Snapshots to Another Volume?

Q'center app, Helpdesk app
Post Reply
tizigman
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 2:01 pm

Snapshots to Another Volume?

Post by tizigman » Sat Aug 03, 2019 11:59 am

I have a TVS-471 and I installed a TR-002 with the intention to use this to hold snapshots of the TVS-471. Right now I don't see an option to do this. Is this beyond the scope of the system or am I missing something. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5066
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Snapshots to Another Volume?

Post by Trexx » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:51 am

Nope. Won’t hold snapshots if you configure as a volume. You can set it as an HBS backup target though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Media Boxes: Nvidia Shield TV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

mlai
Starting out
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:16 pm

Re: Snapshots to Another Volume?

Post by mlai » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:29 pm

Can you setup the other volume for Snapshot replica?

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5391
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Snapshots to Another Volume?

Post by storageman » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:44 pm

Trexx wrote:
Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:51 am
Nope. Won’t hold snapshots if you configure as a volume. You can set it as an HBS backup target though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Can you explain? So why says this? Obviously you need space in pool if you want to save snapshots, you can't use all the space for volumes.

NAS Storage Mode
The storage pools and volumes in the expansion enclosures are configured via the QTS operating system.
Qtier™ Technology (automated storage tiering)
Volume and LUN snapshots - Snapshot Manager
Snapshot Cloning - Snapshot Replica - Snapshot Vault
Support for Windows Previous Versions (CIFS/SMB)

Post Reply

Return to “NAS Management”