ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Dmont
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:10 pm

ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby Dmont » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:20 pm

ES1640dc v2
Firmware : 2.0.0.0326

I've recently connected our ES1640dc v2 to our LAN and trying to configure the NICs.

The issue I'm having is that the inbuilt 10Gb NICs are only allowing 1Gb. Both the NICs and HP 10Gb Switches are configured to AutoNegotiate.
We've tried to force 10Gb via the switch but the QNAP will then lose network connection.

We've also tested the switch ports with another QNAP (TVS-1271U-RP) with a 10Gb NIC installed, this connects as 10Gb no problem.

Is there an issue with our ES1640dc v2 or do I need to update is NIC firmware ?

Many thanks
Dmont
QNAP Nics.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3863
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby storageman » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:07 pm

Confirm that's the 10Gbase-T ports you're using

Dmont
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby Dmont » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:46 pm

Hi Storageman.

I can confirm. It's the built in cards - on the back it says something like "10Gb flash green, orange for anything else" - it's flashing orange. The switch ports, I can also confirm are 10Gb as I've tested another QNAP in the same port, which does connect at 10Gb.

Thanks

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3863
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby storageman » Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:01 pm

Dmont wrote:Hi Storageman.

I can confirm. It's the built in cards - on the back it says something like "10Gb flash green, orange for anything else" - it's flashing orange. The switch ports, I can also confirm are 10Gb as I've tested another QNAP in the same port, which does connect at 10Gb.

Thanks




Are you using the same cables that worked on the other chassis?
Take the card out the 1271 stick in a server and see if you can connect the ES1640DC direct.
No issue connecting on 10GbE you are doing something wrong.

Dmont
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby Dmont » Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:11 pm

Thanks for the info.

I'll do further testing when I'm back at the remote site where the QNAPs reside.
Dmont

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3863
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Postby storageman » Thu Sep 06, 2018 12:03 am

So did you fix it?


Return to “QES Operating System (QNAP Enterprise Storage OS)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest