Configure Apple Airport Extreme

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
dhodory
Starting out

Configure Apple Airport Extreme

Post by dhodory »

Ok, I've read several posts on this and must be doing something wrong. Here's my set up:
DSL modem (modem only, no router) attached to Apple Airport Extreme (running Airport Admin 6.x). QNAP 639 Pro attached via ethernet to Airport Extreme. iMac attached to Airport Extreme via 802.11n wifi.

When I configure "network" in the Airport Extreme admin software and set up port forwarding (port 80) using DHCP and NAT and calling out the QNAP's MAC address, when I apply those changes to the Airport Extreme, my iMac can no longer see the Airport Extreme - as a result I cannot see the QNAP NAS nor can I get to the internet.

What am I doing wrong? Network noob here.
pwilson
Guru

Re: Configure Apple Airport Extreme

Post by pwilson »

dhodory wrote:Ok, I've read several posts on this and must be doing something wrong. Here's my set up:
DSL modem (modem only, no router) attached to Apple Airport Extreme (running Airport Admin 6.x). QNAP 639 Pro attached via ethernet to Airport Extreme. iMac attached to Airport Extreme via 802.11n wifi.

When I configure "network" in the Airport Extreme admin software and set up port forwarding (port 80) using DHCP and NAT and calling out the QNAP's MAC address, when I apply those changes to the Airport Extreme, my iMac can no longer see the Airport Extreme - as a result I cannot see the QNAP NAS nor can I get to the internet.

What am I doing wrong? Network noob here.
  1. We aren't Apple Support.
  2. Does QNAP QFinder see your NAS?
  3. Is your NAS setup to pickup it's IP address via DHCP or is it statically assigned?
  4. What Version/Build numbers of QNAP Firmware are you running?
  5. Have you submitted a ticket with the QNAP Helpdesk yet?
  6. Have you ever read article: When you're asking a question, please include the following ?

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada