Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
flymeaway
Starting out
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:02 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by flymeaway » Thu May 03, 2018 4:39 am

buiz_ wrote:Awesome, I did mean accessing the VM via a client browser so that's great. Will just need to enable audio, surely that's possible.

With that kind of firepower it should be possible to have the NAS output hdmi to a local screen via HDStation, serve a couple of transcoding Plex streams to units as well as provide a VM that's fully equipped to play games that are not too graphically demanding. Now I gotta go add up the numbers for a 64gb ts-877 with two gpu's (why not), a good sdd for caching and a bunch of 10 tb disks. Will not be cheap but oh the awesomeness of that rig... :)

EDIT: it's a cool $3200 (without hdd's, I have those already), but then it's also a beast and will basically supply a household with virtualized machines


I'm not sure you need the full 64gb of RAM. You could start with two stick of 16 (plus the 8 that's already on board). You can use (relatively) cheap-ish 2400mhz UDIMMs, too. It depends a bit on what you're doing in VMs, and how many you'll run simultaneously, but 8 gb per VM with 4 VMs... And RAM is *really* pricey right now, relative to historical -- it might come down a bit.

There are some awesome deals on SSDs right now... $125 for reasonable performance 512gb units. PM me and I can show you where...
David

Model: TS-877 R5-1600 // QTS 4.3.4.0551
Disks: 6x4TB HGST HUS726040ALE610 (RAID 6; QNAP approved) // 1x480gb Sandisk X400 SSD (no RAID; not approved)
RAM: 8gb QNAP OEM; 16gb Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 MHz
GPU: EVGA GTX 1050 SC Gaming
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Cloud Backup: TBD

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4846
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Trexx » Thu May 03, 2018 10:46 am

flymeaway wrote:
buiz_ wrote:Awesome, I did mean accessing the VM via a client browser so that's great. Will just need to enable audio, surely that's possible.

With that kind of firepower it should be possible to have the NAS output hdmi to a local screen via HDStation, serve a couple of transcoding Plex streams to units as well as provide a VM that's fully equipped to play games that are not too graphically demanding. Now I gotta go add up the numbers for a 64gb ts-877 with two gpu's (why not), a good sdd for caching and a bunch of 10 tb disks. Will not be cheap but oh the awesomeness of that rig... :)

EDIT: it's a cool $3200 (without hdd's, I have those already), but then it's also a beast and will basically supply a household with virtualized machines


I'm not sure you need the full 64gb of RAM. You could start with two stick of 16 (plus the 8 that's already on board). You can use (relatively) cheap-ish 2400mhz UDIMMs, too. It depends a bit on what you're doing in VMs, and how many you'll run simultaneously, but 8 gb per VM with 4 VMs... And RAM is *really* pricey right now, relative to historical -- it might come down a bit.

There are some awesome deals on SSDs right now... $125 for reasonable performance 512gb units. PM me and I can show you where...


I would agree... the most cost effective option usually is to get the lowest memory config possible (based on model & cpu choice) and then upgrade the memory yourself. WIth DIMM pricing being all over the place lately, the gap maybe slightly lower then normal but you still should see a savings.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Mahkceb
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 9:36 pm

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Mahkceb » Thu May 03, 2018 5:35 pm

Hello,

Do you guys think for a 4-8 vm setup its preferable to go for a Ryzen 7? Or a Ryzen 5 ill do the job? Im thinking in 2 cores per vm...

Enviado do meu SM-N950F através do Tapatalk

flymeaway
Starting out
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:02 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by flymeaway » Fri May 11, 2018 6:01 am

Mahkceb wrote:Hello,

Do you guys think for a 4-8 vm setup its preferable to go for a Ryzen 7? Or a Ryzen 5 ill do the job? Im thinking in 2 cores per vm...

Enviado do meu SM-N950F através do Tapatalk


Depends on what each VM is doing. VirtualStation will also do "virtual" CPUs instead of straight passthrough, which the Ryzen excels at (supposedly). If a bunch of your VMs are lightweight you could use "virtual" cores.

Also worth noting: even if you do VM passthrough, you have 12 cores to work with on the Ryzen 5. It takes the 6 hyperthreaded cores and lets you pass each through as a separate CPU, so effectively you have 12 cores to assign to VMs.

Again, a lot depends on what you're doing with the VMs.
David

Model: TS-877 R5-1600 // QTS 4.3.4.0551
Disks: 6x4TB HGST HUS726040ALE610 (RAID 6; QNAP approved) // 1x480gb Sandisk X400 SSD (no RAID; not approved)
RAM: 8gb QNAP OEM; 16gb Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 MHz
GPU: EVGA GTX 1050 SC Gaming
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Cloud Backup: TBD

Mahkceb
Starting out
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 9:36 pm

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Mahkceb » Fri May 11, 2018 6:34 am

flymeaway wrote:
Mahkceb wrote:Hello,

Do you guys think for a 4-8 vm setup its preferable to go for a Ryzen 7? Or a Ryzen 5 ill do the job? Im thinking in 2 cores per vm...

Enviado do meu SM-N950F através do Tapatalk


Depends on what each VM is doing. VirtualStation will also do "virtual" CPUs instead of straight passthrough, which the Ryzen excels at (supposedly). If a bunch of your VMs are lightweight you could use "virtual" cores.

Also worth noting: even if you do VM passthrough, you have 12 cores to work with on the Ryzen 5. It takes the 6 hyperthreaded cores and lets you pass each through as a separate CPU, so effectively you have 12 cores to assign to VMs.

Again, a lot depends on what you're doing with the VMs.


Thks for the very detailed info @flymeaway

Well i'm thinking in a light SQL Server running in a WServer 2016 or Windows 10, a Torrent Server maybe in windows 10 ou Linux still trying to decide, a Windows 10 for testing purposes and a Plex Server for now :roll:

jserio
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by jserio » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:42 am

flymeaway wrote:
buiz_ wrote:How's the gaming capability of the 677 with a good graphics card? I'm intrigued by the idea of having the NAS replace my gaming laptop and provide virtual machines for my kids to play on. I'm not looking for high framerates in the latest games, but decent/playable in games like Diablo III and such. Possible?


EDITED: Got the VM up and running. Stellaris ran amazingly well, very smooth. Had it just on 2 cores for early game we'll see if it holds up when things get busier. Don't forgot to install the Guest OS Tools and VertIO. I remember VertIO but forgot the guest tools and that was a world of pain...


I'm a little late to this party but I am considering a 1277 (Ryzen 5) to replace my under-powered Synology + Zotac Zbox. Since Cloud Gaming seems to be gaining ground, I am intrigued by the idea of having a cloud gaming box (1277) and being able to game anywhere using the GeForce game stream option (along with Parsec).

Have you (or anyone else) had a chance to try some other games over the network hosted on the VM? Since this seems to be a niche area right now, there are no YouTube videos showing off cloud gaming from a NAS.

flymeaway
Starting out
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:02 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by flymeaway » Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:28 am

jserio wrote:Have you (or anyone else) had a chance to try some other games over the network hosted on the VM? Since this seems to be a niche area right now, there are no YouTube videos showing off cloud gaming from a NAS.


I've used Steam Stream to do gaming on my laptop, but that's within my LAN not truly "cloud." It worked great. The TS-x77 series has a beast of a processor, and performance isn't native but it's close. It's like native for a slightly less-well-specced PC.
David

Model: TS-877 R5-1600 // QTS 4.3.4.0551
Disks: 6x4TB HGST HUS726040ALE610 (RAID 6; QNAP approved) // 1x480gb Sandisk X400 SSD (no RAID; not approved)
RAM: 8gb QNAP OEM; 16gb Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 MHz
GPU: EVGA GTX 1050 SC Gaming
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350
Cloud Backup: TBD

spizzi
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by spizzi » Sun Jul 15, 2018 2:02 pm

Curious of two things:

1. Can I install a gtx-1080ti into this thing?
2. If I install two GPUs, can I crossfire them?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14069
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by dolbyman » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:10 am

1. doubt it..space//power//heat is one thi g
2. very unlikely .. you would need to ask qnap if the board supports sli

Kanashii
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:18 am

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Kanashii » Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:22 am

1.- I doubt two 8 pin connectors are avaliable inside (I think only 6 pin )
2.- No space for 2 PCI-E (just one and with height limits)

Kanashii
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:18 am

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Kanashii » Sat Jul 28, 2018 12:23 am

Tried anyone to put a Ryzen+ (2000 series) cpu on the QNAP board?

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4846
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Post by Trexx » Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:03 am

Kanashii wrote:Tried anyone to put a Ryzen+ (2000 series) cpu on the QNAP board?


I believe someone did try it... doesn't work.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”