Run PLEX via container station

User avatar
teckel
Know my way around
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by teckel »

moody_blue wrote: Mon Apr 27, 2020 10:26 pm @teckel When using Plex qpkg it's not recommended to use ´/share/Multimedia´ for media. I don't know it this also affects CS.
That's only true if you're using other QNAP services that use the Multimedia share. I have all of those services turned off, so the QNAP isn't constantly messing with the Multimedia share, which can confuse Plex. If you're using Plex, you shouldn't need things like Video Station, Media Streaming, Photo Station, Music Station, QAirPlay, transcoding etc. Turn all those off as you don't need them anyway and you're free to use the Muiltimedia share with Plex without issue.

Tim
MikeLagit
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by MikeLagit »

I still created my own media folders outside the qnap stock folders. The last thing I want is some firmware upgrade to come along and turn stuff on repopulating those multimedia folders with qnap thumbnails and other garbage. I just don't trust it because I've seen it before (everyone remember the thumbnails from nowhere saga??). I have all qnap multimedia features turned off, but the default multimedia folders stay empty. So I have:

/share/Music
/share/Movies

Etc. Far aways from packaged qnap media bidness.
Model: TVS-872XT 16GB
Model: TS-877-1700 16GB
User avatar
teckel
Know my way around
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by teckel »

MikeLagit wrote: Fri May 08, 2020 6:28 am I still created my own media folders outside the qnap stock folders. The last thing I want is some firmware upgrade to come along and turn stuff on repopulating those multimedia folders with qnap thumbnails and other garbage. I just don't trust it because I've seen it before (everyone remember the thumbnails from nowhere saga??). I have all qnap multimedia features turned off, but the default multimedia folders stay empty. So I have:

/share/Music
/share/Movies

Etc. Far aways from packaged qnap media bidness.
My weekly script that I use for 264-265 transcoding/renaming also removes any thumbnails, in case anyone needs it:

Code: Select all

/opt/bin/find /share/Multimedia/Videos/TV/ -maxdepth 4 -name "*-thumb.jpg" -exec rm {} \;
But I haven't seen anything like this in a very long time. I've uninstalled all the QNAP media apps as there of no use to me anyway. I've had zero problems using the Multimedia shares, I believe this was a very old issue that simply isn't a problem anymore (I haven't seen any issues in like 4 years).

Tim
User avatar
moody_blue
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 am

Run PLEX via container station

Post by moody_blue »

There have been cyclic problems with the Multimedia folder. The last one was caused by "Codex Pack". So it's safer to not use Multimedia folder for QNAP media.
QNAP TS-253A 8G QTS 5.0.1.2145
Plex Media Server 1.29.0.6209
OpenHAB 3.4.0.M2
Unifi 7.2.92
Apache80 2454.8230
GLPI 10.0.3
MikeLagit
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by MikeLagit »

@Tim

One word of advice after looking at your creation script, I'd move your dockers to /share/docker/appdata instead of using /share Container. I've seen this advice in quite a few docker forums because a Container station update or removal or config change could destroy your containers by mishap.

-ML
Model: TVS-872XT 16GB
Model: TS-877-1700 16GB
MikeLagit
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by MikeLagit »

alexhjones wrote: Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:51 am Any thoughts on this topic now that Plex have released an official docker image?

https://github.com/plexinc/pms-docker/b ... /README.md
As of May 2020, the plexinc docker does not work at all, and the linuxserver io one does. Just FYI for those reading through.
Model: TVS-872XT 16GB
Model: TS-877-1700 16GB
MikeLagit
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by MikeLagit »

I now have mine running the docker as well. I feel a lot better about it now. :DD

1) Plex is running protected from the system inside a docker with read-only access to my file system
2) No risk of damage if I get hacked through Plex. FACT: Plex forum has an open thread more than 5 years old now asking for basic two-factor authentication for login. It absolutely blows my mind that it's 2020 and Plex hasn't enabled this very basic security feature!! :roll:
3) Plex is running as a user inside my container and not as admin on my regular filesystem
docker pull linuxserver/plex
docker run --restart unless-stopped -d \
--name="plex" \
--restart always \
--net=host \
-e TZ="America/Chicago" \
-e PLEX_CLAIM="claim-QtZ5saMRTPrpuy" \
-e VERSION=public \
-e PUID=1010 -e PGID=100 \
-v /share/docker/appdata/linuxserver-plex/config:/config:rw \
-v /share/docker/appdata/linuxserver-plex/transcode:/transcode:rw \
-v /share/Movies/Movies:/share/Movies/Movies:ro \
linuxserver/plex
To move the QPKG over to the docker, I moved only these folders:
drwxrwxrwx 4 plex everyone 4096 2020-05-07 17:41 Codecs/
drwxrwxrwx 3 plex everyone 4096 2020-05-14 01:50 Logs/
drwxrwxrwx 3 plex everyone 4096 2018-05-10 21:01 Media/
drwxrwxrwx 6 plex everyone 4096 2018-11-25 22:19 Metadata/
drwxrwxrwx 20 plex everyone 4096 2018-12-15 17:23 Plug-ins/
drwxrwxrwx 7 plex everyone 4096 2018-05-10 20:59 Plug-in Support/
-rw-rw-rw- 1 plex everyone 1670 2020-05-14 01:42 Preferences.xml

Copy command:
[/share/docker/appdata/linuxserver-plex/config/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server] # cp -av /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/PlexMediaServer/Library/Plex\ Media\ Server/[put all the dirs above here] .
Folders not needed (or optional)
drwxrwxrwx 5 plex everyone 4096 2020-05-14 01:52 Cache/
drwxrwxrwx 3 plex everyone 4096 2020-05-14 00:44 Crash Reports/
Model: TVS-872XT 16GB
Model: TS-877-1700 16GB
BigOldBoy
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:28 am

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by BigOldBoy »

Hey guys, I am late to docker game and just learning, however got it running (and a bunch of other services) running in container station using create. The main reason I was forced to do this is my dvr was all messed up. I have 2 HDHR turners and 2 IPTV services with xTeVe. Somehow, plex got all messed up and my dvr would not work for more than a couple of hours. I am happy I got this running.

Code: Select all

version: "2.1"
services:
  plex:
    image: linuxserver/plex
    container_name: plex
    network_mode: host
    environment:
      - TZ=AMERICA/TORONTO
      - PUID=0
      - PGID=0
      - VERSION=docker
      - PLEX_CLAIM= #optional
    volumes:
      - /share/Cloud/docker/plex:/config
      - /share/Television/Building:/qtv
      - /share/Movies/To File on USB:/qmovies
      - /share/Music:/qmusic
      - /share/Music Videos:/qmusicvideos
    restart: unless-stopped
nasuserj
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2022 10:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by nasuserj »

Critical: libusb_init failed

version: "3"
services:
plex:
image: linuxserver/plex
container_name: plex
user: 0:0
network_mode: "host"
volumes:
- /share/admin/jellyfin/config:/config
- /share/admin/jellyfin/cache:/cache
- /share/admin/video:/media
- /share/admin/tv:/tv
- /share/admin/movies:/movies
- /share/admin/video/jellyfish:/jellyfish
nasuserj
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2022 10:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by nasuserj »

Hi,
I am getting an error " plex docker Critical: libusb_init failed". Can someone tell me what causes the error?


version: "2.1"
services:
plex:
image: linuxserver/plex
container_name: plex
network_mode: host
environment:
- TZ=America/St_Johns
- PUID=0
- PGID=0
- VERSION=docker
volumes:
- /share/admin/plex/transcode:/transcode
- /share/admin/plex/config:/config
- /share/admin/plex/cache:/cache
- /share/admin/video:/media
- /share/admin/tv:/tv
- /share/admin/movies:/movies
- /share/admin/video/jellyfish:/jellyfish
User avatar
Cbrad01
Know my way around
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by Cbrad01 »

The problem I have with plex in a container is hardware transcoding with the nivida graphics card.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
nasuserj
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2022 10:40 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by nasuserj »

Did you get plex to work?
Alez_G
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 26, 2022 1:27 am

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by Alez_G »

I got the "Critical: libusb_init failed" as well. I was concerned because I couldn't access plex. I assume this error message was the cause because it was the last message on the terminal. This error message isn't a big deal unless you use a USB turner. The issue was that when was I was accessing plex server locally using IP and port the webpage displayed: "This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below. "

The solution was to add "/web" to the end of my url when accessing. So my url looks like this: http://*ipaddress*:32400/web

I also prefer to mount my whole media share oppose to each individual folder. So my scrip looked like this:

...
-e TZ="America/Los_Angeles" \
-v /share/Container/linuxserver-plex/config:/config:rw \
-v /share/Container/linuxserver-plex/transcode:/transcode:rw \
-v /share/Media:/data/Media:rw \
linuxserver/plex
User avatar
lucam1970
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:48 pm

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by lucam1970 »

teckel wrote: Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:28 am Hope this helps another Docker noob!
Hi,
I'm a docker noob....
May you help me tranforming your script in a "docker compose" format?
It could be easier for me ...
thank you

edit:
sorry, I didn’t see the post of @BigOldBoy
- NAS: TS-653D 16GB (24TB - RAID5)
- Backup Unit: QNAP TS-653A 8GB (16TB RAID5)
- UPS: APC Back-UPS BX700
- Redundant Backup Unit (x2) (uncertain): QNAP TS-421 (11TB RAID5) / QNAP TS-412 (8.3TB RAID5)
- Client: Macbook Pro (2020) (macOS 12.5); Macbook Pro (2016) (macOS 12.5); Macbook Air M1 (macOS 12.5)
- Home Cinema: TV Samsung 55C8000 - Apple TV 4th - Samsung BD-C5900 - SkyQ - Denon 1911 - Indiana Line Tesi
addwal
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:47 am

Re: Run PLEX via container station

Post by addwal »

anyone able to get the latest plexpass / beta version working with nvidia hw transcoding via docker?

I'm getting the following error and plex fails to start:

Code: Select all

Error relocating /usr/lib/plexmediaserver/Plex Media Server: drmGetDevices2: symbol not found
QNAP TS-1277 (TS-1277-1700-64G) w. 2x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB M.2 & 4x Samsung 860 PRO SSD 2TB & 8x WD White Label [WD120EDAZ] 12TB HDD
Post Reply

Return to “Container Station”