NFS V4 on 4.2.2?

Discussion about using NAS on Linux and Unix OS.
Post Reply
Slickums
Know my way around
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:51 am

NFS V4 on 4.2.2?

Post by Slickums »

I have a TS-251.
I had upgraded to QTS 4.3 from factory default and eventually got NFS shares working ok using the linux fstab mount entry

Code: Select all

192.168.n.nnn:/Backups/Homedir /mnt/Home_Backup nfs auto,noatime,nolock,bg,nfsvers=4,intr,tcp,actimeo=1800 0 0
But I had some config problems that were not in 4.2.2, so decided to downgrade back to 4.2.2. That seemed to go ok at first, and all my data remained intact. But then I started having some really weird problems with COPS so decided to make a clean start and did a manual factory reset, reformatted the HDs, etc.

I redid all the shared folders, and made sure the NFS share access was enabled properly. But I kept getting a mount error for the nfs shares.

Eventually I found that I had to change the entry "nfsvers=4" to "nfsvers=3", which then let me mount the shares with no errors.

So, is this something to be concerned about, or is nfs v4 simply not available in 4.2.2?

I mean I really don't care if everything continues to work ok nfs v3, but if it has problems v4 took care of, I would rather have the latest/greatest...

Thanks!
User avatar
OneCD
Guru
Posts: 12140
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: NFS V4 on 4.2.2?

Post by OneCD »

Slickums wrote:So, is this something to be concerned about, or is nfs v4 simply not available in 4.2.2?
Let's check the NAS firmware:

Code: Select all

[/share] # head -n6 < /etc/config/uLinux.conf 
[System]
Model = TS-569
Internal Model = TS-569
Server comment = 
Version = 4.2.2
Build Number = 20161214
Now, on my workstation (running OpenSUSE 13.2):

Code: Select all

~ $ sudo mount -v 10.0.0.2:/videos vids                                                                      
mount.nfs: timeout set for Wed Jan 11 03:08:39 2017                                                                           
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4.2,addr=10.0.0.2,clientaddr=10.0.0.10'                                            
mount.nfs: mount(2): Protocol not supported                                                                                   
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4.1,addr=10.0.0.2,clientaddr=10.0.0.10'                                            
mount.nfs: mount(2): Protocol not supported                                                                                   
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=4.0,addr=10.0.0.2,clientaddr=10.0.0.10'                                            
mount.nfs: mount(2): Protocol not supported                                                                                   
mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'addr=10.0.0.2'                                                                          
mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
mount.nfs: trying 10.0.0.2 prog 100003 vers 3 prot TCP port 2049
mount.nfs: prog 100005, trying vers=3, prot=17
mount.nfs: trying 10.0.0.2 prog 100005 vers 3 prot UDP port 30000
~ $ echo $?
0
All v4 attempts failed but finally succeeds when v3 is tried.

Re-check:

Code: Select all

~ $ mount -v | grep vids
10.0.0.2:/videos on /mnt/vids type nfs (rw,relatime,vers=3,rsize=32768,wsize=32768,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,timeo=600,retrans=2,sec=sys,mountaddr=10.0.0.2,mountvers=3,mountport=30000,mountproto=udp,local_lock=none,addr=10.0.0.2)
vers=3

So, no v4. :geek:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Slickums
Know my way around
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:51 am

Re: NFS V4 on 4.2.2?

Post by Slickums »

Ok, thanks! That may explain why I was having major problems after I downgraded from V4.3 to V4.2.2. NFS V4 did not 'go away' as I was still able to mount using it, but it may have been causing problems since it was not supported by V4.2.2.

The moral of the story: Go the extra mile and wipe everything if you want to downgrade QTS!
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43579
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: NFS V4 on 4.2.2?

Post by schumaku »

It's possible to enable NFS v4 on QTS versions before v4.3 - explained several times in this sub-forum.
Post Reply

Return to “Linux & Unix (NFS)”