Newbie to QNAP Virtualization Station 3, Mac OSX-KVM installation help?

digiti
New here

Newbie to QNAP Virtualization Station 3, Mac OSX-KVM installation help?

Post by digiti »

To start with; I'm a noob. I've never used QNAP before and never tried to install anything on such devices. I couldn't find one specific information (or forum post) of this sort of installation from anywhere. My expertise with Mac and Windows support doesn't extend to these kind of devices - yet.

I got QNAP TVS-472XT with 16GB RAM and Firmware version 4.5.1.1540 and I would love to get macOS virtualized on it. I don't know if it's even possible, but I've tried to do it with installation guide from https://github.com/kholia/OSX-KVM .

It's a clean install, with only stuff I've tried with this project.

I've installed loads of applications from different websites, including (but not limited to):
- Entware (https://github.com/Entware/Entware/wiki ... n-QNAP-NAS)
- Python3 (opkg install git python3 python3-pip)

... and tried a bunch of different commands to get further and further.
Issue with the OSX-KVM installation guide is, that I can't get "apt-get" and "qemu-img" commands functioning. Perhaps it's not even necessary, but I've just tried to follow the instructions. I can't find a way to install QEMU, so I could follow the instructions step-by-step.
I've even converted the BaseSystem.dmg to BaseSystem.img with my Mac (dmg2img) but I can't find a way to start it up in Virtualization Station 3. If it's .img, seems that it cannot be added as a Disk or CD drive under Virtualization Station 3.

What am I missing, or isn't this sort of installation not possible for this specific device for some reason?

Thanks for any and all answers in advance! I'll continue trying and I will comment here with everything I find out. All help is appreciated!
dolbyman
Guru

Re: Newbie to QNAP Virtualization Station 3, Mac OSX-KVM installation help?

Post by dolbyman »