[review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:10 pm

seeing as the memtest86 is still no errors,

do i still need something like an electronic contact cleaner spray? :' maybe the ram contacts are not clean? uh..... is that a possible reason?

https://www.amkhome.com/bossman-degreas ... cant-spray
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QdIn1lSmms
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEd_7nmWVOk&t=273s
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Toxic17 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:05 pm

Just a suggestion, as I am not reading hundreds of posts and hundreds of links to catch up on this complicated and erratic thread - Hardware issues need to be under their own thread, rather than a "review" thread.

I take it you are running memtest from the QNAP NAS? https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Memory_Test when testing ram modules. a one line answer will suffice.
Regards Simon

QNAP 4.3.x/4.2.x Manuals

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.3.6.1040 • TVS-463-16GB 4.3.6.1040 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.0 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:59 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:05 pm
Just a suggestion, as I am not reading hundreds of posts and hundreds of links to catch up on this complicated and erratic thread - Hardware issues need to be under their own thread, rather than a "review" thread.

I take it you are running memtest from the QNAP NAS? https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Memory_Test when testing ram modules. a one line answer will suffice.
fair point.

i probably will :S *done
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=148952

I answered your question in the other thread fyi.


Anyway, i more or less already finished covering most of what qts 4.4.1 offered, so nothing much else to add onto the topic at this point for now.

Issues arising from qts 4.4.1 and other commentary would be found here, or at this link below, or some other thread/post on the forum somewhere (use the search)
viewtopic.php?f=151&t=148709#p716286


unfortunately there is no open public bug tracker to help keep track of these things orderly like github does e.g.
https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/issues

instead you have to wait for the qts release and look in changelog what issues there were and what got fixed
https://www.qnap.com/en-us/releasenotes ... t_choose=7
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 647
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by spikemixture » Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:01 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:17 am
spikemixture wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:20 pm
Is there a step by step instruction to set up Qumagie ?

I cannot get any pic folder saved.
you have to install qumagie, which should install qumagie core (media library in appcenter)

then in multimedia console assign your qumagie media content folders to index.

then in multimedia console under AI is what indexes to qumagie. The thumbnail portion should apply to qumagie as well i believe. So you need to do index and thumbnail generation as well.
Thanks Moogle - have done that but still not working - removed and re installed still with nothing going on.
Can my pictures be NOT in the mutllmedia folder.
Also under excluded system sources The following system folders are excluded - mine has these folder -
/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA

The following system folder paths are excluded:
Recycler
Recycled
$Recycle.Bin
@Transcode
@DownloadStationTempFiles
System Volume Information
@Recently-Snapshot

And CACHEDEV2_Data is where my pictures (and media) are kept!
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 8x10TB WD white - (Raid 6)
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Thick (Raid 1) - QTS and SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - QTS
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 970 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - Cache and M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - VM
Add-ons - QM2-2P10G1T, and QWA-AC2600
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10,2x8,2x6-ironwolf, 2x100gb Intel SSD for Cache) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x8tb WD Red, Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB & ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - JBOD left over drives atm 40TB = ALL up about 200.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:54 pm

spikemixture wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 3:01 pm
Thanks Moogle - have done that but still not working - removed and re installed still with nothing going on.
Can my pictures be NOT in the multimedia folder.
Also under excluded system sources The following system folders are excluded - mine has these folder -
/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA
/share/CACHEDEV2_DATA

The following system folder paths are excluded:
Recycler
Recycled
$Recycle.Bin
@Transcode
@DownloadStationTempFiles
System Volume Information
@Recently-Snapshot

And CACHEDEV2_Data is where my pictures (and media) are kept!
uh..... i use the DEFAULT exclusion list.

i'm not sure i recall /SHARE/CACHEDEV2/DATA was excluded, that just seems odd to me.

Recycler, trandscode, snapshots etc... yes those definitely SHOULD be excluded.


all i can say based on DEFAULT settings (no idea about other custom settings you do), you would go to multimedia console and add your media folders.

You need to enable the QTS apps though before you can add. for example if you want pics, you need to enable photostation. for videos, enable video station. for music, enable music station. qumagie... u get the idea.

Then these added media folder locations, should be the main shares for example.

In shares, create e.g. Pictures.

So you can either add, pictures..... OR you can do /pictures/locations/france etc (basically a specific location rather than the entire thing).

thats the location path i use.... if you use something else, then i have no idea how the thing will behave :S


PS: i can't login to my qts atm i'm doing troubleshoot :( i'll check when i am able to compare my setting to yours.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

zebulon2
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:20 pm

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by zebulon2 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:40 pm

Hi, do you still have the crash issue? The beta looks stable on my TS-453A, but I do not use any SSD drive.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:13 pm

zebulon2 wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:40 pm
Hi, do you still have the crash issue? The beta looks stable on my TS-453A, but I do not use any SSD drive.
i took my ts-877 offline to run memtest86. i got 1 more day to go. 2 days so far no errors on ram.

i got a ts-653a also on qts 4.4.1 but i have no random reboot issues for it. i'm using it while i figure out whats wrong on the ts-877

anyway once my test completes i'll boot up and try disable some apps see if that helps, if not i either have to wait for new ram to arrive to replace (despite memtest86 seemingly saying the ram is fine) or to try a firmware downgrade.

keep in mind the random reboot happened when qts was installed on 4x4tb hdd raid5. i toggled ssd cache acceleration from on to off, didn't help. i later reinitialized, and install qts onto 2x256gb raid1 m.2 ssd, it still crashes. also i ran smart tests and disk scan nothing got flagged. which makes me believe it's not a hdd/ssd issue, it's something else.

gtunney said his issue got solved changing ram. he did memtest that came out fine, but when change ram that fixed things. so i am praying it's that cause if it isn't i'm out of ideas.

slow process but i will keep the post updated. actually i have a thread made for this random reboot issue i'm experiencing here
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=148952

anyway thx for your interest :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

zebulon2
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 5:20 pm

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by zebulon2 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:29 pm

Thanks for your feedback, good luck.

n1koo
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by n1koo » Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:07 am

I'm also seeing random reboots after upgrading to 4.4.1. I think they specifically started after beta3, can't remember seeing them in beta2.

System can be up 3-4 days sometimes, sometimes less than 24h.

TS-1685 with 32GB (factory) RAM. REXP-1000 attached with Qnap SAS -card. Ironwolf disks (2x. RAID6s) and Samsung 850evos (used for system, RAID5). No cache, no qtier.

Using container station, but otherwise pretty vanilla setup.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: [review] QNAP QTS 4.4.1 by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:01 am

n1koo wrote:
Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:07 am
I'm also seeing random reboots after upgrading to 4.4.1. I think they specifically started after beta3, can't remember seeing them in beta2.

System can be up 3-4 days sometimes, sometimes less than 24h.

TS-1685 with 32GB (factory) RAM. REXP-1000 attached with Qnap SAS -card. Ironwolf disks (2x. RAID6s) and Samsung 850evos (used for system, RAID5). No cache, no qtier.

Using container station, but otherwise pretty vanilla setup.
mine happened on the ts-877 starting with the first qts 4.4.1 beta release. i did a clean reinit install too. even a reflashed update in case it was a bad update issue, but it was still random rebooting.

i don't think i tried build2 and 3 to see if anything changed. because changelog did not mention any changes to fix the issue i was having.

at first i thought it was ram or some other hardware issue. but when i downgraded back to 4.3.6 using a clean reinit, i noticed the problem went away.

make sure you report this to helpdesk
https://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Default


in the end all they said was to try out the stable release and hope it's fixed then..... :S
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”