How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru
Posts: 11445
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

Image

Figured this out myself with trial and error. Here is a guide how to use iperf to test networking performance between your QNAP and your client devices, in my case, Desktop win10 PC.

pre-requisite
- In app center, setup my qnapclub as a repository. there is a guide for that here
https://qnapclub.eu/en

- install iperf from the qnapclub repository via app center

- download iperf for your windows here
https://iperf.fr/iperf-download.php

- extract the iperf windows contents to this location e.g.

Code: Select all

C:\iperf-3.1.3-win64\iperf3.exe

now go to windows start, type cmd, right click it, open as administrator


then type

Code: Select all

cd C:\\

Code: Select all

cd  C:\iperf-3.1.3-win64\

then

Code: Select all

iperf3 -c "your QNAP ip address without the quotes"
e.g.

Code: Select all

iperf3 -c 192.168.0.210

This is my result testing speed between Desktop pc and TS-877 over my local network
iperf x77 test.png
:mrgreen:

Code: Select all

908 Mbps = 113.5 MB/s
https://www.gbmb.org/mbps-to-mbs


And when you are done testing, you can go app center and disable iperf, until you actually need to use it :wink:



process should be roughly the same on smartphone e.g. android/iphone...


i wanted to try it by testing from 1 qnap to another using winscp/putty, but i couldn't get that to work. there is an old guide here though that may help
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/QNA ... II/10.html

The location for iperf on my qnap was

Code: Select all

/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/iPerf3/bin/iperf3.exe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Moogle Stiltzkin on Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 (QTS) w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A (Truenas Core) w. 4x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) RaidZ1 ZFS + 8gb ddr3 Crucial
[^] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D (Truenas Scale)
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100mbps FTTH | Win11, Ryzen 5600X Desktop (1x2tb Crucial P50 Plus M.2 SSD, 1x 8tb seagate Ironwolf,1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Resources
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin
LittleBird
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:38 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by LittleBird »

Moogle,
Just a guess on my part but provided one of the NAS in the "NAS to NAS" test has a HDMI output you should be able to load and run Iperf via Linux Station. This should get around the Putty problem.
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru
Posts: 11445
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

LittleBird wrote:Moogle,
Just a guess on my part but provided one of the NAS in the "NAS to NAS" test has a HDMI output you should be able to load and run Iperf via Linux Station. This should get around the Putty problem.
oo i didn't know about that. okay i'll give that a try the next time, thky you :}
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 (QTS) w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A (Truenas Core) w. 4x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) RaidZ1 ZFS + 8gb ddr3 Crucial
[^] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D (Truenas Scale)
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100mbps FTTH | Win11, Ryzen 5600X Desktop (1x2tb Crucial P50 Plus M.2 SSD, 1x 8tb seagate Ironwolf,1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Resources
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin
jburianyk
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:11 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by jburianyk »

Hi
I have a TS-420 and I'd like to install iperf, however after installing the QnapClub repository, I don't see the mentioned iPerf3 application. I see other apps in the repository but the iperf one seems to be missing. Is the TS-420 too old to run it directly?

Thanks
Jerry
User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 35276
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by dolbyman »

apparently not available for old x19 units .. but not much to gain from that anyways .. those units aren't fast enough to even reach 1GbE .. so why bother ?
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru
Posts: 11445
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

jburianyk wrote: Tue Jan 29, 2019 3:52 am ..
time for a upgrade :(
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 (QTS) w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A (Truenas Core) w. 4x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) RaidZ1 ZFS + 8gb ddr3 Crucial
[^] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D (Truenas Scale)
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100mbps FTTH | Win11, Ryzen 5600X Desktop (1x2tb Crucial P50 Plus M.2 SSD, 1x 8tb seagate Ironwolf,1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Resources
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin
jburianyk
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:11 am

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by jburianyk »

Sadly - thanks for the response!
caprichoso
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by caprichoso »

I am trying to install iPerf3 on my TS-453Bt3. Going to qnapclub.eu in the first post I see that there are a number of executables:

TS-X31, TS-NAS86_64, TS-X28A, TS-X41

but not my TS-453bt3. I don't want to screw up my system. Will one of these work, or am I out of luck?
User avatar
OneCD
Guru
Posts: 12161
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by OneCD »

caprichoso wrote: Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:54 pmWill one of these work, or am I out of luck?
Your NAS has a Celeron CPU, so you’ll need the TS-NASX86_64 package.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
caprichoso
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by caprichoso »

That worked. Thanks!
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru
Posts: 11445
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

Home Networking: How to test your network, a guide to iperf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-7Hf-61g0A

*recommended to watch for understanding iperf and how to use it :)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 (QTS) w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A (Truenas Core) w. 4x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) RaidZ1 ZFS + 8gb ddr3 Crucial
[^] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D (Truenas Scale)
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100mbps FTTH | Win11, Ryzen 5600X Desktop (1x2tb Crucial P50 Plus M.2 SSD, 1x 8tb seagate Ironwolf,1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Resources
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru
Posts: 11445
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

these are the commands i used for iperf test in udp and in reverse
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=155315&p=766373#p766373
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 (QTS) w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A (Truenas Core) w. 4x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) RaidZ1 ZFS + 8gb ddr3 Crucial
[^] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D (Truenas Scale)
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100mbps FTTH | Win11, Ryzen 5600X Desktop (1x2tb Crucial P50 Plus M.2 SSD, 1x 8tb seagate Ironwolf,1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Resources
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin
renebonvanie
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:21 pm

Re: How to use Iperf to test network performance for your QNAP

Post by renebonvanie »

Client: Mac Pro with Sonnet 10Gbe
Server: QNAP TVS-872XT with Mellanox 10Gbe

renebonvanie@Rene-MacPro ~ [1]> iperf3 -c 192.168.2.44
Connecting to host 192.168.2.44, port 5201
[ 5] local 192.168.2.16 port 54618 connected to 192.168.2.44 port 5201
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate
[ 5] 0.00-1.00 sec 995 MBytes 8.34 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 1.00-2.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 2.00-3.00 sec 1.09 GBytes 9.40 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 3.00-4.00 sec 1.09 GBytes 9.40 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 4.00-5.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 5.00-6.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 6.00-7.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 7.00-8.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 8.00-9.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
[ 5] 9.00-10.00 sec 1.10 GBytes 9.41 Gbits/sec
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bitrate
[ 5] 0.00-10.00 sec 10.8 GBytes 9.30 Gbits/sec sender
[ 5] 0.00-10.00 sec 10.8 GBytes 9.30 Gbits/sec receiver

iperf Done.

Nice !
NAS: QNAP TVS-872XT with 64Gb RAM and an Intel i7-8700T processor
Router: QNAP QHora-301W
Switch: QNAP QSW-M408-4C
Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”