ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post Reply
radcardnel
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:44 am

ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post by radcardnel » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:24 am

Hello,

If I purchase an expansion unit for the ES1640DCv2 (running QES), can I expand an existing RAID 10 storage pool on to the expansion unit? I found the following link but it didn't mention RAID 10:

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/knowledg ... n-qes-nas/

If supported, how many drives will I need? The existing RAID 10 pool is consists of 6 drives.

Thanks

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14838
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post by dolbyman » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:27 am

raid10 connot be expanded by adding drives no matter what and expansion units cannot expand raids

you can only add additional volumes via the expansion storage or add to them to pools

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post by storageman » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:33 pm

dolbyman wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:27 am
raid10 connot be expanded by adding drives no matter what and expansion units cannot expand raids

you can only add additional volumes via the expansion storage or add to them to pools
This is wrong (though I won't tick you off like P3R)!

QES is different to QTS, you can expand RAID 10 set by adding at least 2 drives.

radcardnel
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:44 am

Re: ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post by radcardnel » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:21 pm

Thank you for the confirmation, storageman.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14838
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: ES1640DC V2 storage pool expansion

Post by dolbyman » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:42 pm

ohh..sorry for that then (does it break one half>create new raid0> copy data over>mirror the other half back?)

because otherwise I dont see how to add disks to a raid0

but you still can't span enclosures with qes...right?

not ticked off...just didnt know

Post Reply

Return to β€œQES Operating System (QNAP Enterprise Storage OS)”