Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post Reply
Moose Caller
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by Moose Caller » Wed Oct 23, 2019 10:07 pm

Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup app or cannot add. I assume this is the path to backup or is there a way through Backup Station once the AWS account is setup and we have the keys ?
Thanks,
Karl

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12625
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by P3R » Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:17 pm

You don't say what Qnap model you're using (please always do when asking questions) but have you checked in the App Center for the Hybrid Backup Sync app?
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Moose Caller
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by Moose Caller » Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:58 am

Sorry it is a TS-659 Pro II. I did check the App Center but did not see HBS.
Hopefully there is a manual download
Thanks

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12625
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by P3R » Fri Oct 25, 2019 3:04 am

RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Moose Caller
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by Moose Caller » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:08 am

Sorry it is a TS-659 Pro II. I did check the App Center but did not see HBS.
Hopefully there is a manual download
Thanks

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22682
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by dolbyman » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:22 am

here is the HBS1 for that.. basically one extra click from the previous link .. manual download is top right
https://www.qnap.com/en/app_center/con_ ... 2.2&seq=48

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12625
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by P3R » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:24 am

Why do you post the same thing twice?
Have you tried clicking the link to the Hybrid Backup Sync download specific for your model that I have in my previous post here?
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Moose Caller
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by Moose Caller » Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:08 pm

Thanks for info
Installed and setup AWS S3 account prior but at very end of HBS3 install we get "Network Connection Error"
Uninstalled and reinstalled HBS3 with same results. Not sure where next?

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12625
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by P3R » Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:15 pm

Moose Caller wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:08 pm
Thanks for info
Installed and setup AWS S3 account prior but at very end of HBS3 install we get "Network Connection Error"
Uninstalled and reinstalled HBS3 with same results. Not sure where next?
I'm not a AWS user so have no experience. Please contact Qnap support for assistance.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Moose Caller
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: Have QTS Version 4.2.6 but do not see Hybrid Backup

Post by Moose Caller » Tue Oct 29, 2019 12:49 am

Yes I have opened a ticket.

Post Reply

Return to “Amazon S3”