how to zero fill WD1002FBYS using hdd dock?

Discuss and share your WD drive experience
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8322
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

how to zero fill WD1002FBYS using hdd dock?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:29 am

How to zero fill a Western Digital RE3 WD1002FBYS 1TB 7200 RPM hdd?

i tried hd tunes but not sure that it worked :S cause ton of error counts when i ran the zero fill.

i also looked here but the wd app doesn't detect the hdd
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/a ... px?ID=1211


problem is because i'm using a HDD dock specifically Mediasonic ProBox HND1-SU3 2.5' / 3.5' SATA Hard Drive Docking Station - USB 3.0 Support SATA 3 6.0Gbps & UASP
http://www.mediasonic.ca/product.php?id=1408644356


all i see in devices and printers is usb 3 sata bridge. under properties i see the drive.

in device manager i also see it listed a scsi disk device.

in my pc the hdd is not shown.


hd tunes kinda detects it, but not sure it works right either.


so what is the best approach to zero filling the hdd? i rather not have to try install it into desktop directly (kinda defeats the point of a hdd dock :roll: )


trying to zero fill to clear pending sector count 1. to trouble shoot whether it's a minor thing, or whether the drive truly is a goner or not.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

P3R
Guru
Posts: 11727
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: how to zero fill WD1002FBYS using hdd dock?

Post by P3R » Sun Jul 16, 2017 3:37 am

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:so what is the best approach to zero filling the hdd?
I would use WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics with directly connected disk.
i rather not have to try install it into desktop directly (kinda defeats the point of a hdd dock :roll: )
A USB dock is perfect for quick and easy disk changes of healthy disks.

It's not at all good for disk diagnostics and low level access.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 8322
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: how to zero fill WD1002FBYS using hdd dock?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:40 am

P3R wrote:
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:so what is the best approach to zero filling the hdd?
I would use WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics with directly connected disk.


it's starting to look that way unfortunately :shock: i got to check if got a spare cables lying around sometime :(


P3R wrote:
i rather not have to try install it into desktop directly (kinda defeats the point of a hdd dock :roll: )


A USB dock is perfect for quick and easy disk changes of healthy disks.

It's not at all good for disk diagnostics and low level access.


o :( well... that sort of explains why the wd tools for external drives had (NOT true low level format ) etc :shock:

*guess i'll append this to faq, unless somebody has a better way for handling hdds via dock for a zero fill method i'm not aware of.

anyway thx :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Western Digital Drive Discussion”