QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 16475
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by dolbyman » Sat Sep 28, 2019 11:25 pm

Shadowed wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 11:19 pm
Well that is a no-go. Is there a way to put them in the other nas just to pull the data off?

cant even find an explanation on what nas model you are talking about

how are we supposed to advise?

Shadowed
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:47 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Shadowed » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:23 am

Ts-435pro=dead.
Ts-1635 has 4 open bays.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 16475
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by dolbyman » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:46 am

it was a celeron 453..not a nonexisting 435..incompatible with your arm 1635 ...as you can see in the migration guide..

also ill advised to move a primary foreign system volume to an established nas

so better buy a new nas (migration compatible) and move the disks in there

Shadowed
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:47 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Shadowed » Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:48 am

Yea... That is how it is looking. Waiting on Qnap's painfully slow help desk to tell me how much an RMA for repair would cost VS buying a new one...

ChoppedBroccoli
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:28 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by ChoppedBroccoli » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:35 am

Had just upgraded to 4.4.1.1081 (2019/10/05) on TS-451 Celeron x86 w/2GB ram and on reboot it was stuck with "Booting the kernel" showing on the HDMI output to my TV.

Tried hard shut down and start up again, no luck. So finally searched and found this thread. Popped out the drives, it booted and got to the "no drives" setup page. Hard shut down, popped the drives in again, and it eventually booted up like nothing was wrong and showed me the firmware/OS upgrade splash screen after I successfully logged in via web GUI. Weird and definitely concerning. Running the system file check scan now and going to backup my configuration since its been a while.

Thanks to those who suggested the drive trick, I thought I was going to have to pour a lot of time into this!
TS-451 and TS-212P

Petrn
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:34 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Petrn » Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:15 pm

Hello all, I have QNAP NAS TS-453A stuck on SYSTEM BOOTING. I tried the trick suggested here to remove drives and put them back after restart. It did not work. In both cases, I can see on my TV (Display) some king of funky qube, a line below it and finally at the bottom is word Starting...
Is there any way to fix it. I had a few power outages before this has happened. The system was on lates QTS available for my QNAP I updated to this QTS only one week ago.
Thanks for help.

Petrn
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:34 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Petrn » Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:52 pm

After a fifth try, the QNAP finally booted.

It is a bit worrying that this has happened.

User avatar
qrusher
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 9:51 pm
Location: .ru
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by qrusher » Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:00 pm

Petrn wrote:
Sun Nov 03, 2019 10:15 pm
I had a few power outages before this has happened.
sw raid dont like this **
crush qnaps like a thanos crushing planets
Updates are compromise between old bug patches and new bugs introduced. 8)

eschol1948@gmail.com
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 8:02 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by eschol1948@gmail.com » Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:23 pm

I have been trying with my ts-853 Pro for the last 5 weeks to get rid of the system booting message in the LCD panel. Last night, I finally succeeded. I followed all the steps until I got past remove hard drives, remembering order, and reboot. System booting message came up again. This is where I strayed away from the path. Without the hard drives being reinstalled, I did another "Hard power off" with the start button. This time, I unplugged the NAS and went to bed. Eight hours later, I reinserted the drives, plugged the NAS back in which did an automatic restart. This time, it worked. All my leds, lcd panel, system fan messages are functioning normally. Don't know why it worked this time, maybe some capacitors were holding a charge or something similar. Reluctant to try a reboot to see if the"System Booting" message returns.

mykweb
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:09 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by mykweb » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:28 pm

Came home
Last night to this issue on my ts-453pro

Tried all the things on here and still nothing.

I do not get any display at all on hdmi. Is this an RMA job or as said above. Better and cheaper to buy a new nas ?

User avatar
parkerc
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Near London, England
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by parkerc » Sun Jan 19, 2020 5:44 am

Hi @mykeb

It might help if you can share exactly what you are seeing on the NAS, what lights are on, what message(s) are being reported, can you access via the web interface or even ssh ? - post a photo if you can..

My own issue (not suggesting it’s the same) turned out to be that the onboard chip which holds the firmware, had died or got corrupted - so in the end replacing that with a usb drive via an onboard cable and re-flashing it, did the trick
Model Name : QNAP TS-253be (16GB) & TS-453 Pro (8GB)
Firmware Version:: QTS Latest
OS Version : Apple iOS (iPad/Safari Browser)
Number & Type of HDDs : 2 WD Reds, 3TB each, in Raid 1
Website (When I have time) : http://www.nodecentral.co.uk

PGN-1111
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by PGN-1111 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 4:14 pm

Hi,

Yesterday morning got a mail from the unit "system fan 1 failed". Came home evening, the fan blew fine but hdd lights all red, led said "system booting". No hdmi output. Bad quality of such an expensive unit, bought it late 2015 and used it rarely on-demand the first year, then put it to 24/7 work in a climatized server room. Could not revive the unit by:
- cmos reset
- power supply renewal
- memory renewal

It's dead.

crybaby
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by crybaby » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:58 pm

PGN-1111 wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 4:14 pm
the fan blew fine but hdd lights all red, led said "system booting". No hdmi output.
It's dead.

yes, if hdd lights are all in red this is a sign of dead motherboard.
Attached is a picture to visualize it:
20191231_133120.jpg
I'm sorry about your unit.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PGN-1111
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:18 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by PGN-1111 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:36 am

Thanks for your feedback, I'll buy a new unit.

User avatar
parkerc
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:36 am
Location: Near London, England
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by parkerc » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:25 am

PGN-1111 wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:36 am
Thanks for your feedback, I'll buy a new unit.
If you have nothing to lose, you could try to replace the dom

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=133899
Model Name : QNAP TS-253be (16GB) & TS-453 Pro (8GB)
Firmware Version:: QTS Latest
OS Version : Apple iOS (iPad/Safari Browser)
Number & Type of HDDs : 2 WD Reds, 3TB each, in Raid 1
Website (When I have time) : http://www.nodecentral.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”