Page 1 of 1

A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:12 am
by bing11
hello
I use TS-451A with wifi usb adapter

I try go to Plex Media Server but show me a server could not be found.
WeChat Image_20190212160606.png
A server could not be found. Download and install Plex Media Server, and it will appear here.
WeChat Image_20190212160559.png
I can use Plex Media player on any computer without any problem.

I use wire net no this problem .

only happen I use wifi usb adapter

please help

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:16 am
by dolbyman
why not just wire the NAS into the wifi router ?

this way you don't have service binding and other networking issues

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:19 am
by bing11
the NAS is working fine with wifi now .

only I can't find server run Plex Media Server in nas.

But I still can use plex media player see the files inside .

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:50 am
by dolbyman
as I said, probably the wifi IP does not have a service binding for the plex server

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:00 am
by bing11
dolbyman wrote:
Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:50 am
as I said, probably the wifi IP does not have a service binding for the plex server
how can fix this ? please help me

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:50 am
by Don
If the NAS has a wired connection why would you want to us a WiFi adapter on it?

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:56 am
by bing11
for some reason . please help
thank you

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:23 am
by P3R
WiFi directly on the NAS is a bad idea. It's painful and even if you get it to work, it's slow and unreliable.

I don't think anybody here use it so probably nobody in the forum can help you. Please contact Qnap support. Qnap implemented it so they have to try and support it.

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 9:03 am
by Gorole
Why not if i use 5Ghz 1300Mbps? :-)
I know, it theoretical limit.
But why not?

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:52 pm
by P3R
Gorole wrote:
Mon Feb 18, 2019 9:03 am
Why not if i use 5Ghz 1300Mbps?
I know, it theoretical limit.
Yes, it's probably more like 500-600 Mbps and that's on a good day. Cabled networking is a steady 1000 Mbps and in Qnap SMB models 10000 Mbps is now becoming the new standard.

But that WiFi is so slow isn't even the worst thing about it.
  • All WiFi can be eavesdropped.
  • WiFi is very much affected by things that you can't control so it's inherently unpredictable and unreliable.
  • 5 GHz is better than 2.4 GHz but it will progressively become more crowded as well for us that have neighbours.
  • WiFi is much more complicated to troubleshoot than cabled networking.
  • USB adapters frequently have their chipset changed by the manufacturer so suddenly an adapter on the compatibility list may not work any more.
  • Very few advanced users use it on Qnaps so the assistance with it provided by this community forum is virtually non-existant.
WiFi is great for portable stuff like phones, tables, notebooks and small laptops but particularly for servers, it's a bad idea.

If cabling is an issue it's much better to relocate the NAS closer to the cabled network equipment and for the most challenging environments even power-line networking (with all it's limitations) is often a better choice than WiFi.

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:59 pm
by Don
Wi-Fi is also half duplex. As already recommended either switch to wired or contact QNAP for Assistance.

Re: A server could not be found with wifi usb adapter

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:52 am
by iam@nas
Can you access the admin UI and the other services over wifi?
I don't know about Plex but it could be bound to your wired network card and not to 0.0.0.0:xxx.