Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post Reply
paulcalman
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:19 pm

Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by paulcalman »

Hello I'm new to this forum so hopefully I'm detailing the problem in the correct place. I added a container through Docker which is the Logitech Media Server and configured it fine and it's been working for some weeks now until that is Summer time kicked-in. Now the time on all of my Squeezeboxes is an hour out and I've not been able to find out why. I've restarted the Container and also the NAS to no avail. So any help out there would be great - many thanks in advance!

Paul
User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by oyvindo »

You can change the time as follows:
# Change the docker default timezone from UTC to SGT
echo "Asia/Singapore" > /etc/timezone
dpkg-reconfigure tzdata
date

Also check out this post:
http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=354&t=122099
ImageImageImage
User avatar
R0GGER
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:33 am

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by R0GGER »

Code: Select all

echo "Europe/Amsterdam" > /etc/timezone && dpkg-reconfigure -f noninteractive tzdata
This would be much easier -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
Does somebody knows how to do this?
vramsay
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:15 pm

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by vramsay »

I cannot get "-v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro" to work....

gives the following..."/bin/sh: 1: -v: not found"

any help? looks like v command not available...simply need to install? apt-get?
vramsay
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:15 pm

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by vramsay »

Seriously...anyone able to help here? Have spent a ridiculous number of hours trying to fix this problem!!! Please help before I smash something!!!!
User avatar
oyvindo
Experience counts
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 am
Location: Norway, Oslo

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by oyvindo »

You seem to insist on getting -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro to work!?
I cannot tell you why it doesn't work, but I know that my explanation in my post above does work. Have you tried that one at all?
ImageImageImage
User avatar
OneCD
Guru
Posts: 12146
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by OneCD »

vramsay wrote:I cannot get "-v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro" to work....

gives the following..."/bin/sh: 1: -v: not found"

any help? looks like v command not available...simply need to install? apt-get?
No, it's because you've only used part of the command-string. ;)

Try this one:

Code: Select all

docker run -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
vramsay
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:15 pm

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by vramsay »

Yes, tried your solution as well....couldn't get it to work.
See output below...after running commands the local time is still UTC....

# echo "America/Toronto" > /etc/timezone
# dpkg-reconfigure tzdata

Current default time zone: 'America/Toronto'
Local time is now: Sat Jul 22 01:29:49 UTC 2017.
Universal Time is now: Sat Jul 22 01:29:49 UTC 2017.

Thanks for the help.
cmachtel
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:01 pm

Re: Logitech Media Server Container time wrong!

Post by cmachtel »

SSH Container with putty and login as admin

Code: Select all

docker exec -it my-docker bash
change time as displayed

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure tzdata

Code: Select all

exit

Code: Select all

docker commit my-docker
restart container!
Post Reply

Return to “Container Station”