Graphics card in my TVS-882 for Plex to use

Plex allows you to aggregate all your personal media and access it anywhere you go. Enjoy your own media on all your devices with the Plex Media Server.
Post Reply
mgadbois
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:54 am

Graphics card in my TVS-882 for Plex to use

Post by mgadbois » Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:49 am

I have a TVS-882-i3 with 8gb of RAM. I am running Pxex on it and when I record shows on Plex via my HDHomerun Quatro the CPU is between 70 and 100%. Can I add a graphics card to off load the processing to it to leave the QNAP CPU alone? Looking to lessen the load on the QNAP CPU a bit as I get ready to "cut the cord" on cable and have the Plex server be my DVR.

Thanks in advance...

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4796
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Graphics card in my TVS-882 for Plex to use

Post by Trexx » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:02 am

If you have plex pass, I would first try enabling HW transcoding support in Plex. I believe the i3 version still has a GPU integrated with it.

Currently the only way to be able to leverage a GPU on yours would be to create a Win10 VM with Plex installed and use GPU Passthrough. You then would point the Windows 10 Plex back at the QNAP shared folders that store your media.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

mgadbois
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:54 am

Re: Graphics card in my TVS-882 for Plex to use

Post by mgadbois » Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:28 pm

I have hardware transcoding on already. I was afraid that would be the answer would be a VM. Thanks for confirming it though. I may look at upgrading the processor to an i7 and maybe, funds permitting, add more RAM.

Post Reply

Return to “Plex Media Server”