Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post your questions about Web Server usage and Apache + PHP + MySQL/SQLite web applications.
Post Reply
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Hi everybody,

After a reboot, I cannot access my NAS admin web UI anymore. I still can access it via SSH, but my data are not mounted anymore in /share. Deluged, deluge-web-ui (installed from Entware) and Plex (installed from the App Center) are not started. And there's only a nasconfig_fs.img.tgz file in /opt/ directory (there used to be all the Entware related stuff).

Here are some possibly useful info :

Ports 8080 and 443 seem to be ok:

Code: Select all

netstat -tulpn      
Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name    
tcp        0      0 127.0.1.1:53            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      5725/dnsmasq
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:22              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      6338/sshd
tcp        0      0 :::80                   :::*                    LISTEN      6205/Qthttpd
tcp        0      0 :::8080                 :::*                    LISTEN      6113/_thttpd_
tcp        0      0 :::22                   :::*                    LISTEN      6338/sshd
tcp        0      0 :::443                  :::*                    LISTEN      6392/stunnel
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:23185           0.0.0.0:*                           5689/dhclient
udp     2304      0 255.255.255.255:8097    0.0.0.0:*                           3393/bcclient
udp        0      0 255.255.255.255:8097    0.0.0.0:*                           3393/bcclient
udp        0      0 127.0.1.1:53            0.0.0.0:*                           5725/dnsmasq
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:68              0.0.0.0:*                           5689/dhclient
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:49982           0.0.0.0:*                           5698/dhclient
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:43915           0.0.0.0:*                           5725/dnsmasq
udp        0      0 :::41263                :::*                                5689/dhclient
udp        0      0 fe80::265e:beff:fe29:bb0b:546 :::*                                5698/dhclient
udp        0      0 :::53783                :::*                                5698/dhclient
...and there seems to be ports listeners on both ports:

Code: Select all

netstat -al | grep :https
tcp        0      0 :::https                :::*                    LISTEN  

Code: Select all

netstat -al | grep :webcache
tcp        0      0 :::webcache             :::*                    LISTEN      
tcp        0      0 NAS29BB0B:webcache      ::ffff:192.168.1.10:61147 TIME_WAIT
httpd seems to exist:

Code: Select all

ps -ef | grep thttpd
6205 admin      5096 S   /usr/local/sbin/Qthttpd -p 80 -nor -nos -u admin -d /home/Qhttpd -c **.*
13229 admin      4904 S   /usr/local/sbin/_thttpd_ -p 8080 -nor -nos -u admin -d /home/httpd -c **.* -i /var/lock/._thttpd_.pid
15903 admin       948 S   grep thttpd
I've tried to restore the default apache.conf:

Code: Select all

cp /etc/default_config/apache.conf /mnt/HDA_ROOT/.config/apache/apache.conf
And finally, I've tried to reinstall the last firmware with Qfinder Pro.

Last but not least, I wanted to restart httpd:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/thttpd.sh restart
/etc/init.d/thttpd.sh: line 60: /usr/local/apache/bin/apache: No such file or directory
Shutting down thttpd service: OK
Starting thttpd service: OK
Apache seems to be missing here, right ? Or is its location misinformed in apache.conf ?
I think I may accidentally have removed it with Entware. I thought removing it from there wouldn't affect the Qnap system.

Is it possible the problem comes from there ? If yes, do you think about a way to reinstall it via SSH ?

Thanks a lot for your help !

Edit : Oddly, the mobile webui is accessible from my smartphone. But as soon as I switch to the desktop version, it doesn’t work anymore.
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

I checked on another Qnap NAS and there’s indeed Apache files in /usr/local/apache. Unfortunately the NAS is ARM-based, while mine is 64-bit x86.

Does anyone owning a 64-bit x86 Qnap NAS can please send me the content of the folder /usr/local/apache ? It may fix my problem !

These models should be ok :
https://www.qnap.com/en/product/?conditions=1-4

Thanks a lot !
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35275
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by dolbyman »

a manual firmware update should also do the trick
https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Manually_Updating_Firmware
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Thanks for your help dolbyman.

So I've manually updated the NAS. According to the guide, I had to copy the .img to /share/Public. Since my RAID disks are not mounted anymore, Public was pointing to /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Public, which didn't exist. Therefore I've let the .img on a USB key plugged in the NAS and updated from there. Everything went fine except something about a missing or unknown default system in the end of the process, just after the line "Update Finished". Sorry, I forgot to copy paste this.

After that I've rebooted the NAS and got this :

Code: Select all

[/share/HDA_DATA] # /etc/init.d/update.sh [color=#FFBF00]/share/USBDisk1/TS-XA82_20190425-4.3.6.0923.im[/color]g 
cksum=362579603
Check disk space available for FW update: OK.
Using 120-bit encryption - (QNAPNASVERSION4)
len=1048576
model name = TS-XA82
version = 4.3.6
IS_64BITS
IS_STORAGE_V2
Q009E004.BIN
Q009E006.BIN
Q009E007.BIN
Q009E008.BIN
Q009E109.BIN
Q009E110.BIN
boot/
bzImage
bzImage.cksum
config/
ec_force_boot
fw_info
fw_info.conf
initrd.boot
initrd.boot.cksum
libcrypto.so.1.0.0
libssl.so.1.0.0
qpkg.tar
qpkg.tar.cksum
rootfs2.bz
rootfs2.bz.cksum
rootfs_ext.tgz
rootfs_ext.tgz.cksum
update/
update_ec.conf
update_ec.sh
update_img.sh
4.3.6 20190425 
MODEL NAME = TS-XA82,new version = 4.3.6
limit version = 3.7.2
Allow upgrade
Allow upgrade
[color=#FF0000]/usr/bin/du: cannot access `/mnt/HDA_ROOT/update_pkg/*.tgz': No such file or directory[/color]
Check HDA_ROOT free size for save qpkg.tar: OK.
/mnt/HDA_ROOT/update
1+0 records in
1+0 records out
512 bytes (512B) copied, 0.002196 seconds, 227.7KB/s
tune2fs 1.42.13 (17-May-2015)
Setting maximal mount count to -1
Setting interval between checks to 0 seconds
queue full !
Update image using HDD ...
bzImage cksum ... Pass
initrd.boot cksum ... Pass
rootfs2.bz cksum ... Pass
rootfs_ext.tgz cksum ... Pass
rootfs_ext.tgz cksum ... Pass
qpkg.tar cksum ... Pass
Update RFS1...
mke2fs 1.42.13 (17-May-2015)
Unfortunately, /usr/local/apache still doesn't exist and the Web interface isn't up again. And there's no more "CACHEDEV1_DATA" or "Public" folders in /share.
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Blackbar7
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Blackbar7 »

Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 6:28 pm Thanks for your help dolbyman.

So I've manually updated the NAS. According to the guide, I had to copy the .img to /share/Public. Since my RAID disks are not mounted anymore, Public was pointing to /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Public, which didn't exist. Therefore I've let the .img on a USB key plugged in the NAS and updated from there. Everything went fine except something about a missing or unknown default system in the end of the process, just after the line "Update Finished". Sorry, I forgot to copy paste this.

After that I've rebooted the NAS and got this :

Code: Select all

[/share/HDA_DATA] # /etc/init.d/update.sh [color=#FFBF00]/share/USBDisk1/TS-XA82_20190425-4.3.6.0923.im[/color]g 
cksum=362579603
Check disk space available for FW update: OK.
Using 120-bit encryption - (QNAPNASVERSION4)
len=1048576
model name = TS-XA82
version = 4.3.6
IS_64BITS
IS_STORAGE_V2
Q009E004.BIN
Q009E006.BIN
Q009E007.BIN
Q009E008.BIN
Q009E109.BIN
Q009E110.BIN
boot/
bzImage
bzImage.cksum
config/
ec_force_boot
fw_info
fw_info.conf
initrd.boot
initrd.boot.cksum
libcrypto.so.1.0.0
libssl.so.1.0.0
qpkg.tar
qpkg.tar.cksum
rootfs2.bz
rootfs2.bz.cksum
rootfs_ext.tgz
rootfs_ext.tgz.cksum
update/
update_ec.conf
update_ec.sh
update_img.sh
4.3.6 20190425 
MODEL NAME = TS-XA82,new version = 4.3.6
limit version = 3.7.2
Allow upgrade
Allow upgrade
[color=#FF0000]/usr/bin/du: cannot access `/mnt/HDA_ROOT/update_pkg/*.tgz': No such file or directory[/color]
Check HDA_ROOT free size for save qpkg.tar: OK.
/mnt/HDA_ROOT/update
1+0 records in
1+0 records out
512 bytes (512B) copied, 0.002196 seconds, 227.7KB/s
tune2fs 1.42.13 (17-May-2015)
Setting maximal mount count to -1
Setting interval between checks to 0 seconds
queue full !
Update image using HDD ...
bzImage cksum ... Pass
initrd.boot cksum ... Pass
rootfs2.bz cksum ... Pass
rootfs_ext.tgz cksum ... Pass
rootfs_ext.tgz cksum ... Pass
qpkg.tar cksum ... Pass
Update RFS1...
mke2fs 1.42.13 (17-May-2015)
Unfortunately, /usr/local/apache still doesn't exist and the Web interface isn't up again. And there's no more "CACHEDEV1_DATA" or "Public" folders in /share.
what type/brand harddrives are involved in the NAS?
TS-253 8Gb Pro with QTS 4.4.1.0978 build 20190627 Public Beta
TS-131 1Gb with QTS 4.4.1.0978 Build 20190627 Public Beta
Both drives are equiped with WD-RED drives.
Affordable seedbox > https://panel.seedbox.io/aff.php?aff=641
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

5x WD Red 2TB each and 3x 512GB SSD +1x 256GB SSD (managed with Qtier).
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Blackbar7
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Blackbar7 »

Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 7:35 pm 5x WD Red 2TB each and 3x 512GB SSD +1x 256GB SSD (managed with Qtier).
so you want the content of /usr/local/apache. ?
TS-253 8Gb Pro with QTS 4.4.1.0978 build 20190627 Public Beta
TS-131 1Gb with QTS 4.4.1.0978 Build 20190627 Public Beta
Both drives are equiped with WD-RED drives.
Affordable seedbox > https://panel.seedbox.io/aff.php?aff=641
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Blackbar7
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Blackbar7 »

Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:19 pm Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
i will see what i can do.
TS-253 8Gb Pro with QTS 4.4.1.0978 build 20190627 Public Beta
TS-131 1Gb with QTS 4.4.1.0978 Build 20190627 Public Beta
Both drives are equiped with WD-RED drives.
Affordable seedbox > https://panel.seedbox.io/aff.php?aff=641
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Blackbar7 wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:44 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:19 pm Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
i will see what i can do.
Hi,

Sorry to insist, but any update ?

If there’s no other clues, I’m even ready to loose all my data (I have some backups of course) and to reset all the NAS settings. But I’m afraid a hard reset (10sec pushing the reset button) will not help me in this particular case. Nevertheless I will try to contact QNAP support in some days. I hope they will be able to help.
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Blackbar7
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Blackbar7 »

Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:57 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:44 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:19 pm Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
i will see what i can do.
Hi,

Sorry to insist, but any update ?

If there’s no other clues, I’m even ready to loose all my data (I have some backups of course) and to reset all the NAS settings. But I’m afraid a hard reset (10sec pushing the reset button) will not help me in this particular case. Nevertheless I will try to contact QNAP support in some days. I hope they will be able to help.
i have not tried to copy some files. Due to the warm weather and my work ( rotating shifts ).
Could you at least create a dir in share called CACHEDEV1_DATA, and see what happends?
TS-253 8Gb Pro with QTS 4.4.1.0978 build 20190627 Public Beta
TS-131 1Gb with QTS 4.4.1.0978 Build 20190627 Public Beta
Both drives are equiped with WD-RED drives.
Affordable seedbox > https://panel.seedbox.io/aff.php?aff=641
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Blackbar7 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:01 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:57 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:44 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:19 pm Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
i will see what i can do.
Hi,

Sorry to insist, but any update ?

If there’s no other clues, I’m even ready to loose all my data (I have some backups of course) and to reset all the NAS settings. But I’m afraid a hard reset (10sec pushing the reset button) will not help me in this particular case. Nevertheless I will try to contact QNAP support in some days. I hope they will be able to help.
i have not tried to copy some files. Due to the warm weather and my work ( rotating shifts ).
Could you at least create a dir in share called CACHEDEV1_DATA, and see what happends?
Ok, thank you very much anyway :)
I did created a CACHEDEV1_DATA in /share/, but after a reboot the folder has disappeared.
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Blackbar7
Know my way around
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Blackbar7 »

Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:22 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:01 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:57 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:44 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:19 pm Yes, please.
What worries me is, since I've manually updated, I can't see CACHEDEV1_DATA or any shared folder in /share anymore. But let's try to fix one problem after another :)
i will see what i can do.
Hi,

Sorry to insist, but any update ?

If there’s no other clues, I’m even ready to loose all my data (I have some backups of course) and to reset all the NAS settings. But I’m afraid a hard reset (10sec pushing the reset button) will not help me in this particular case. Nevertheless I will try to contact QNAP support in some days. I hope they will be able to help.
i have not tried to copy some files. Due to the warm weather and my work ( rotating shifts ).
Could you at least create a dir in share called CACHEDEV1_DATA, and see what happends?
Ok, thank you very much anyway :)
I did created a CACHEDEV1_DATA in /share/, but after a reboot the folder has disappeared.
Very weird.
You are sure that reinstalling a firmware does not solve your issue(s)?

What happends when you install 4.4.1 beta? https://eu1.qnap.com/Storage/TS-XA82/TS ... 1.0949.zip
TS-253 8Gb Pro with QTS 4.4.1.0978 build 20190627 Public Beta
TS-131 1Gb with QTS 4.4.1.0978 Build 20190627 Public Beta
Both drives are equiped with WD-RED drives.
Affordable seedbox > https://panel.seedbox.io/aff.php?aff=641
Nidwan
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:55 am

Re: Cannot access web interface and data anymore. Is Apache missing ?

Post by Nidwan »

Blackbar7 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:48 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:22 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:01 pm
Nidwan wrote: Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:57 pm
Blackbar7 wrote: Sun May 26, 2019 8:44 pm

i will see what i can do.
Hi,

Sorry to insist, but any update ?

If there’s no other clues, I’m even ready to loose all my data (I have some backups of course) and to reset all the NAS settings. But I’m afraid a hard reset (10sec pushing the reset button) will not help me in this particular case. Nevertheless I will try to contact QNAP support in some days. I hope they will be able to help.
i have not tried to copy some files. Due to the warm weather and my work ( rotating shifts ).
Could you at least create a dir in share called CACHEDEV1_DATA, and see what happends?
Ok, thank you very much anyway :)
I did created a CACHEDEV1_DATA in /share/, but after a reboot the folder has disappeared.
Very weird.
You are sure that reinstalling a firmware does not solve your issue(s)?

What happends when you install 4.4.1 beta? https://eu1.qnap.com/Storage/TS-XA82/TS ... 1.0949.zip
Ok, it's becoming weirder and weirder to me :)
I've updated the firmware with the beta, without following the guide kindly provided by @dolbyman but via Qfinder Pro. Since the update seemed to have been correctly installed, I assume it doesn't change anything. Now I have access to the login page of my NAS, but every time I try to log in my browser is transferred back to the login page (without any error message). The layout of the page also seems to be very simple, like some elements were missing. Maybe because it's a beta ?

To be absolutely sure there was no problem with my credentials, I've reset the NAS, pressing 3sec the reset button. I do can access the NAS with the default credentials via SSH or Qfinder Pro, but not from the web interface.

I've also tried to restart thttpd.sh, like in my first post. As before it can't find /usr/local/apache/bin/apache (/usr/local/apache/ still doesn't exist) but now the daemon starts :

Code: Select all

[/etc/init.d] # ./thttpd.sh restart
./thttpd.sh: line 62: /usr/local/apache/bin/apache: No such file or directory
Shutting down thttpd service: Watchdog device not enabled.
OK
Starting thttpd service: Watchdog device not enabled.
OK
I don't know if it can help, but would a DOM reflash help me ? I found this guide but I don't want to do something foolish : https://download.qnap.com/Storage/tsd/f ... v2_DSL.pdf

I also found this, about fixing a corrupted firmware : https://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Kn ... are-on-mac
Qnap TVS-951X, QTS 4.3.6.0923
Post Reply

Return to “Web Server & Applications (Apache + PHP + MySQL / SQLite)”