Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Post Reply
darwinjob
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:52 am

Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by darwinjob » Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:06 am

Can't I have VPN without it?

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by pwilson » Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:40 am

darwinjob wrote:Can't I have VPN without it?


Yes.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

darwinjob
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:52 am

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by darwinjob » Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:28 pm

pwilson wrote:
darwinjob wrote:Can't I have VPN without it?


Yes.


If 4. is optional then it should be noted here: http://docs.qnap.com/nas/en/index.html?vpn_service.htm

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by pwilson » Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:37 pm

darwinjob wrote:
pwilson wrote:
darwinjob wrote:Can't I have VPN without it?


Yes.


If 4. is optional then it should be noted here: http://docs.qnap.com/nas/en/index.html?vpn_service.htm


Why are you telling us this? We are not QNAP.
You asked a 6 word question. I provided a 1 word answer.

Perhaps it you were more specific in the original question you'd get a different answer. :roll:
You absolutely do not need MyQNAPCloud to operate a VPN.
If you want to use the downloadable VPN configuration file from the NAS Admin WebUI, then you do need it.

I simply put as much effort into my original answer as you did in your original question. ie Not much! :roll:

Issues with your original post:

  1. Which Firmware?
  2. Which VPN?

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

User avatar
TeeDub
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:48 am

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by TeeDub » Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:55 am

darwinjob wrote:
pwilson wrote:
darwinjob wrote:Can't I have VPN without it?


Yes.


If 4. is optional then it should be noted here: http://docs.qnap.com/nas/en/index.html?vpn_service.htm


Hi darwinjob

It is listed as an option in the link you provided as per this statement

"You can connect to the NAS by WAN IP or MyCloudNAS name. To enable MyCloudNAS service, go to...."

If you haven't already I would suggest setting up DDNS services on the NAS and creating a host name with a DNS provider. dyndns is a good free option. Use the host name in the VPN configuration rather than a physical IP address. This way if your external IP address changes it won't affect connectivity to the VPN

Cheers

TW
TS-421
Version 4.0.2
4x3TB WD Reds RAID 5

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by pwilson » Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:16 am

TeeDub wrote:
darwinjob wrote:
pwilson wrote:
darwinjob wrote:Can't I have VPN without it?


Yes.


If 4. is optional then it should be noted here: http://docs.qnap.com/nas/en/index.html?vpn_service.htm


Hi darwinjob

It is listed as an option in the link you provided as per this statement

"You can connect to the NAS by WAN IP or MyCloudNAS name. To enable MyCloudNAS service, go to...."

If you haven't already I would suggest setting up DDNS services on the NAS and creating a host name with a DNS provider. dyndns is a good free option. Use the host name in the VPN configuration rather than a physical IP address. This way if your external IP address changes it won't affect connectivity to the VPN

Cheers

TW


DynDNS is no longer "Free" for new customers. Existing customers can continue to use it for free.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

User avatar
TeeDub
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:48 am

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by TeeDub » Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:30 am

pwilson wrote:
DynDNS is no longer "Free" for new customers. Existing customers can continue to use it for free.


Guess they changed their policy. I have been a paid for member for many years now.

darwinjob

Worth paying the 25 bucks a year for a stable DNS service.

Cheers

TW
TS-421
Version 4.0.2
4x3TB WD Reds RAID 5

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22568
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Why do I need myQNAPcloud to get VPN?

Post by pwilson » Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:25 am

TeeDub wrote:
pwilson wrote:
DynDNS is no longer "Free" for new customers. Existing customers can continue to use it for free.


Guess they changed their policy. I have been a paid for member for many years now.

darwinjob

Worth paying the 25 bucks a year for a stable DNS service.

Cheers

TW


On this point, I believe we can agree. They do provide a first class service. Thank-you for your input on this thread. :)

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

Post Reply

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”