Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
5thgen
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:17 pm

Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by 5thgen » Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:22 pm

I'm pulling my hair out the last few days.

I cannot do the cloud installation because I keep getting this message/error:

QNAP Cloud Installation
Device not found (#106040)

I've entered my cloud key many times and I know my NAS is connected to the internet because I can access it through cellular from the QManager app. I've tried installing through Chrome, IE9, and Android via QR reader but nothing is working.

The NAS I bought is TS-220.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by schumaku » Sun Dec 08, 2013 8:30 pm

Leave your hair where it belongs please.

Follow the simple myQNAPcloud wizard as shown in the fine QNAP Turbo NAS User ManualQNAP Applications -> myQNAPcloud Service - no need for this key AFAIK.

5thgen
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by 5thgen » Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:57 am

Wow, I feel like an idiot - that was too easy.

Thanks!!!

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by schumaku » Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:22 am

5thgen wrote:Wow, I feel like an idiot...
This was not intended. :? For some reasons, there is potentially something with this cloud key provided customized for your NAS.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by schumaku » Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:17 pm

All right, here is the insight ref. cloudkey:

The cloudkey can be used to find a NAS as long as the NAS is not initialized. Once initialized and configured, the cloud install with the cloudkey won't find the device.

Regards,
-Kurt.

sarman
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:16 am

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by sarman » Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:01 pm

Hi Kurt,

just to have a clear understanding:

I also had this message, but...:

I migrated from old NAS to new NAS as described in the User-Manual - which worked.

Also the new NAS took over the old NAS-Name.

So I undertsand the new NAS is already initialized and Cloud Key does' nt work, right ?

BTW: I had some strange experience when unboxing my new NAS (should be a TS-670 pro)
Scope of delivery were four ethernet-cabel, which is standard delivery of TS-670 (without "pro"). Also two sticker with in total 4 Mac-Adresses are put
on the packaging while no additional NIC included (additonal NIC comes with TS-670 normally).
The sticker on bottom side names the NAS as TS-670 (without pro), while QTS says it is TS-670 pro.

How can I ensure that I have a 670 pro. Afaik, there is no possibility to read out CPU Specs to get a clear indication.
Can you help me solving the mistery.

Many thanks in advance.

Regards
Manfred

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by schumaku » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:59 am

Hallo Manfred,
sarman wrote:So I undertsand the new NAS is already initialized and Cloud Key does' nt work, right ?
Yes - no reason for it any more.

sarman wrote:BTW: I had some strange experience when unboxing my new NAS (should be a TS-670 pro) Scope of delivery were four ethernet-cabel, which is standard delivery of TS-670 (without "pro"). Also two sticker with in total 4 Mac-Adresses are put on the packaging while no additional NIC included (additonal NIC comes with TS-670 normally). The sticker on bottom side names the NAS as TS-670 (without pro), while QTS says it is TS-670 pro.
Serial number (and the MAC addresses [well, two...] are matching?

sarman wrote:How can I ensure that I have a 670 pro. Afaik, there is no possibility to read out CPU Specs to get a clear indication.
Can you help me solving the mistery.


MAC addresses:

[~] # ifconfig | grep HWaddr
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

CPU:

[~] # cat /proc/cpuinfo
...

sarman
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:16 am

Re: Pls Help with Cloud Install - Device not found (#106040)

Post by sarman » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:29 pm

Hallo Kurt,

just wanna give you some feedback on your last reply.

Two MAC adresses are matching, also CPU Info meets the specs of TS-670Pro.

Everything seems to be fine.

Thanks again for quick and proficient help (as usual).

Regards
Manfred

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”