Xopero, is it worth anything???

Post Reply
User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Contact:

Xopero, is it worth anything???

Post by fribse » Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:29 am

I've tried Xopero some time ago, without any success, and no help is to be found ANYWHERE, and no support on this, imho, terrible software, but I'm wondering if it's just my setup that doesn't work, or if this really is that terrible.
I would love to be able to go to the boss, and say that I would like to test this out, but with the current success rate (= none), I can't see how.
I've tried the 3.9.3 of the system, the one in the QNAP folder. Tomorrow I'm going to try the 3.9.5, I hope that is better, and can actually receive some sort of files (I just get transfer errors all the time).
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628

NAS-659 Pro II (3 GB Ram), Raid1, Survailance station, local backup destination + NAS-853A (16 GB Ram), Virtualization Station, Plex, iDrive
Network: Fritz!Box 7560 + 24p SG200 + 2x8p SG200 + 8p POE EdgeCore + 300/300 mbit Internet

User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Xopero, is it worth anything???

Post by fribse » Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:44 pm

Oh, well, the 3.9.5.xxxx shows exactly the same.
First I get some 'permission errors', then I get E1004 transfer errors. This is btw. the 90 day trial version.
I've even disabled the firewall on the client, just to be sure.
Also the xopero folder on the QNAP has permissions 777.
The backup folder does not contain any data.
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628

NAS-659 Pro II (3 GB Ram), Raid1, Survailance station, local backup destination + NAS-853A (16 GB Ram), Virtualization Station, Plex, iDrive
Network: Fritz!Box 7560 + 24p SG200 + 2x8p SG200 + 8p POE EdgeCore + 300/300 mbit Internet

Xopero_team
Starting out
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 9:33 pm

Re: Xopero, is it worth anything???

Post by Xopero_team » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:21 pm

Hi @fribse,

my name is Greg, I am pre sales engineer in Xopero. I am really sorry to read that you cannot find information about our support. You should get support tab in Xopero Cotnrol panel which is accessible directly from QNAP. Did you check our website: http://xopero.com? There is also support tab which gives you access to support portal where you can create ticket. The easiest way is to go to the: https://support.xopero.com. Of course each application also gives you way to contact with Xopero support and send the application logs.

The issue probably is connected with device from which you are going to perform backup not with QNAP and Xopero server installed on QNAP. It may be caused by insufficient privileges, VSS error or by many other things. I don't want to do support on forum, so please email me: g.bak[at]xopero.com. I will guide you over Xopero software and together with support resolve your issue. If your trial expires I will also extend your license.

Regards,
Grzegorz Bąk

User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Xopero, is it worth anything???

Post by fribse » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:18 pm

We finally got it fixed, you found some bugs in it, because I didn't use an english windows.
Since the release of the fixed version, it has behaved nicely.
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628

NAS-659 Pro II (3 GB Ram), Raid1, Survailance station, local backup destination + NAS-853A (16 GB Ram), Virtualization Station, Plex, iDrive
Network: Fritz!Box 7560 + 24p SG200 + 2x8p SG200 + 8p POE EdgeCore + 300/300 mbit Internet

Post Reply

Return to “Xopero”