VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

JTDC1
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:25 pm

VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby JTDC1 » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:37 pm

I upgraded Virtualization Station to the most recent version on my TS-870 (running the most recent stable firmware) and now my Windows Server VM does not resume if I do a restart of the NAS. It stays in a suspended state. It used to work without any problem. Is there any way to get this working again?

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22589
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby pwilson » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:58 am

JTDC1 wrote:I upgraded Virtualization Station to the most recent version on my TS-870 (running the most recent stable firmware) and now my Windows Server VM does not resume if I do a restart of the NAS. It stays in a suspended state. It used to work without any problem. Is there any way to get this working again?


Did you reinstall Virtualization Station as recommended in the QTS 4.1.4 Build Change Log after you upgraded your Firmware to QTS 4.1.4 Build 20150522?

Please review article: When you're asking a question, please include the following. We could probably help you better if you'd provide at least "basic" information about your system. Terminology like "most recent version" is absolutely useless information to share. Always specify the exact Version and Build numbers.

I hope this advice resolves your issue for you.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

JTDC1
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby JTDC1 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:11 pm

Thanks for the reply. Yes, I did the reinstallation but it did not fix the problem.

User avatar
Briain
Experience counts
Posts: 1622
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:56 pm
Location: Edinburgh (Scotland)

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby Briain » Mon Jun 15, 2015 3:41 pm

Hi

I updated my TS-453 Pro to 4.1.4 0522 about two weeks ago, and having spotted your post, I have just rebooted mine to see if it starts the Win 7 VM after it boots; it all seems to be working well, on my own system.

This is a total 'long shot', but I can think of one thing that I have done (which will likely be slightly different to your set-up, so at least might be worth trying, even if it is just a long shot) is that my Win 7 Pro VM is set to have a 'Startup Delay' of 120 seconds (in my case, this was simply set to give a chance for my media servers to index the media, and other such like disk-thrashing activities to complete, before it also had to deal with starting a Windows VM). I've no idea whether it will by chance fix your own problem (and I am rushing out, so I'm afraid that I just don't have time to test whether setting that to 0 seconds causes any problems with my own system), but as it is so quick to set, maybe it is worth a try, just on the remote chance that it helps.

Good luck
Bri :)
TS-119, 1 X Seagate ~~ TS-219, 2 X Seagate (R1) ~~ TS-453, 2 X 3 TB WD Red (R1) ~~ TS-659, 5 X 1 TB Hitachi Enterprise (R6)

JTDC1
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby JTDC1 » Wed Jun 17, 2015 2:01 am

Thanks for the reply. My problem is not with autostart. That works fine. It is with auto-resume after a restart if the VM is running whern I shut down. What I am concerned about is if I am out of the office and experience a power outage that lasts longer than my UPS charge, the NAS (it is a TS-870) will shut off due to a lack of power. Once power returns, the NAS will come back up but my VMs will stay in a suspend status. This is a problem because my email server is on a VM and it will be out of commission until I get back to the office as I do not want to expose the VM for remote access for security reasons. Note that it used to work without any problem before I upgraded the NAS firmware and Virtualization Station. Help!

forumyc3a
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:16 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby forumyc3a » Fri Nov 13, 2015 8:26 pm

Still the same problem on the TS-870 Pro with QTS 4.2.0 (10/23/2015), either with Windows or Linux VMs: they remain in "suspended" mode after reboot.

JTDC1
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:25 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby JTDC1 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:32 am

forumyc3a wrote:Still the same problem on the TS-870 Pro with QTS 4.2.0 (10/23/2015), either with Windows or Linux VMs: they remain in "suspended" mode after reboot.


FYI, I am the OP and I was able to resolve my problem after a firmware upgrade to the September version (I think) of 4.14. I have not upgraded to 4.2 yet because I have heard of enough problems that a few people have encountered that I want to wait until the kinks are worked out and I have my TS-870 Pro in production use.

forumyc3a
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 11:16 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby forumyc3a » Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:40 pm

Not to fix the situation, at startup, the "virsh list --all" command shows that all VMs are seen in the "shut off" status while those that were started before the reboot should be considered as "paused".

If we start them with then command "virsh start Vm_Name", then they toggle in the state "paused" and you can resume them with the command "virsh resume Vm_Name".

I'm gonna write a script to do this treatment after the start, waiting for the patch from the QNAP development team.

abstractcure
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby abstractcure » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:17 pm

It is January 11th 2016, and the virtual machines are still suspended after reboot. I just purchased this unit and I am already about to send it back. It is a very nice unit at a first glance, and pathetic once you start digging deeper. Like for example, why can't I copy stuff like the LAN interface MAC number? Or why can't I copy the firmware version info from 'System Status'? Why do I have to manually type it in here? It is TS-563, rls 4.2.0 Build 20151118. When does QNAP plan to have this issue fixed? I have 30 days to return the unit, so I hope they'll make it before that. I still have my good old Lenovo NAS to fall back on. Also FYI Qnap, when I registered my account on your forum site, I couldn't select my unit from a list, because you didn't update the list yet. And when you do, how about you sort the drop-down list to have it in, ... hmm let's say alphabetical order?

jsturtevant
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 6:14 am

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby jsturtevant » Sun Jan 31, 2016 3:39 am

Any update on this issue. When NAS restarted VMs are put in suspend, but not restarted once the system is back up.

windoze
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:47 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby windoze » Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:31 pm

TS-851 with firmware version 4.2.2 Build 20161214, still cannot resume VM after restart.
Any update?

dieseljwt
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:38 pm

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby dieseljwt » Mon May 08, 2017 10:53 pm

TS-563 running 4.3.3.0154

No updates - I have the same issue. Still looking for an "auto-resume" function.

mathnas
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:50 am

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby mathnas » Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:56 am

TS-453 Pro, samme issue on version 4.3.3.0262. Anyone opened a support case on this?

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 2603
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby Trexx » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:59 am

mathnas wrote:TS-453 Pro, samme issue on version 4.3.3.0262. Anyone opened a support case on this?


Did you?
Paul

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.3.0299 Build: 20170901
Disks: [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS SSD Cache: [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Model: TS-453 Pro 16GB FW: 4.3.x (varies)

Father Mande's Kodi 17.4
Information needed when you ask for HELP
| QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc. |Moogle's QNAP Faq | Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ

mathnas
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 3:50 am

Re: VM Does Not Resume After NAS Restart

Postby mathnas » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:48 pm

Trexx wrote:
mathnas wrote:TS-453 Pro, samme issue on version 4.3.3.0262. Anyone opened a support case on this?


Did you?

:roll:


Return to “Virtualization Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest