Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post your questions about Web Server usage and Apache + PHP + MySQL/SQLite web applications.
Post Reply
glong
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:04 pm

Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by glong » Thu Sep 15, 2022 8:09 am

Hi all.

TS-431X2, QTS 5.0.0.2131

Control Panel Webserver page says webserver is off -- "Enable Web Server" checkbox is clear. Virtual Hosts page "Enable Virtual Host" checkbox is clear.

Yet webserver is fully functional and virtual hosts are fully functional.

When I check on and apply the "Enable Web Server" page, I get expected response - system whirrs for a minute or so and comes back checked on.
When I check on and apply the "Enable Virtual Host" page, I get expected response and the checkbox is on, but NONE of the active virtual hosts appear.
When I attempt to close the webserver control page I'm asked if I want to leave without saving ? yet I know I have saved changes.

I know I'll need to dig into Apache logs etc to resolve this, but before I do... has anyone seen this behaviour before and found the right place to insert the crowbar - just asking before I begin forensics?

Obliged
Greg

dosborne
Been there, done that
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:02 am

Re: Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by dosborne » Thu Sep 15, 2022 10:27 am

Have you tried a different browser and / or clearing your cache, then seeing of you still get the error on exiting the configuration page?
How are you determining the web server and virtual hosts are running? (I assume trying to access the web site(s), so again clearing the cache and changing browsers may indicate something)
Have you tried pinging the hostname to ensure it is actually routing to the system you think it is?

I'd try and rule out these simple things before digging too deep.
QNAP TS-563-16G 5x10TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD Raid-5 NIC: 2x1GB 1x10GbE
QNAP TS-231P-US 2x18TB Seagate Exos HDD Raid-1
[Deadbolt - Updated Information on Detection, Prevention, Recovery & MORE]
[Deadbolt - How to Reset your NAS]
[Deadbolt - Read your OP_RETURN key YOURSELF]

glong
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:04 pm

Re: Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by glong » Thu Sep 15, 2022 1:32 pm

Thanks dosborne
yep, I've done those initial checks - always good to confirm.
I'm wondering if I might have a port conflict or if apache conf is screwed.
I'll go back and check all my port redirects.
Cheers
Greg.

dosborne
Been there, done that
Posts: 966
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:02 am

Re: Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by dosborne » Thu Sep 15, 2022 5:10 pm

glong wrote: ↑
Thu Sep 15, 2022 1:32 pm
I'll go back and check all my port redirects.
You aren't running this externally, right? Just available on your lan? Otherwise, you are a huge target for deadbolt ransomware attacks
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=164797
QNAP TS-563-16G 5x10TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD Raid-5 NIC: 2x1GB 1x10GbE
QNAP TS-231P-US 2x18TB Seagate Exos HDD Raid-1
[Deadbolt - Updated Information on Detection, Prevention, Recovery & MORE]
[Deadbolt - How to Reset your NAS]
[Deadbolt - Read your OP_RETURN key YOURSELF]

glong
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:04 pm

Re: Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by glong » Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:00 am

All internals. [Off topic... any pointers to resources on how best to expose externally?].

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 28624
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Webserver IS enabled but Control Panel says NO

Post by dolbyman » Fri Sep 16, 2022 7:20 am

never expose any native apps to WAN ..

Post Reply

Return to “Web Server & Applications (Apache + PHP + MySQL / SQLite)”