QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by dolbyman » Sat Sep 28, 2019 11:25 pm

Shadowed wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 11:19 pm
Well that is a no-go. Is there a way to put them in the other nas just to pull the data off?

cant even find an explanation on what nas model you are talking about

how are we supposed to advise?

Shadowed
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:47 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Shadowed » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:23 am

Ts-435pro=dead.
Ts-1635 has 4 open bays.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by dolbyman » Sun Sep 29, 2019 5:46 am

it was a celeron 453..not a nonexisting 435..incompatible with your arm 1635 ...as you can see in the migration guide..

also ill advised to move a primary foreign system volume to an established nas

so better buy a new nas (migration compatible) and move the disks in there

Shadowed
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:47 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Shadowed » Tue Oct 01, 2019 12:48 am

Yea... That is how it is looking. Waiting on Qnap's painfully slow help desk to tell me how much an RMA for repair would cost VS buying a new one...

ChoppedBroccoli
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:28 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by ChoppedBroccoli » Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:35 am

Had just upgraded to 4.4.1.1081 (2019/10/05) on TS-451 Celeron x86 w/2GB ram and on reboot it was stuck with "Booting the kernel" showing on the HDMI output to my TV.

Tried hard shut down and start up again, no luck. So finally searched and found this thread. Popped out the drives, it booted and got to the "no drives" setup page. Hard shut down, popped the drives in again, and it eventually booted up like nothing was wrong and showed me the firmware/OS upgrade splash screen after I successfully logged in via web GUI. Weird and definitely concerning. Running the system file check scan now and going to backup my configuration since its been a while.

Thanks to those who suggested the drive trick, I thought I was going to have to pour a lot of time into this!
TS-451 and TS-212P

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”