How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:45 pm

Image

Figured this out myself with trial and error. Here is a guide how to use iperf to test networking performance between your QNAP and your client devices, in my case, Desktop win10 PC.

pre-requisite
- In app center, setup my qnapclub as a repository. there is a guide for that here
https://qnapclub.eu/en

- install iperf from the qnapclub repository via app center

- download iperf for your windows here
https://iperf.fr/iperf-download.php

- extract the iperf windows contents to this location e.g.

Code: Select all

C:\iperf-3.1.3-win64\iperf3.exe





now go to windows start, type cmd, right click it, open as administrator


then type

Code: Select all

cd C:\\


Code: Select all

cd  C:\iperf-3.1.3-win64\



then

Code: Select all

iperf3 -c "your QNAP ip address without the quotes"


e.g.

Code: Select all

iperf3 -c 192.168.0.210



This is my result testing speed between Desktop pc and TS-877 over my local network
iperf x77 test.png


:mrgreen:

Code: Select all

908 Mbps = 113.5 MB/s

https://www.gbmb.org/mbps-to-mbs


And when you are done testing, you can go app center and disable iperf, until you actually need to use it :wink:



process should be roughly the same on smartphone e.g. android/iphone...


i wanted to try it by testing from 1 qnap to another using winscp/putty, but i couldn't get that to work. there is an old guide here though that may help
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/QNA ... II/10.html

The location for iperf on my qnap was

Code: Select all

/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/iPerf3/bin/iperf3.exe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Moogle Stiltzkin on Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

LittleBird
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:38 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by LittleBird » Tue May 08, 2018 3:56 pm

Moogle,
Just a guess on my part but provided one of the NAS in the "NAS to NAS" test has a HDMI output you should be able to load and run Iperf via Linux Station. This should get around the Putty problem.

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue May 08, 2018 9:43 pm

LittleBird wrote:Moogle,
Just a guess on my part but provided one of the NAS in the "NAS to NAS" test has a HDMI output you should be able to load and run Iperf via Linux Station. This should get around the Putty problem.


oo i didn't know about that. okay i'll give that a try the next time, thky you :}
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

jburianyk
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:11 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by jburianyk » Tue Jan 29, 2019 3:52 am

Hi
I have a TS-420 and I'd like to install iperf, however after installing the QnapClub repository, I don't see the mentioned iPerf3 application. I see other apps in the repository but the iperf one seems to be missing. Is the TS-420 too old to run it directly?

Thanks
Jerry

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14015
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:18 am

apparently not available for old x19 units .. but not much to gain from that anyways .. those units aren't fast enough to even reach 1GbE .. so why bother ?

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7380
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:04 pm

jburianyk wrote:
Tue Jan 29, 2019 3:52 am
..
time for a upgrade :(
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

jburianyk
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:11 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by jburianyk » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:30 am

Sadly - thanks for the response!

caprichoso
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by caprichoso » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:54 pm

I am trying to install iPerf3 on my TS-453Bt3. Going to qnapclub.eu in the first post I see that there are a number of executables:

TS-X31, TS-NAS86_64, TS-X28A, TS-X41

but not my TS-453bt3. I don't want to screw up my system. Will one of these work, or am I out of luck?

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 6117
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by OneCD » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:24 pm

caprichoso wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:54 pm
Will one of these work, or am I out of luck?
Your NAS has a Celeron CPU, so you’ll need the TS-NAS86_64 package.

production NAS: TS-569 Pro with Debian 9.9 'Stretch' (power on/off times are < 1 minute)
backup NAS: TS-559 Pro+ with QTS 4.2.6 #20190730

one.cd.only@gmail.com

Image Image Image Image

caprichoso
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by caprichoso » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:12 am

That worked. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”