New Plex will not auto scan library

Plex allows you to aggregate all your personal media and access it anywhere you go. Enjoy your own media on all your devices with the Plex Media Server.
Post Reply
bokr71
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:13 pm

New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by bokr71 » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:25 am

I just started using Plex, and part of that was upgrading to the latest version of the software - Version 1.22.2.4282 - on my TVS-872XT.

I have a number of libraries, and I can watch/see/listen to the files from Plex on my iPad and my Mac.

One thing that I have noticed is that I cannot get the auto scan of libraries to work. I have the function selected, yet when I add files into folders from my Mac Pro (direct connected via SMB/10GbE), they do not show up in Plex until I manually trigger "Scan Library Files"...

Am I missing something, or is this supposed to work?
Apple: MP 3.3GHz 12c/160GB/2TB/Pro Vega II - nMP 3.5GHz 6C/64GB/1TB/D700 - 2 x ATD - Echo Express 1TB Accelsior/2x500GB Sonnet Tempo - MBP 13" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MBA 13" 2c i7/8GB/250GB - MB 12" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MMI 6c i5/8GB/500GB - 2 x TC 3TB - iPhone Xs - iPad Mini - iPad Pro - 2 x HomePod - 42mm Apple Watch

Primary NAS: QNAP TVS-872XT 6x10TB + 2x512GB NVMe SSD. BackUp NAS: ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro 6x4TB

Network: 2 x HP2915 - LinkSys Velop AC6600

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22742
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by dolbyman » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:26 am


bokr71
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by bokr71 » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:29 am

No - it will play/display new files, I just have to trigger the library scan manually. No issues except the auto scan not working.
Apple: MP 3.3GHz 12c/160GB/2TB/Pro Vega II - nMP 3.5GHz 6C/64GB/1TB/D700 - 2 x ATD - Echo Express 1TB Accelsior/2x500GB Sonnet Tempo - MBP 13" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MBA 13" 2c i7/8GB/250GB - MB 12" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MMI 6c i5/8GB/500GB - 2 x TC 3TB - iPhone Xs - iPad Mini - iPad Pro - 2 x HomePod - 42mm Apple Watch

Primary NAS: QNAP TVS-872XT 6x10TB + 2x512GB NVMe SSD. BackUp NAS: ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro 6x4TB

Network: 2 x HP2915 - LinkSys Velop AC6600

holger_kuehn
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:45 pm
Location: Premnitz, Germany

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by holger_kuehn » Sat Apr 10, 2021 11:53 pm

Have you set an partial scan on your music / audio-file library? If so how large is it?
On large ones the partial scan scan could be blocking automatic updates as the number of monitored files is somewhat limited.

You could setup a refresh every couple of time to avoid that.
NAS (production): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
NAS (backup): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 2TB Samsung Evo 860 M.2-Sata
Data (QTier): [RAID-6] 4 x 500GB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
Data (HDD): [RAID-6] 5 x 18TB Exos
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower CP900EPFCLCD
BACKUP: 10x4TB WD Red using a USB 3.0 Dock

NAS: TS-873U-RP FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
Data (SSD): [RAID-10] 4 x 1TB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower PR2200ELCDRT2U
BACKUP: 4TB Synology DS214 FW: DSM 6.2.3.25426 Update 2

bokr71
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:13 pm

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by bokr71 » Sun Apr 11, 2021 1:40 am

Here you see what I have selected in the Plex server setup:

Plex Server Settings.jpg

Anything I should set differently?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Apple: MP 3.3GHz 12c/160GB/2TB/Pro Vega II - nMP 3.5GHz 6C/64GB/1TB/D700 - 2 x ATD - Echo Express 1TB Accelsior/2x500GB Sonnet Tempo - MBP 13" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MBA 13" 2c i7/8GB/250GB - MB 12" 4c i7/16GB/512GB - MMI 6c i5/8GB/500GB - 2 x TC 3TB - iPhone Xs - iPad Mini - iPad Pro - 2 x HomePod - 42mm Apple Watch

Primary NAS: QNAP TVS-872XT 6x10TB + 2x512GB NVMe SSD. BackUp NAS: ReadyNAS Pioneer Pro 6x4TB

Network: 2 x HP2915 - LinkSys Velop AC6600

holger_kuehn
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:45 pm
Location: Premnitz, Germany

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by holger_kuehn » Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:48 am

I've selected the second option (partial scans) as well, otherwise it's the same here.
NAS (production): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
NAS (backup): TS-1635AX FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 2TB Samsung Evo 860 M.2-Sata
Data (QTier): [RAID-6] 4 x 500GB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
Data (HDD): [RAID-6] 5 x 18TB Exos
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower CP900EPFCLCD
BACKUP: 10x4TB WD Red using a USB 3.0 Dock

NAS: TS-873U-RP FW: 4.5.3.1652 build 20210428
Data (SSD): [RAID-10] 4 x 1TB Samsung Evo 860 Sata
RAM: 8 GB (QNAP shipped)
UPS: CyberPower PR2200ELCDRT2U
BACKUP: 4TB Synology DS214 FW: DSM 6.2.3.25426 Update 2

mr_r1cardo
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:31 pm

Re: New Plex will not auto scan library

Post by mr_r1cardo » Wed May 12, 2021 3:03 am

I can't add anything other than it's the same here (TS251+ running latest version of Plex) and has been for a while now. I've tried all the obvious combinations but it still wont update automagically.

Post Reply

Return to “Plex Media Server”