Page 1 of 3

Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:32 am
by kd6icz
My TS-677 is up and running great! Dedicated for Plex DVR for my entire family, it's handling it like a boss!

As I did when I purchased my TS-1635, I've taken pictures of the internals for folks that are looking to pick up a TS-x77 and want to purchase upgrades at the same time.

FYI - The M.2 slots are SATAIII. Not PCIe.

These pictures are what comes in the box without any add ons.ImageImageImageImageImage

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:40 am
by Trexx
Congratulations and thanks for the pictures.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:20 am
by troubleshooter
Congrats, thanks for sharing... My ts-1277 came yesterday.... I am really impressed with it so far... :)

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:09 am
by schumaku
Teddy Bear <3!

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:30 am
by kd6icz
So a few additional things I messed around with. I did try a graphics card. It was the 2GB EVGA 1050 card on the approved list. My local Fry's had it on sale so I thought "why not?"

I'm not sure if you can see it in the pictures, but the graphics card doesn't really fit very well in the available space. The backplane from the 2.5" drive bays is ever so slightly in the way. I think this would only be an issue with the 677. You should have more room in the 877 and 1277. (Although the 1277 has four 2.5" bays so it might be a challenge there as well.)

ImageImage

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:22 am
by Trexx
kd6icz wrote:So a few additional things I messed around with. I did try a graphics card. It was the 2GB EVGA 1050 card on the approved list. My local Fry's had it on sale so I thought "why not?"

I'm not sure if you can see it in the pictures, but the graphics card doesn't really fit very well in the available space. The backplane from the 2.5" drive bays is ever so slightly in the way. I think this would only be an issue with the 677. You should have more room in the 877 and 1277. (Although the 1277 has four 2.5" bays so it might be a challenge there as well.)

ImageImage

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk


On the x77 YouTube videos they show the recommended card dimensions and I do believe there is a difference between the 677 and other models.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:20 am
by kd6icz
I also installed the LAN-10G2SF-MLX dual SFP+ card. It's has PCIe 3.0 x8 interface but since I'm only using 1 port at a time (one active - one hot standby) I figured the 3.0 x4 port has more than enough bandwidth.

I also upgraded the RAM to Corsair PC2666 low profile (Vengeance LPX) 4GB x 4. The M.2 SSD's are ADATA SU800 256GB (2280 with built in ECC).Image

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: RE: Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:26 am
by kd6icz
Trexx wrote:
On the x77 YouTube videos they show the recommended card dimensions and I do believe there is a difference between the 677 and other models.


Yes. I actually found printed documents that give the dimensions for each model. Unfortunately, none of the Nvidia models fit in the 677. A couple of the ATI's will fit fine. But I was going for hardware transcoding and only the Nvidia's support this according to QNAP.

It's ok. The Ryzen 5 is barely breaking 20% CPU usage with 3 simultaneous clients. So my household of 6 will never max it out.


Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:18 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
ty for pics, very cool.

just wondering about the graphics, is yours a low profile or Non? could that be the reason about the tight squeeze ? :'

Re: RE: Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:51 pm
by kd6icz
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:ty for pics, very cool.

just wondering about the graphics, is yours a low profile or Non? could that be the reason about the tight squeeze ? :'
Not low profile. As far as I can tell none of the cards on the list are LP.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:37 pm
by AlmightyDF
Can you take a pic of your VM passthrough? I'm having issues with the 1060 passthrough on my NAS (not the same model). Here is my issue, i just want to double check that your 1050 which is on the approved list experiences the same issue: HDMI Audio doesn't get passed through and Nvidia HD Audio driver doesn't get installed. https://i.imgur.com/ibWbShu.png

Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:58 am
by Trexx
AlmightyDF wrote:Can you take a pic of your VM passthrough? I'm having issues with the 1060 passthrough on my NAS (not the same model). Here is my issue, i just want to double check that your 1050 which is on the approved list experiences the same issue: HDMI Audio doesn't get passed through and Nvidia HD Audio driver doesn't get installed. https://i.imgur.com/ibWbShu.png


NVidia Audio passthrough works just fine on my new early Christmas Present :) I am running though on the 4.3.4 beta, so maybe due to that or could be HW related due to different NAS model.

Please provide NAS model, QTS version & Build, VS version & Build, etc.

Re: RE: Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:15 am
by kd6icz
AlmightyDF wrote:Can you take a pic of your VM passthrough? I'm having issues with the 1060 passthrough on my NAS (not the same model). Here is my issue, i just want to double check that your 1050 which is on the approved list experiences the same issue: HDMI Audio doesn't get passed through and Nvidia HD Audio driver doesn't get installed. https://i.imgur.com/ibWbShu.png
I didn't keep the graphics card. I'm not really familiar with the whole VM stuff and all I was hoping to use it for was hardware transcoding through Plex.

The QTS Plex developer advised me to get my money back for the card due to Plex most likely never supporting the proprietary framework of Nvidia hardware. Apparently Intel and AMD have agreed on a standard for this so they're waiting on some announcement that's scheduled to happen this week.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Re: RE: Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:53 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
kd6icz wrote:I didn't keep the graphics card. I'm not really familiar with the whole VM stuff and all I was hoping to use it for was hardware transcoding through Plex.


not possible atm. not sure for the reasoning for plex, but when i asked emby developer team, they said the issue is although emby supports it, the problem lies in the ffmpeg missing the nvenc libraries due to licensing issues or something :(

kd6icz wrote:The QTS Plex developer advised me to get my money back for the card due to Plex most likely never supporting the proprietary framework of Nvidia hardware. Apparently Intel and AMD have agreed on a standard for this so they're waiting on some announcement that's scheduled to happen this week.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk


no graphics crd HW accelertion for either plex and emby for transcoding. though if using qnap native apps like videostation/hdstation for live transcoding, it my be supported though.

other than that, the graphics is used for VM if you plug monitor direct to the graphics card.

I wasn't aware of the intel/amd news, i'll google it :shock:

*did a search but didn't find anything. got a link :? ?

Re: RE: Re: Got my TS-677 up and running! I've taken pictures for reference.

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:22 am
by Trexx
kd6icz wrote:
AlmightyDF wrote:Can you take a pic of your VM passthrough? I'm having issues with the 1060 passthrough on my NAS (not the same model). Here is my issue, i just want to double check that your 1050 which is on the approved list experiences the same issue: HDMI Audio doesn't get passed through and Nvidia HD Audio driver doesn't get installed. https://i.imgur.com/ibWbShu.png
I didn't keep the graphics card. I'm not really familiar with the whole VM stuff and all I was hoping to use it for was hardware transcoding through Plex.

The QTS Plex developer advised me to get my money back for the card due to Plex most likely never supporting the proprietary framework of Nvidia hardware. Apparently Intel and AMD have agreed on a standard for this so they're waiting on some announcement that's scheduled to happen this week.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk


Actually I would be very careful of this characterization. Plex MAY end up supporting a Libva (intel driver) > Mesa > Nvidia driver option for Nvidia support. Plex doesn't want to do throwaway work, but if they can interface through a common platform api (mesa) then that is a different discussion.

That will likely be in 2018 (if it happens) as Intel is scheduled to release Libva 2.1 (which Plex needs) around Dec. 22nd. Until Plex has that, everything is at a stand still due to code fixes they need in LibVA.

Now whether the GPU would be exposed enough through QTS for Plex to take advantage of this or not I have no idea. That would be likely be discussions between Plex & QNAP.

Either way for the x77 family it really is irrelevant as the CPU has plenty of horsepower to handle SW transcoding against multiple streams.