MacOs Back up USB Work Drive

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Brandon Howlett
New here

MacOs Back up USB Work Drive

Post by Brandon Howlett »

Hi and thank you for the help. I am a mobile audio engineer. I commonly take my USB drive to work out of outside facilities. I want to back up my USB drive when I return to my facility and plug in the drive. I need to mirror the drive to a share on my qnap. I'm currently using qsync. The issue is, when I change something on the USB drive, qsync will write the old date back to my USB drive. Simply renaming a file will cause qsync to write the file with the old name to my USB drive and then I have 2 files that are the same with 2 different names. I really simply need my USB drive mirrored to a share. So, if I change the name or location of a file on my USB drive, that change is reflected on my share. What's the best strategy to accomplish this?

Also, I can't plug in the USB to my qnap. The HFS+ driver or some other process seems to corrupt the drive. Making MacOs see errors on the drive or make the drive unmountable. Is this a common issue and how can I fix that?
Thank again for the sage advice!
Brandon
dolbyman
Guru

Re: MacOs Back up USB Work Drive

Post by dolbyman »

QNAP model and firmware are sadly unknown, but you should open a ticket with QNAP if the MacOS storage driver corrupts your drive, when using HBS OTS
Bob Zelin
Experience counts

Post by Bob Zelin »

Hi Brandon -
I am a little confused, as I just did this for someone. #1 - stop using QSync. Use Hybrid Backup Sync, and do a sync job.

Step 1) - format the drive on the Mac HFS+
Step 2) - put some media on the drive
Step 3) - plug it into the USB port of your QNAP
in less than 1 minute, the drive will appear in the QNAP and ask how you want to open it on the QNAP - I select HBS3
Step 4) - open Hybrid Backup sync and do a sync job from your drive to a QNAP shared folder - or a QNAP shared folder to your drive.