QIoT worth using?

QIoT technology to allow you to explore potential IoT business opportunities.
Smart home/Smart building/Smart City/
garnold
Starting out

QIoT worth using?

Post by garnold »

Please, before you suggest that this post is in any way negative towards QNAP, stop. I'm quite new to IoT and setting up a home system. Plus, I'm trying to learn more about this space and industry. IoT seems rather exciting to me and I would like to learn more. I have a QNAP NAS that offers QIoT as an solution and I was about to install it. Before I clicked the install button and figured I would look at how active this forum is to help me gauge if this was a popular solution and something I should use. Well, most of the posts here are rather old and that has me a bit worried. Would sticking with HA be a better path to take? I'm also wondering about this because HA is certainly for the home and QIoT seemed a little more business focused so maybe QIoT would be a good way to go. Just wondering how popular this suite is and if I should go with it? Thank you!
spile
Been there, done that

Re: QIoT worth using?

Post by spile »

Looking at the number of posts on this forum is a good metric for judging the popularity of a Qnap product imho.
For IOT apart from QVRPro, I haven’t seen anything to persuade me to further integrate my Qnap.
Most of my projects have been self build using the ESP32 and Raspberry Pi.
Home Assistant and ESPNow have lots of posts on their forums.
Cadtoon
Starting out

Post by Cadtoon »

I'm like garnold, recently interested in home automation and was thinking maybe I could use the QNAP somehow.
garnold
Starting out

Post by garnold »

I decided to give it a shot and started setting things up this week. I'll let you know how it goes 👍
Cadtoon
Starting out

Post by Cadtoon »