QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
AintLifeGarand
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 10:15 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by AintLifeGarand » Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 am

Signed in just to say thanks to yujungchang. My TS-251+ gave a fan error and then Bay 2 could not be seen at all. SYSFAN and system temp were not reporting properly either, but at least it was booting up and able to access Bay 1 just fine. I soldered a 100 ohm resistor between pins 1 and 8 on LPC_CN1, as advised, and back in business. :-)

ticast
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 10:45 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by ticast » Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:15 am

signed in just to say thanks to all for sharing info for fix no booting....100 ohms Works for my ts-251+ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ChrisMaki
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:28 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by ChrisMaki » Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:25 am

My TS-653 Pro died on Friday much like the others here, I received two emails one for each of the System fans "failing" and when I went to the basement the next day to check on it, the display displayed "System Booting". All sorts of troubleshooting later, including a complete disassembly and I've come across this thread. It was sitting on my dining room table alongside my multimeter with me at the time. Measured voltage between pins 1 and 10 on LPC-CN1 and I get 2.458VDC so it sounds like my next step is to check if I have a 100ohm resister in the box of resistors....For what it's worth, red LEDs on bays 1-3,5,6 and USB LED lit. Also, just for confirmation's sake, I also measured R48 for @yujungchang and got a similar reading, 8.23k ohm.

My question here, I see just two posts up that AintLifeGarand soldered between pins 1 and 8 but I thought I read earlier it should be between pins 1 and 10? Where am I soldering this resistor?

yujungchang
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 11:54 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by yujungchang » Tue Dec 22, 2020 5:41 am

AintLifeGarand wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 am
Signed in just to say thanks to yujungchang. My TS-251+ gave a fan error and then Bay 2 could not be seen at all. SYSFAN and system temp were not reporting properly either, but at least it was booting up and able to access Bay 1 just fine. I soldered a 100 ohm resistor between pins 1 and 8 on LPC_CN1, as advised, and back in business. :-)
The LPCCLK issue is less likely to have anything to do with the Bay 2, see the Mosfet related posts and most likely that is the problem for the Bay 2. Also 100 Ohm is just a reference point, you can try different values, up/down (few Ohms at a time) and see if other value works better for yours. Higher is ok, but probably don't want to go too low, like below 90 Ohm (or 80, just my random guess). If those values failed, you might as well just leave it alone at 100 Ohm or the highest value that still makes your system bootable.


[Update] Even though I think the drive bay 2 is more likely related to the failed mosfet, but then I saw the post from @mathr that his 2nd bay problem was fixed together with the LPCCLK issue viewtopic.php?f=25&t=157977&p=773973#p773973. If that's the case, you might want to tune down the resistor value, like @ChrisMaki did below until both system temp and fan reading are normal.


ChrisMaki wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:25 am
My question here, I see just two posts up that AintLifeGarand soldered between pins 1 and 8 but I thought I read earlier it should be between pins 1 and 10? Where am I soldering this resistor?
Both 8,10 are connected to GND, just pick one to use
Last edited by yujungchang on Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:17 am, edited 8 times in total.
[How to] Recover no beep / dead Intel based Qnap x53/x51 (2014~2016?) viewtopic.php?f=45&t=157459
[How to] Debug the SATA backplane power issue (models w/ a brick power supply viewtopic.php?f=50&t=157649
[How to] Enable onboard SATA connectors on the x53/x51 (Total 4+2 SATA drives for a 4 bay model) viewtopic.php?f=97&t=157816

ChrisMaki
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 8:28 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by ChrisMaki » Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:52 pm

yujungchang wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 5:41 am
Both 8,10 are connected to GND, just pick one to use
Well I just put my TS-653 Pro back together after soldering a 100 ohm resister to pins 1 and 8, and sadly I am still in the same state as before. LCD indicates "System Booting", drives 1-3,5,6 are still red and the USB LED is lit. If there's any other advice here I'd appreciate it, otherwise it looks like it's replacement time...Well, my intent was to replace it anyway since @yujungchang indicated this is a temporary fix for an otherwise failing CPU but I was hoping to have access to my data while I decide what the replacement is going to be.


****UPDATE****

I read through the thread and decided to try a little less resistance so I bent the leads on a 470 ohm resistor in a way that I could hang it off the 100 ohm and run them in parallel bringing the total resistance down to ~80 ohms...It's now booted up, so I'm going to power it down and replace this janky parallel setup with a soldered on 80 ohm.

yujungchang
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 11:54 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by yujungchang » Tue Dec 22, 2020 2:17 pm

ChrisMaki wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:52 pm
I read through the thread and decided to try a little less resistance so I bent the leads on a 470 ohm resistor in a way that I could hang it off the 100 ohm and run them in parallel bringing the total resistance down to ~80 ohms...It's now booted up, so I'm going to power it down and replace this janky parallel setup with a soldered on 80 ohm.
I was afraid that the 80 Ohm might be too low, but glad you get it working at the end. Overall, what we are trying to do is to keep the low of that clock low enough for the Fintek SIO to recognize and yet, the high still high enough for the system to function. If you see my scope captures earlier, the 100 Ohm already squeezes the clock to where it is on the borderline for the high. After salvaging your data, if you want to experiment, you can also try 85, 90 to 95 Ohm as well to keep the high as high as possible. But if it works, it works and there're no definitive answer to this problem because each system has its own distinct degradation state. Also warming the CPU up seems helpful on the booting when it's on the borderline. Cheers!
Last edited by yujungchang on Tue Dec 29, 2020 1:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
[How to] Recover no beep / dead Intel based Qnap x53/x51 (2014~2016?) viewtopic.php?f=45&t=157459
[How to] Debug the SATA backplane power issue (models w/ a brick power supply viewtopic.php?f=50&t=157649
[How to] Enable onboard SATA connectors on the x53/x51 (Total 4+2 SATA drives for a 4 bay model) viewtopic.php?f=97&t=157816

AintLifeGarand
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2020 10:15 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by AintLifeGarand » Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:25 pm

yujungchang wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 5:41 am
AintLifeGarand wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 am
Signed in just to say thanks to yujungchang. My TS-251+ gave a fan error and then Bay 2 could not be seen at all. SYSFAN and system temp were not reporting properly either, but at least it was booting up and able to access Bay 1 just fine. I soldered a 100 ohm resistor between pins 1 and 8 on LPC_CN1, as advised, and back in business. :-)
The LPCCLK issue is less likely to have anything to do with the Bay 2, see the Mosfet related posts and most likely that is the problem for the Bay 2. Also 100 Ohm is just a reference point, you can try different values, up/down (few Ohms at a time) and see if other value works better for yours. Higher is ok, but probably don't want to go too low, like below 90 Ohm (or 80, just my random guess). If those values failed, you might as well just leave it alone at 100 Ohm or the highest value that still makes your system bootable.
Thanks, yujungchang. I will go looking for those Mosfet posts. Appreciate the guidance!

raidforsaving
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:14 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by raidforsaving » Mon Dec 28, 2020 3:01 am

Does anyone know if the J4125 CPU in the TS-653D is free from this bug?
Model name: TS-x53D
Firmware version: 4.5.1.1495(20201123)
Volumes: EXT4, Encrypted volume
Previous: TS-x51 dead by CPU bug

yujungchang
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 11:54 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by yujungchang » Tue Dec 29, 2020 6:27 am

AintLifeGarand wrote:
Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:25 pm
Thanks, yujungchang. I will go looking for those Mosfet posts. Appreciate the guidance!
Even though I think the drive bay 2 is more likely related to the failed mosfet, but then I saw the post from @mathr that his 2nd bay problem was fixed all together with the LPCCLK issue viewtopic.php?f=25&t=157977&p=773973#p773973. After seeing that, I went on to buy a TS-251+ on the Ebay, that the seller claimed only the 2nd Bay is bad and the system is fully functional. Turns out, it is not in a good condition as I would hope and the LPC CLK is also degraded, just not as bad to prevent it from booting. Both the system temp and the fan RPM are not readable, even though it boots and the system is working with the 1st bay. I was able to confirm the SIO failed to respond with the superiotool to dump the SIO config https://www.coreboot.org/Superiotool.

For the superiotool, I ran into a make tool problem that failed to compile the tool with the Makefile, but can be workaround by manually compiling all the sources file and linking them afterward. The compiled tool is attached below if you want to try. After copying to your system, you'll need to use "chmod +x" to make this executable on your local system. If you have ssh to the system, you'll need to logout and reconnect to run the file, otherwise it failed with not able to see the file in the file system.
superiotool.7z

The LPC CLK voltage measured is @ 2.24V and it needs a ~350 Ohm to fix all these problems. After attaching the resistor, the 2nd Bay is also recognizable by the QTS and both system/temp & fan speed are now readable. The boot time is also shortened from 13 min to 5 min. My thought on this is the mosfet is for sure good and maybe the BIOS/QTS does not spin up/recognize the 2nd drive when the SIO failed to respond. The failed LPC CLK also affects the boot time drastically, maybe there are lots of errors/retries when the QTS boots with no SIO detected. Also this TS-251+ was manufactured in Oct 2016, so it seems like the life of these units are only about 4 years.

If that is the case for your system, you might want to tune down the resistor value, like @ChrisMaki did earlier until both system temp and fan reading are normal again.
raidforsaving wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 3:01 am
Does anyone know if the J4125 CPU in the TS-653D is free from this bug?
Your TS-651 is most likely affected, but the J4125 CPU in the TS-653D was manufactured in a much later date and is probably not affected.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by yujungchang on Sat Jan 09, 2021 7:52 am, edited 8 times in total.
[How to] Recover no beep / dead Intel based Qnap x53/x51 (2014~2016?) viewtopic.php?f=45&t=157459
[How to] Debug the SATA backplane power issue (models w/ a brick power supply viewtopic.php?f=50&t=157649
[How to] Enable onboard SATA connectors on the x53/x51 (Total 4+2 SATA drives for a 4 bay model) viewtopic.php?f=97&t=157816

user445
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 1:13 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by user445 » Tue Dec 29, 2020 8:25 am

I have the same problem with ts-453 Pro.
Red LED´s, Blue USB LED and No HDMI or Beep.

I cannot found a Shematics for the Board QW37 Rev 2.0.
I have replaced the Bios Chip and the Chip has the Bios QW37AR36.
My Power Supply has correct Voltage.


I have understand that the Problem is not the CPU, the problem is a Mosfet or transistor right?

user445
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 1:13 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by user445 » Tue Dec 29, 2020 10:18 pm

?

Keano16
Starting out
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Keano16 » Thu Dec 31, 2020 6:53 am

AintLifeGarand wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 am
Signed in just to say thanks to yujungchang. My TS-251+ gave a fan error and then Bay 2 could not be seen at all. SYSFAN and system temp were not reporting properly either, but at least it was booting up and able to access Bay 1 just fine. I soldered a 100 ohm resistor between pins 1 and 8 on LPC_CN1, as advised, and back in business. :-)
Hello,

So TS 251 + is also affected by this?

Mine is almost 2 years old and is working fine.

How old is your device?
QNAP TS-251+
2 x WD40FRX RED inside (2 x 4GB).

Keano16
Starting out
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by Keano16 » Thu Dec 31, 2020 6:55 am

abgrafx wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 9:47 am
My TS-251 failed as well. Same error - Failed fan. Did the 100 ohm resistor fix and booted right up. Thanks so much!
How old was your device?

Did you have warranty?
QNAP TS-251+
2 x WD40FRX RED inside (2 x 4GB).

user445
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 1:13 am

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by user445 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:47 pm

Great forum where one is not answered :)
I found the actual defect myself.


i'm out

riderkz
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:27 pm

Re: QNAP TS-453 Pro stuck on "SYSTEM BOOTING"

Post by riderkz » Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:52 pm

yujungchang, thanks
I have Fujitsu Q905 (5-6 years old) as I understand it is same Qnap 653 Pro.
Status of my NAS was:
1. 4/6 disks are red (all info accessible and I did backup)
2. System Booting on it display
3. System's fans error - 45645645 RPM but they are working fine

After I did this 100 Ohm fix all became as it should be.
My photo for someone who searching the solution.
IMG_20210104_143810.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”