TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post Reply
User avatar
KurganZ
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:51 am

TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by KurganZ » Mon Feb 08, 2021 8:56 am

So, the latest release notes for:
Virtualization Station 3.5.37

Specifically call out new models:
The following QNAP devices now support PCIe passthrough: TS-h686, TS-h886, TVS-h1288X

But suspiciously absent is the TVS-h1688x, but that WOULD help explain why two different Nvidia cards of mine would show up just fine, could be used in QTS or container station, but when "assigned" to virtualization station, there is no PCI portion of the VM from which to assign. Hopefully someone out there can verify this behavior. I don't think there is a "file to hack" on the unit, as the underlying software tech is pretty involved.

SR22pilot
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:16 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by SR22pilot » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:37 am

I would find it strange if this is different for the 1688 vs. the 1288. They are the same units except for 4 extra drive bays. CPU, cards, slots etc. are the same.

User avatar
KurganZ
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:51 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by KurganZ » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:00 am

Yes, I think it is an oversight and wasn't the intended behavior. They have to whitelist which units are permitted to have passthrough, and even though these (1288 and 1688) were released together and share a huge amount of hardware, it was missed last month. I probably received one of the first units in the states, and that was only 2 weeks ago.

User avatar
KurganZ
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:51 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by KurganZ » Sat Feb 20, 2021 2:52 am

QNAP confirmed this through their ticketing system. No ETA on when the new version will be released, but GPUs can't be used in Virtualization Station on a TVS-h1688X until this fix/patch is issued. For reference ticket was: Q-202102-14878 Please feel free to upvote or reference that!

User avatar
Cbrad01
Know my way around
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by Cbrad01 » Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:49 am

The TVS-h1688 and the TVS-h1288 have different system boards based on the documentation. I have a 1288 and when I look at the QNAP documents the m2 drive slots are in different locations.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

User avatar
KurganZ
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:51 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by KurganZ » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:26 am

Same number and configuration of PCIE slots. Same Intel chip, same memory, and same support chips on the board from the pictures I have seen.

kmfurdm
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:46 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by kmfurdm » Wed Apr 21, 2021 9:01 am

Still no updates on this huh? Somewhat disappointing.

mitaul
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:20 pm

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by mitaul » Wed Apr 21, 2021 11:32 pm

Hello,

I own a tvs-h1688x and was trying to install a nvidia rtx2070 in it and was confronted with the same issue. I opened a ticket and here is the answer :

--------
QNAP Technical Support has updated the support ticket Q-202104-06638. To check this ticket, go to QNAP Customer Portal . A preview of the updated ticket is shown below:@@@

Hello Jacques,

Update from HQ team:
QVS does not support GPU function on TVS-h1688x, the GPU function only support on TVS-h1288x.

Because of the design limitation of TVS-h1688x QVS does not support GPU function For this unit.

Thank you
Sahir
--------

I am not very happy about it! From the QNAP web site, both nas seems the same except for the number of bays!!!

I should have bought the 12 bays!

jacques

User avatar
KurganZ
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:51 am

Re: TVS-h1688X no PCIE Passthrough?

Post by KurganZ » Thu May 06, 2021 10:08 am

mitaul wrote:
Wed Apr 21, 2021 11:32 pm
Hello,

I own a tvs-h1688x and was trying to install a nvidia rtx2070 in it and was confronted with the same issue. I opened a ticket and here is the answer :

--------
QNAP Technical Support has updated the support ticket Q-202104-06638. To check this ticket, go to QNAP Customer Portal . A preview of the updated ticket is shown below:@@@

Hello Jacques,

Update from HQ team:
QVS does not support GPU function on TVS-h1688x, the GPU function only support on TVS-h1288x.

Because of the design limitation of TVS-h1688x QVS does not support GPU function For this unit.

Thank you
Sahir
--------

I am not very happy about it! From the QNAP web site, both nas seems the same except for the number of bays!!!

I should have bought the 12 bays!

jacques


Please open a ticket and post that in here, this is going to have to be grass roots. I asked NasCompares (on YouTube and ore) to speak to their QNAP rep too. This is getting absurd!!! :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization Station”