Cloud registration error

Post your questions about myQNAPcloud service here.
Locked
Nugent
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:39 am

Cloud registration error

Post by Nugent » Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:21 pm

When i run through the wizard to setup the myQnapCloud (the "Get Started" button), i get all the way through to "enter the name of your QNAP NAS...". Once i choose ok at this point, it errors out with:

"The device name has been registered. (Error code : 1020002)"

I checked my online cloud account, and there is nothing registered there...

any suggestions what might be the issue ?

Firmware is 4.1b (TS-469 pro)

thnx !

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by schumaku » Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:02 am

Isn't the border of the device name field marked red?

Sounds to me like the device name is already registered (by you, or by somebody else) - the message might not be clear enough.

The message needs a review in my opinion, i.e. "This device name is already registered. Use a different name, or remove the name from your myQNAPcloud devices, and try again."

Surfix007
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:40 am
Location: Germany

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by Surfix007 » Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:29 am

Hi,
I read your posts and still can't figure it out.
When I log on to the unit and click the myQnapCloud icon, I get to the page to configure myQNAPCloud.
If I click on "get started", I entirely email, password I get to the page to enter the device name.
I enter the device name and a message appears "The device name has been registered. Error code 1020002"
When I cancel it says that I cannot register without a myQNAPcloud account. However, I do have a myQNAPcloud account (!?!?!).
When I log onto the myQNAPcloud account (www.myQNAPcloud.com) it says that there is no available device that belongs to me. "Please go to the myQNAPCloud icon and the web-admin page and ... same thing over again.
Any idea what is wrong?
Could there be that I have another QNAP account that I just can't access again?
Esther a way to reset the entire unit?
Thank for your help
Regards
Surfix007

User avatar
cccclaudio
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:17 am

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by cccclaudio » Sun Sep 06, 2015 7:46 pm

I have the same problem. The device I once could have access now isn't available.
Thx in advance.
oIoIooIoIoooIoIooIoIooIoIooIoIoooIoIooIoIooIoIooIooIooIoIooIoIooIoIooIoIo
Model: TS-253 Pro
Current firmware version: 4.3.4.0597
HD: SEAGATE
ROUTER: NOKIA G-240W-B

QNAP_AndyF
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:27 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by QNAP_AndyF » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:58 am

Hi,

The device name might be taken by someone else if you see a 1020002 error.
If you used to own this device name, you can try "Register with an existing device name? Click here to start".
Reuse%20Device%20Name.PNG

Of course, you have to enter the same myQNAPcloud ID. If you don't see this option or device name is not listed, that means your device name is taken by others.

Cheers,
Andy
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by schumaku » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:57 pm

Andy,

The problem is that the live check is massively delayed - it takes a long time _before_ the check for an already used name is finished, and the input field is marked with a read frame. "Normal" users enter a name there, and submit ... and expect it will be accepted.

Error codes are fine - for one purpose: To translate to human readable information, messages, ... but _not_ to show in a GUI, or in a log on it's own.

-Kurt.

User avatar
twiga
Starting out
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by twiga » Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:23 am

I am having the same problem - has anyone figured this out?
Model: TS453 Pro + TS-653 Pro
Ram: 2G
4x WD Red 4TB
QTS 4.2.1
Raid 5

fdefunct
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:40 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by fdefunct » Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:55 am

Experiencing the same...

TS-451 on v4.2.1

User avatar
twiga
Starting out
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by twiga » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:03 am

Hi everyone - Are you getting the same issues as viewtopic.php?f=313&t=122439 ?
Model: TS453 Pro + TS-653 Pro
Ram: 2G
4x WD Red 4TB
QTS 4.2.1
Raid 5

fdefunct
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:40 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by fdefunct » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:10 am

twiga wrote:Hi everyone - Are you getting the same issues as viewtopic.php?f=313&t=122439 ?


I'm running the same version of code (4.2.1 (Build 20160419) but don't appear to be having the same issue as in your link. I'm unable to register for the first time, so remote access via the cloud isn't possible yet. Most likely related, though. Even if I use a completely different name the process fails with "Unknown Error Code -995".

From the sound of all this they must be having issues, guess they need to sort it out so I'll just try again at a later time.

Gillest2
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 11:08 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by Gillest2 » Mon May 30, 2016 11:13 pm

I had this issue with the registration of cloud services for a TS410.
The NAS name can contain punctuation but the CLOUD name can only be alphanumeric.
With only alphanumeric characters I can register, if I add a - then I get the error message

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43664
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by schumaku » Tue May 31, 2016 1:19 am

Gillest2 wrote:The NAS name can contain punctuation but the CLOUD name can only be alphanumeric.
Yes, this is shown while keying the name ... the input field color does change, and a mouse-over does indicate more:

myQNAPcloud name valid chars.PNG


Gillest2 wrote:With only alphanumeric characters I can register, if I add a - then I get the error message
Yes - for now the "-" is not allowed ... even if valid for DNS A and AAAA records.

Similar - however this takes a few second to check - the UI does notify if a name is already registered:

myQNAPcloud name - already registered.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

queueNap
Starting out
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by queueNap » Sat Oct 24, 2020 6:33 pm

Installing a Let's Encrypt certificate didn't work here, so I logged off from my myQNAPcloud account.
After re-login it's impossible to register the device again - the old device name as well as some generic names (like "oiuz6748udzu9uz87899eud9us99eu" for example) are not accepted.

EDIT: After a reboot of my NAS I could re-register my device again.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 8102
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Cloud registration error

Post by OneCD » Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:27 pm

* topic locked to prevent further necroposting *

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Locked

Return to “myQNAPcloud service”