Portainer setup

dwight1379
Starting out

Portainer setup

Post by dwight1379 »

HI Folks,
Total novice to the Container scene, so would like to use Portainer to look after my containers.
Problem is once I have loaded Portainer, I am unable to access it through the GUI. So I think I am missing some thing in the setting up of it. Have the internal link load a password for the admin, but it comes up with an error message.
Can anyone do me a walk through for CS for Portainer?
Thanks.
Dwight1379
Happy Owner of a TS-H973AX :)
4 off 4TB WD red spinners,
2 off 2TB WD Red SSD,
Cache 2 off WD 1TB Black U.2.;) Where there's a will there's a way!
nasaes
New here

Re: Portainer setup

Post by nasaes »

Hi Dwight1379,
How do you have installed portainer (from qnapclub) ?
What is your message error ?
Regards
nasaes
cecoates
Starting out

Post by cecoates »

This is how I do it for my NAS:

1. I created a shared folder named "portainer" in FileStation. You don't have to do this. But I wanted a persistent volume where Portainer's data would be stored and that I could easily access, just in case.

2. Open ContainerStation.

3. Click "Create" in ContainerStation.

4. Click "Create Application". All this is actually just QNAP's UI/frontend for Docker Compose.

5. Enter a name where it says "Application name". I just call everything the name of the app plus the name of my NAS. For example, "Portainer453".

6. In the YAML field, enter the Portainer template for Docker Compose. Here's mine as an example:

Code: Select all

#Portainer TS-453 #Home->Environments->Local: Set Public IP
version: '3'
services:
  portainer:
    image: portainer/portainer-ce
    container_name: portainer453
    ports:
      - 9000:9000 #http UI.
#      - 9443:9443 #https UI.
#      - 8000:8000/tcp #Optional and is only required if you plan to use the Edge compute features with Edge agents.
    volumes:
      - /share/portainer:/data
      - /etc/TZ:/etc/localtime:ro