with it and you didn't do anything wrong. There is nothing you can do to change that, short of replacing it with a more capable product.

Once you understand the limitation it's easy to work around it, as explained above. I hope my explanation is relatively clear and makes sense to you.

Regarding your TeamSpeak server specifically, I think you'll need to configure port forwarding manually in your router, because the UPnP feature of the MyQNAPcloud app on the NAS only supports a predefined set of services - but I could be wrong.

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”