NFS host access sync and secure options

Discussion about using NAS on Linux and Unix OS.
grouillier
Starting out

NFS host access sync and secure options

Post by grouillier »

I'm new to all this, only have had my first QNAP about a week, a TS-230 running QTS 4.5.3.1652. So please forgive a newbie question; I did search before posting and did not find any applicable posts.

I'm exploring NFS access, and have it working for my limited needs. My question is about the sync and secure checkboxes under "Access right" on the Edit Shared Folder Permission, with permission type set to "NFS host access". Here is what my window looks like:

I have the QTS 4.5.x User Guide, and it does not mention these two options at all. I did find mention of these two options in the QuTS Hero 4.5.x documentation here:

https://docs.qnap.com/operating-system/ ... 9C2CD.html

but is says only this - not too helpful:

Code: Select all

b. Optional: Select any of the following options:

sync

Select a sync option for this setting.

secure
Can someone please describe what these two options are supposed to do? Thank you.

[EDIT 5/21/2021] No replies yet, so I searched for what these terms might mean in a generic NFS sense, i.e., not QNAP-specific. I'd still appreciate if anyone has information on what this page means in QTS.

Regarding the secure option, this site https://web.mit.edu/rhel-doc/5/RHEL-5-m ... urity.html says that NFSv4 enforces individual user permissions, where as v3 replied on host permissions. I'm guessing this checkbox instructs the NAS to enforce those user-permissions.

Regarding sync, I found several discussions about sync vs. async file writes, but I don't think that is what this checkbox is about, since it is nested inside Access Rights. I found this discussion regarding the enforcement of consistent UID and GID for file access:

https://serverfault.com/questions/24089 ... ounting-en