Page 7 of 19

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:23 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:25 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
Moogle's newbie guide to contacting QNAP technical support for help
Introduction to QNAP customer service helpdesk

From Youtube.com



Step1:
Within QTS install helpdesk app then create a ticket to technical support using that. Alternatively you could create ticket via their website, but you need to fill in more stuff, hence i recommend creating ticket in qts whenever possible for the autofill feature.

https://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Default

Anyway you should expect a reply within 24 hours (weekends and holidays not counted toward this)

*note: Skip straight to step 5 if the issue is time sensitive that needs an immediate resolution, or you simply can't wait and insistent to get this done asap.


step2:

Ensure that ports 22, 443 must be unblocked (port forwarded on your router) to allow helpdesk support team to connect to your NAS. If the issue does not require remote support to login to your device, you probably can skip this step.


step3:

You may post on the forum about the issue. Cause maybe while you are waiting for qnap support to get back to you, other qnap regular users might be able to help for any simple problems they may already know the answer to.


step4:

If you don't get a reply by then, you may using the same ticket send them a message to remind about the issue that has yet to be responded to.


step5:

If still no reply, you can chase them on the technical support hotline closest to you.
https://www.qnap.com/en/about/con_show. ... wone&cid=1



Source:
How to use the Helpdesk app to solve issues and provide feedback
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... e-feedback






Other popular Frequently Asked questions (FAQS)

What is storage pools? also explain storage manager. * scroll down to storage pools at the link here
Image

Storage Pool using LVM
You can use QNAP flexible volume management to better manage your storage capacity. The storage pool aggregates hard drives into a bigger storage space, and with the ability to support multiple RAID groups, the storage pool can offer more redundant protection and reduce risk of data crash.

Once a Storage Pool has been created, you can choose from three different methods to create your volume on top of the pool. The type of volume you want to create depends on whether you want flexibility or performance.

Static Volume:
Static volume will take up all of available space within the storage pool, it pre-allocate and pre-prepare the space for optimal read / write access. Since Static Volume takes up all of the Storage Pool space, you cannot create multiple multiple volume within the same pool.

Thick Volume:
Thick Volume offers a combination of space flexibility and performance, you can choose how much space to assign to a Thick Volume from the Storage Pool. This means you can create multiple Thick or Thin volume within the same Storage Pool. Once the desire Thick Volume size has been chosen, it pre-allocate and pre-prepare the space for read / write access.

Thin Volume:
Thin provisioning allows storage space to be used more flexibly. Thin Volume does not actually use physical storage space during volume creation, rather physical space is only use during write allocation. This means you can provision a Thin Volume size that is larger than your physical storage size. You can create multiple Thin volume within the same storage pool. Due to Thin Volume space flexibility, there is a performance impact during work load.

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... t-practice


There's also a big thread discussing the differences for static, thick and thin volumes here

Code: Select all

https://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?t=102299




Why is storage pool capacity only 50% ? where did the rest wander off to?
MrVideo wrote:When a new volume is created, only 50% of the available space is allocated. You must go set it to max.


jacobite1 wrote:Ensure you have a backup (or 2, or 3) before you start.

The expansion process is not 100% foolproof. Your NAS may crash and you may loose data or suffer a write hole.

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=134044&p=624995&hilit=storage+50+expand+pool#p625006

Trexx wrote:Have fun. QNAP defaults to using only 50% of Storage Pool capacity for initial volume setup. This leaves space for iSCSI, etc. volumes/luns. Also you can expand volumes once they are created, but you can't shrink. So this helps people not shoot themselves in the foot.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=134308&p=626898#p626897

razormoon wrote:Storage Pool >> Manage >> Expand Volume, look for Set to Max.

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=129206&p=591674&hilit=storage+50+expand+pool#p591311


You can read the guide here
https://www.qnap.com/en-us/how-to/tutor ... management
Image



How to Migrate to Another NAS (From an Existing NAS)

From Youtube.com


Should you Half or Fully Populate your NAS - Which is Best?

From Youtube.com



How to Expand Your Storage by Adding Additional Hard Drives

From Youtube.com


How to Upgrade Your Drives on your QNAP NAS

From Youtube.com


How to manually Update Firmware

From Youtube.com


Basically subscribe to QnapTV cause chances are if you are looking for a step by step video guide, they've probably done it but you weren't aware about it. Go to their channel and hit subscribe :mrgreen:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOhKlX ... laJZQlZ8RA



Moogle's newbie best practice guide for upgrading firmware.

1. if a new firmware comes out, do not immediately update unless there is a good reason to such as critical or high vulnerability fixes. If all that changes is just non security matters, and doesn't affect your usage, it's okay not to update. You can view qnap security bulletin for firmware updates that resolved exploits with listed severity level here

Code: Select all

https://www.qnap.com/en/support/con_show.php?cid=41


2. you can also defer update until after others had tried it first for a week or more, and reported any issues or not with it. Usually we learn this from the forum here.

3. very rarely in firmware they MAY warn that once going to firmware x.x.xx you cannot downgrade back to the older firmware xxxxxx and under. Or that it may not be recommended

Code: Select all

https://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=132324&p=613074&hilit=firmware+downgrade+64bit#p613074

4. If you did not update firmware for a very, very long time, you may not necessarily be able to just leap frog so many firmware version updates all at once. In these situations it's better to get clarification from Helpdesk Support before proceeding to upgrade.
Toxic17 wrote:did your 509 come from firmware 3.8.2 or below to 4.x?

I know there is an issue if your firmware is not upto 3.8.3 first before upgrading to 4.x

Code: Select all

https://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=133972#p624839

5. any firmware labeled beta, don't use on production NAS, especially if you are running business or you care about your data. And even then always have backups. Only pioneers and beta testers such as myself would normally dare use beta firmware if only to get access to features and improvements sooner at a risk :mrgreen:

6. Only download firmware update from official qnap channels like from their site linked here.

Code: Select all

https://www.qnap.com/en/product_x_down/


7. to update firmware via commandline putty for a true manual update, you can try this (normal users updating via QTS user interface is usually good enough)
https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Manually_Updating_Firmware


*Read first: special notes:
When upgrading from 32bit to 64bit firmware architecture, kindly refer to page2 regarding additional steps prior to upgrading

Code: Select all

32bit to 64bit compatibility checking for firmware upgrade






Moogle's newbie NAS hard drive recommendation for 2018


From Youtube.com


I suggest also reading this subject further at the forum thread i created. Me and other users provided additional feedback and suggestions for what may be good NAS hard drives to recommend for 2018.
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=140980





Why you should update firmware every now and then.
Check the security advisory bulletin board every now and then to be alerted when to update firmware
https://www.qnap.com/en/support/con_show.php?cid=41




If you are locked out from QNAP due to misconfiguration or forgot password, do this. Reset Qnap back to default setting (you won't lose your data doing this except your settings configured in QTS)

Code: Select all

https://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=133791&p=623015&hilit=security+allow+ip+lan#p623015


viewtopic.php?f=45&t=133965&p=625582#p625582




Hybrid Backup Sync has officially been released (no longer beta). As it's a replacement for the original backup station, i would now recommend using HBS for your qnap backup/restore needs moving forward 8)

Release notes
https://www.qnap.com/en-us/app_releasen ... bridBackup



NAS is not a BACKUP - Important things to Remember about your data


From Youtube.com


I would go further and say that a standalone NAS containing all your data, with no other copies on a different location, is not a backup. NAS should always be paired with another source that stores a mirror copy of the data e.g. on a cloud backup service or on a second NAS normally.



How to backup from Qnap NAS to another QNAP NAS

Using Hybrid Backup Sync

From Youtube.com


For best performance for NAS to NAS i like using RTRR one way sync to remote nas folder to folder (i create a similarly name share in destination NAS).



How to Synchronize between Synology and Qnap – backup/restore/synchronize

From Youtube.com



How to backup from QNAP NAS to the cloud

Using Hybrid Backup Sync

From Youtube.com






Can I revert to the previous Backup Station from Hybrid Backup Sync?
You can remove/disable Hybrid Backup Sync and use Backup Station while retaining local and remote jobs. But if Cloud Backup Sync is removed, cloud jobs and cloud account settings will also be removed. Due to functional differences between Hybrid Backup Sync and Backup Station, some options may be missing if you revert back to Backup Station after using Hybrid Backup Sync to create jobs.

Code: Select all

https://www.qnap.com/en-us/how-to/faq/article/can-i-revert-to-the-previous-backup-station-from-hybrid-backup-sync



My own guide using HBS is using this specific rtrr configuration for these qnap models as mentioned in my testing in the link below. If you use HBS for different backup settings than me, or on another unit and environment i did not try out, well i cannot vouch for that, so just a heads up.

PS: this guide was done during a period of HBS beta. HBS has since made many bug fixes and officially released (no longer beta), so my guide may be slightly outdated. May replace in future with a newer step by step guide for my own backup operations on QNAP

Moogle's newbie guide for using Hybrid Backup Sync
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=133972




If your qnap model is eol and stuck on an older firmware, and also older HBS, probably should try a different app for backup. SyncBack?


Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:41 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:42 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:43 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:45 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
How to improve QNAP NAS Security, walkthrough


From Youtube.com



From Youtube.com



theres also a good guide here
https://www.cloudwards.net/nas-security-guide/



2 step authentication for security, what is it?


From Youtube.com



You can read the guide here
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... rification

Image

2 step authentication is essentially a feature to harden your security access to the qnap. Not only do you need to know your username/password to the qnap, you also must input a 2nd security code via 2step. QNAP's implementation of it uses google authenticator which generates a random code that is specific to your qnap, and will change over time. 2step is important, most especially if your allowing remote access to your qnap, and want to be doubly sure access to it is hardened, and this is the way to do it.



What is VM, and Virtual Machine/virtualization? Why should i care?


From Youtube.com



Virtualization Station Vs Container Station Vs Linux Station


From Youtube.com



What is docker? why is it so popular


From Youtube.com


In a nutshell, here's what Docker can do for you: It can get more applications running on the same hardware than other technologies; it makes it easy for developers to quickly create ready-to-run containered applications; and it makes managing and deploying applications much easier. Put it all together and I can see why Docker is riding the hype cycle as fast as I can recall ever seeing an enterprise technology go.

http://www.zdnet.com/article/what-is-do ... n-popular/





How to use virtualization station *this is for when you want a full blown OS running on the QNAP


From Youtube.com




How virtualization station backup works

https://www.qnap.com/solution/vm-backup/en-us/

Virtualization Station
When running virtual machines using QNAP Virtualization Station, their status can be easily saved and reverted to if necessary by using snapshots. Virtual machines can also be imported and exported easily for further use.
» Learn more


Easily back up and restore VM
Virtualization Station provides a clear overview of all the processing and scheduled tasks for VM backup and restoration. You can manually activate or stop tasks, schedule backup and set the maximum number of backup versions for optimized storage utilization. Virtualization Station allows you to back up active VMs without shutting them down, and snapshots of original VMs can also be kept to be rolled back to any point of time even after restoring the VMs. The VM backup can be directly activated, greatly reducing downtime and making VM restoration as fast and easy as creating a new VM. Virtualization Station also supports encryption during transmission, ensuring VM backup and restoration with the utmost security.

* This feature is only available for Virtualization Station 2.0. To fully use the function, please upgrade your firmware to QTS 4.2 or above.


Snapshot
Virtualization Station provides snapshot feature to record the virtual machine system status at a point of time. At the event of virtual machine failure, users can quickly roll it back to the snapshot time to ensure continual system operation.

Application scenario:
Before you download applications from unknown sources or install potentially risky applications, you can use the Snapshot function to record the VM’s system status. In the event of the VM being infected by viruses or suffering from random system crashes, you can easily revert the VM to a previous snapshot.




How to install Twonky Server on a QNAP NAS?
Download the QPKG file for your NAS to your computer. Then you have to open the app center on you QNAP NAS and click the gear-wheel in the upper right corner. There you have to select the QPKG file that you just downloaded on your computer and click install.
The QPKG packages are available in the Twonkyforum's download section.

Source:
https://docs.twonky.com/display/TF/Twon ... +End-users



Ok found it. Go here Then download for x86, x64 qnap qpkg etc... whichever is for your particular unit.

Code: Select all

http://twonkyforum.com/downloads/


*Twonky requires a license you buy to use.



[HowTo] Replace broken DOM module with a simple USB stick *credits to buggy82
viewtopic.php?f=50&t=133899



Qsync what is it and how to use it?
Qsync for file synchronization
Multi-device file sync made easy

Qsync enables efficient file synchronization between a QNAP NAS and linked devices such as computers, laptops and mobile devices. Business users can access the most-recent files in the shared folder at anytime from a wide range of devices, greatly enhancing teamwork and collaboration. Personal users can easily access their media files from mobile devices to enjoy a complete multimedia experience and to easily share with family and friends.
https://www.qnap.com/solution/smb-solution-qsync/en/

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... rs-and-nas


Here's an explanation what qsynrc is for and basically how to use it

From Youtube.com



From Youtube.com

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:50 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
How to Create a VM Using QNAP Virtualization Station

From Youtube.com



How to Improve Performance of a QNAP VM Using Virtio Drivers

From Youtube.com

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:51 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:52 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
What is Data Rot?

From Youtube.com


RAID: Obsolete? New Tech BTRFS/ZFS and "traditional" RAID

From Youtube.com


24/7 HDD or spin down sleep during inactivity? which is best? you decide :shock:

Though i felt this made a compelling argument, and based on that i opted for 24/7 as i rather not wear the spin up/down cycles because my usage is rather sporadic so i rather not up/down needlessly. downside is a higher annual operating cost for this continuous power consumption.
This is not as big a problem as it once was. In the old days when you spun down a drive the heads would loose their air cushion and come to rest on the platter as it was slowing down - that caused wear and most drives were rated for something like 50,000 stop/start cycles because of it.

Most modern drives use loading ramps which let the heads be retracted beyond the edge of the disk so that there's no physical contact between them and the platters when the drive is spun down. As a result of this the drive specs that I've seen show ratings on the order of 300,000 stop/start cycles. That's a 10-year lifespan if the drives are stopped and started every 20 minutes during every hour of every day, 365 days a year.


Though there is also this to consider
Stress of starting to spin in surely higher then while spinning (just think in terms of anything how much torque acceleration requires vs cruising). But I think even in a datacenter if there was really a strong schedule that machines are only used a few hours a day it could start to be worth it to shut things down for the day. In reality somebody is always accessing some parts of a shared system so you just need to leave it running (it's not about drive life, just practicality or requirements). Actually even from a business point of view there is a lot more risk in keeping things running for ages vs. periodic shut downs as you increase the risk of having multiple disks fail to start simultaneously (honestly I have not really seen this as much with modern hardware then old Sun / HP UX / AIX servers so maybe there has been some improvements).



http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25792 ... -spin-down

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/nas-d ... not.24482/




How much electricity do computers use?

Good article here, recommend to check it out. Gives you a bigger perspective about your pc and other electronic peripherals how leaving them on all the time has an annual operating cost that may have flown under your radar before now.

For example, let's say you have a big high-end computer with a gaming-level graphics card and an old CRT monitor, and you leave them on 24/7. That's about 200 watts x 24 hours x 365 days/yr = 1,752,000 watt-hours, or 1752 kilowatt-hours. If you're paying $0.36 per kWh, you're paying $631 a year to run your computer. (In California, PG&E's highest tier is $0.33/kWh, and the average in Hawaii is $0.36/kWh. source)

Let's try a different example: You have a computer that's less of an energy hog, like in iMac G5 20", which uses about 105 watts, and you're smart enough to turn it off or sleep it when you're not using it. You use it for two hours a day, five days a week. That's 105 watts x 10 hours/week x 52 weeks/year = 54,600 watt-hours, or 54.6 kWh. If you're paying 10¢ per kilowatt-hour, then you're paying about $5.50 a year to run your computer.

That's quite a range, $5.50 to $631 a year. It really depends on what kind of computer it is, how much you use it, and your local rate for electricity -- and especially whether you turn off the computer when you're not using it (or at least sleep it). Both the examples above are extremes. I used to have only one example somewhere in the middle but then I'd see people on blogs and forums misquoting it by writing, "Mr. Electricity says a computer costs about about $150/yr. to run." No, that is not what I said. I said that was just an example. Your situation is almost certainly different, and you need to consider all the variables listed in the first sentence of this paragraph.


Sleep & Screensavers
Modern computers automatically go to "sleep" when you haven't used them for a while, drawing only 0-6 watts. (Putting the computer to sleep also sleeps the monitor, on most models.) In the past, turning on the sleep setting was the most important way to save on computer energy use, but now that the sleep option is turned on by default out of the box, that's pretty much done for you. Just make sure you don't override it by turning it off. Of course, you can go the other direction, tweaking your sleep and power usage settings, especially by having your computer sleep sooner after a period of non-use.


My recommendations
-Set the Power settings on your computer to automatically go into Sleep/Standby mode after 15 minutes or so of inactivity.
-Use a laptop computer. They use lots less energy than desktops.
-If you use a desktop, use an LCD monitor. They use lots less energy than CRT's.
-Turn your computer off when you're done for the day.
-Use a Mac, or use the Granola power saver for Windows/Linux. Macs have generally used less electricity than most PC's. (I haven't had a chance to test current models, but I don't expect that a lot has changed.)
-Use a power strip so you can easily turn off all your computer accessories at once. BITS makes a special power strip that goes one step further, automatically cutting power to peripherals when you turn your computer off.


Read the full article here
http://michaelbluejay.com/electricity/computers.html



SMART for HDDs/SSDs as Fast As Possible

From Youtube.com


M.2 vs NVME: What's the difference?

From Youtube.com


Qnap models generally support M.2 Sata ssd. M.2 NVME is supported but only via QM2: M.2 SSD/10GbE PCIe Expansion Card for specific models.
Image


From Youtube.com


Situation may change in future for newer models but till then ALWAYS check your compatibility list for your model here
https://www.qnap.com/en/compatibility/



Understanding PCIe Upgrade Cards and NAS

From Youtube.com



Have current pending sector?

your hard drive smart says it has current pending sector count 1? Then watch this. Basically if i had raid5 i can temporarily pull out the problematic single drive, then slot it into a hdd dock to then perform the 0' data fill to hopefully get the current pending sector flagged. For future if you notice more of these current pending sector, then thats a clear sign it's needs to be replaced asap.

*note: raid 5 can only remove 1 hdd temporarily (at which point the raid5 will be in degraded mode with slower performance till you add back the hdd to rebuild the array). If you try to remove more than that your gonna lose your raid and data. I'm not responsible for that :mrgreen: put back the hdd or its replacement to rebuild your raid, i don't recommend staying in degraded mode too long. Cause if another hdd drops in that time period, thats bad :shock:


From Youtube.com


in regards to trying to do this via hdd dock method i gave it a try but... :(
P3R wrote:
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:so what is the best approach to zero filling the hdd?
I would use WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics with directly connected disk.


P3R wrote:
i rather not have to try install it into desktop directly (kinda defeats the point of a hdd dock :roll: )


A USB dock is perfect for quick and easy disk changes of healthy disks.

It's not at all good for disk diagnostics and low level access.


viewtopic.php?f=356&t=134247&p=626429&hilit=WD+Data+Lifeguard+Diagnostics#p626391

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:53 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
QNAP explanation about BTRFS vs ext4 comparison

https://www.qnap.com/solution/qnap-ext4/en/


From Youtube.com

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:54 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:55 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================

Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:59 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
Johnno72 wrote:A Forum Search Tutorial may well be needed :wink:

done :mrgreen:

Moogle's How to Use search function to self help on your qnap issues.

Asking help is perfectly fine, don't be afraid to ask. But to be also self reliant especially if it's an issue that mostly affects you is probably something you ought to put some effort in to solve your own issues. Nobody is going to expedite your issues but you, so self help deals with it in a productive manner. Here are some of the tips i've learned on my own over the years.


step1:

QNAP website, use the search.
Image

Image

*for keywords keep it simple not insanely long sentences. You might get a better result.
Image

*notes: Qnap does have lots of materials and some do get out dated. So if you spot something on the subject but out dated, you can then ask on forum for help on it, or clarification. It would also be helpful to create a support ticket to helpdesk to update their FAQ page that was outdated.



step2:

Use the search in forum, BEFORE asking

*use the pages to navigate to next page. See keywords in sentences, does it relate to your issue? no? then keep looking at the other threads and their posts, and browse till you find something mentioning your issue. Or try a different keyword that may show a better result.
Image


step3:

If all else fails theres google.


step4:
i also recommend trying youtube as well, then sorting by date if possible. There also some qnap youtube channels like this one mostly for guides
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOhKlX ... laJZQlZ8RA

others reviewing new qnap models, or just any tips or intros pertaining to NAS' in general.
https://www.youtube.com/user/SPANdotCOM/videos

or non qnap, but tech general intro channels
https://www.youtube.com/user/Techquickie/videos


Re: [Megathread] Moogle's QNAP FAQ help V2 *beta test

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:00 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
=================Reserved==========================