New user looking for some help with a few questions

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Sootchucker
New here

New user looking for some help with a few questions

Post by Sootchucker »

HI all, I'm pretty new to QNAP NAS systems having just purchased a TS-453A, populated with 16tb of WD Red drives and a TS-251+ with 4TB of WD red drives. This was to replace my elderly and very slow (although very stable) ReadyNAS NV+ V2 unit that I've had for 6 years now.

In terms of complexity and features offered (and speed), it blows the ReadyNAS out of the water, but after re-installing all my movies, photos, files and music, it has left me with a few questions.

On the TS-251+ unit, I have this in work connected to a personal PC, used mainly as an image store. Everything works really well however as its in a work environment, I obviously can't connect it to our corporate WI-FI, but can connect via our GUEST WIFI. To that end I purchased a USB WI-FI stick which works really well, and give me web connectivity (software updates, remote connection from home etc.). However it's with this USB WI-FI network that I have an issue. The NAS is set to power down late at night and power up first thing in the morning. It does this perfectly, but whenever it re-boots, it never automatically re-connects to our Guest WI-FI network, and I have to fiddle around for several minutes to "force" it to connect. It's then golden until it powers off at night then back on again the following morning and the same thing happens. Is this a setting, something I am doing wrong or just what happens with these USB WI-FI sticks ? I've also noticed that after managing to get it to reconnect to the Wi-Fi system, that cloud link always shows an abnormal connection status and I have to click the re-connect button every time ?