Page 1 of 1

ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:20 pm
by Dmont
ES1640dc v2
Firmware : 2.0.0.0326

I've recently connected our ES1640dc v2 to our LAN and trying to configure the NICs.

The issue I'm having is that the inbuilt 10Gb NICs are only allowing 1Gb. Both the NICs and HP 10Gb Switches are configured to AutoNegotiate.
We've tried to force 10Gb via the switch but the QNAP will then lose network connection.

We've also tested the switch ports with another QNAP (TVS-1271U-RP) with a 10Gb NIC installed, this connects as 10Gb no problem.

Is there an issue with our ES1640dc v2 or do I need to update is NIC firmware ?

Many thanks
Dmont
QNAP Nics.jpg

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:07 pm
by storageman
Confirm that's the 10Gbase-T ports you're using

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:46 pm
by Dmont
Hi Storageman.

I can confirm. It's the built in cards - on the back it says something like "10Gb flash green, orange for anything else" - it's flashing orange. The switch ports, I can also confirm are 10Gb as I've tested another QNAP in the same port, which does connect at 10Gb.

Thanks

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:01 pm
by storageman
Dmont wrote:Hi Storageman.

I can confirm. It's the built in cards - on the back it says something like "10Gb flash green, orange for anything else" - it's flashing orange. The switch ports, I can also confirm are 10Gb as I've tested another QNAP in the same port, which does connect at 10Gb.

Thanks




Are you using the same cables that worked on the other chassis?
Take the card out the 1271 stick in a server and see if you can connect the ES1640DC direct.
No issue connecting on 10GbE you are doing something wrong.

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 11:11 pm
by Dmont
Thanks for the info.

I'll do further testing when I'm back at the remote site where the QNAPs reside.
Dmont

Re: ES1640dc v2 - 10Gb NICs only allowing 1Gb ?

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 12:03 am
by storageman
So did you fix it?