Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post your questions about Web Server usage and Apache + PHP + MySQL/SQLite web applications.
Post Reply
Prometeo
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 4:59 pm

Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by Prometeo » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:10 pm

I have installed WordPress on my QNAP, and created a blog: from inside my LAN, using local address, it works fine.

Now, since I want to publish it online, I bought a domain.
1) I Associated the domain with: <my_wan_static_ip>/WordPress
2) Changed in the WordPress general tab the URL from <my_local_ip>/WordPress to <my_domain>
3) Added in my qnap /etc/hosts file a line: <my_local_ip> <my_domain> (seen in a post on the forum that this has to be done, as far as I had understand...)

Now, using <my_domain> or <my_local_ip>/WordPress, I can see something about my site, but seems that wordpress is not loaded correctly, and some pages, the theme and so on are not displayed. Nor I can administrate WP...

I had to revert using phpMyAdmin the 2 URL options in WP to regain control on it...

What I did wrong?
Any suggestion to do things in a better way?

QNAP 453 spec on my signature, Router TP-Link Archer D5, WAN IP static.
TS-110 - FW 4.2.0 20151118
TS-453 PRO 4G - FW 4.2.0 20160130

Prometeo
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 4:59 pm

Re: Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by Prometeo » Thu Oct 13, 2016 9:43 pm

Some details:
If I go to <my_domain> I can see the writing and images of my front page, but with a wrong page format. Moreover the other pages are unavailable (404) and I cannot login to the dashboard....
TS-110 - FW 4.2.0 20151118
TS-453 PRO 4G - FW 4.2.0 20160130

paulsiemms
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:36 am

Re: Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by paulsiemms » Fri Oct 14, 2016 3:53 am

This sounds very similiar to my issue - I created the forum "Hosting a Website on my QNAP NAS with WordPress" - would like to hear the answer if one becomes available.

User avatar
mydjtl
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:52 am

Re: Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by mydjtl » Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:37 am

I had same problem called qnap support. But now I can't edit my wordpress site. I can only see the page like everyone else even when i click on app within qnap dashboard. How do I access configuration?


figured it out... https://xxx.myqnapcloud.com:8081/WordPress/wp-login.php
TS-251
(2) Seagate IronWolf 12TB 7200 RPM 256MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drives
8gb RAM in one slot. 4.3.3

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7563
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:46 am

last time i changed url i had to access my mysql database via phpmyadmin and change the website url there.

https://www.hostdime.com/resources/chan ... hpmyadmin/



i used a dynamic ip address (different from your static ip), so i had used the inbuilt qts supported dyndns to ensure that my ip would automatically update.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

juanstevens
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:59 pm

Re: Wordpress/Domain configuration

Post by juanstevens » Wed Aug 21, 2019 11:04 am

I know this is an old post but just in case someone comes across this issue. When I used the wordpress installer app, I was getting errors. The themes were looking funny and I couldn't get to wp-admin. the url is case sensitive. I changed the folder name under web to wordpress not WordPress and everything worked fine.

Post Reply

Return to “Web Server & Applications (Apache + PHP + MySQL / SQLite)”