QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:57 pm

tbh if they do get wpa3, i'm sure that marketing would be shouting about it from the roof tops (or more accurately the subscription newsletter). good tip anyway thx.

anyway, i was watching the youtube @ 34:00 and it showed a configuration, where wireless is bound to the other ethernet port. so now i'm wondering if i can use port1 for vpn gateway, but then use 2nd port for the wireless. then wouldn't pia vpn gateway work simultaneously and i can also use wireless? i'll see if that works.

From Youtube.com
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:56 pm

Okay i got it working great.

i removed wireless ap from ethernet 1, and instead set it up for ethernet 2.

ethernet 1 then is for wired ethernet (which for the duration of this month long test i have unplugged).

ethernet 2 is not using any wired cables, but is instead being used by the wireless adapter 1. so when i run wireless ap station, it uses ethernet 2 now.

so what i can do is.... VPN privateinternetaccess client connects via ethernet 1...... which is now set to gateway..... and wireless works still. because i have separated them out.

basically yes you can use both. it's just that i misconfigured it originally, thats why it didn't work on my first attempt when testing.


anyway this is my working setup (wireless ap station enabled. the QNAP wireless adapter is now an access point. Also in virtual network, i set the virtual switch 4 as a dhcp server based on what the youtube recommended)

wireless ap 3.png



then to connect to the qnap wirelessly is a rather simple matter.

For my windows 10 desktop pc, just left click the network icon, and from the pulldown there is the wireless device. click that connect and enter the password. Done.

Then i add the qnap desktop shortcut (in the virtual switch 4 i already set a fixed lan ip for it)

Code: Select all

\\qnap lan ip



furthermore, in windows 10 credential manager, just add an entry for the qnap device username and password. done.

Now i can simply click that shortcut to access the QNAP via samba as i normally would via wired access.

QTS desktop also works using that new lan ip i set for it.


Another method to connect to the qnap is to setup a mount point for it, which i did not feel a need for since the desktop shortcut works sufficiently for me.



hm..... as a side note, the wireless adapter password is shown openly in the overview in the network topology. maybe there should be a toggle? hide/unhide? (default being hide). just my opinion. lots of apps do this :' also maybe make the password a 1 click copy? i had to instead select the password text then ctrl+c to copy. so yes i do think some refinement is still possible for the QTS UI in this regard.



*just an update

i got a warning that "dns server can't resolve host"
viewtopic.php?t=69596


i just set primary and secondary to 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1 :'



*just update

i mean to say, bundle wireless adapter from virtual switch 1 to virtual switch 2 "in my case i renamed it as 4". The earlier misconfig is because virtual switch 1 is used by ethernet port 1. so the conflict is that wireless adapter shouldn't be bundled in the same virtual switch as that interferes with vpn gateway. so to fix it, had to move wireless adapter moved to another virtual switch. so linking ethernet port 2, is probably not required, only the wireless adapter needs to be moved.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Moogle Stiltzkin on Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:25 pm

i ran performance benchmark

download
---------------
177.01 Mbps = 22.12625 MB/s

upload
-----------
86.78 Mbps = 10.8475 MB/s


i see from the windows 10 properties it's using wireless n. probably because the internal wifi on the desktop is crappy compared to my router (which is wireless ac and has antennas). thats my only explanation for the shoddy performance.

performance was great earlier when i connected the qnap to the router instead.


so i would need to improve the wireless connection on my desktop if i want better performance >_>: or go back to connecting the qnap to the router instead.


that said, just testing streaming for random 1080p x265 video, i can watch fine though with no stutter :'

but i'd probably revert back to the previous wireless setup anyway for better file transfer performance.



*update

so i switched back to the first setting (i also removed dhcp server, and set it to dhcp client, so the router issues the dhcp fixed lan ip) and performance is back to the first test which is fine. i may not get the less workload on router benefit, but as long as i can connect to the qnap wirelessly with the best performance possible with my current gear, then it's fine for me.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:34 pm

noticed that when you use ap station, it is possible to modify virtual network to select both the wireless adapter and ethernet port to put them under the same virtual switch.

but when you disable ap station, then check the same virtual network configuration window, the wireless adapter is now hidden and not a selectable component.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by spikemixture » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:48 pm

From my experimenting with virtual switches and networks the order you do things is very important.

I will not add to this until i get mine - hopefully in the next few days
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - (Raid 6)
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - Plex and Emby server and some apps
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - cache
M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - undecided
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 150TB all up.
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:52 pm

i don't normally play around with virtual switches, it just worked and i left it at that.

but since i started with wireless adapter, i had to learn more about them and proper setup ^-^;

good then we can compare notes, maybe i can learn something you figured out that i missed.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:13 pm

nibbles wrote:The only thing which would make it even better is longer length of the cable connection so it could be mounted a bit higher.


agreed on this point.

but i believe in qnap youtube, they mention using your own antenna's if you feel you need something better. i'm sure there may be third part alternatives, but i'm not exactly sure which ones precisely. but that does seem to be a possibility if the default ones are not satisfactory in length, or if you can get a better antenna.


nibbles wrote:The other thing noticed from packaging side of things is instructions could improve to include requirement/steps in deployment process (to help those who perhaps may need clearer guidance steps. (e.g. 1 - install container station followed by the app needed to get things up and running. Otherwise... setup is really a piece of cake for any general tech savvy person).

Cheer,
nibbles


i also agree on this point.

it was not simply just install into the QNAP.

and it was not simply just going to ap station or virtual switch and flipping enable on the device.

No. For people using advance setups e.g. like my case a VPN gateway for the QNAP, then you need to ensure that the virtual switch used by the vpn gateway is separate from the wireless adapter. So i had to have 2 virtual switches, and separate them out. Only then does the wireless configuration work without issue.

the youtube (which i linked in the thread) did mention that connecting directly to the QNAP is the best setup. For this configuration, then you make the QNAP the wireless ap with ap station. They even show you the step by step for the virtual network switch configuration (for a non technical person, this is recommended to watch because it shows you exactly what to do).

but because my desktop wireless client is shoddy, the performance was not better or even equal to that of my router's wireless. So i had to use the less optimal solution which is connect the qnap as a wireless client device, to the router. then my desktop pc can browse over the network (wired to router), to the qnap (which is connected to the same network to the router, wirelessly).

so yes, there are these details i only uncovered during the self testing phase (nothing scandalous) but nothing really covered this extensively in the brochure guide.

end result is satisfactory, but it would probably be helpful for QNAP's own recommendations for what kind of wireless client on the pc desktop they would recommend.

I wouldn't mind using their wireless adapter also on the pc desktop (so i'd have 2 QWA AC2600 wireless adapters) , if it supported windows 10 (which it does not seem to be the case, as it only mentions ubuntu/linux system) for installing the adapter into a pc system :/
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

wmarsch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:50 am

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle -Nice to hear it was u - i have to buy it- u won the qwa ac-2600. i lost

Post by wmarsch » Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:00 am

i just bought the qwa-2600 for 130 bucks… but it Fails

slotet in 2nd aera of my x82
lspci find it as "ath10k_pci" 2x at 0a and 0b

But WirelessAPstation can´t find.... holy q_ap,,,, give me qts 4.4.x with 4.14 kernel please.
containerstation, wirelessap reinstalled … fail

HelpDesk ticket is on the way

User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by spikemixture » Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:49 pm

Mine arrived so immediately opening my box up and slipped it in.
That was easy. Rebooted
And downloaded and installed the required software.
Add 2 AP one for 2.4 and the other 5G and named them appropriately.

They then showed up in my adapters as WirelesAP 1 and 2
Added them to one of my Virtual switches and went to my Android phone and there they were - my 2 new AP.

But then QVRpro would not see any cams. Rebooted NAS and Router (Asus) and my cams came back.

So far everything is working and took me about 5 hours of "testing"

And have PIA VPN setup and my phone sees me at my chosen VPN location.
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - (Raid 6)
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - Plex and Emby server and some apps
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - cache
M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - undecided
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 150TB all up.
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

wmarsch
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:50 am

Re: QWA-AC2600 review by Moogle

Post by wmarsch » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:30 pm

a qnap product (ac2600) in a qnap nas (x82) fail! just courious. no answer form Helpdesk... waiting

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:20 am

wmarsch wrote:i just bought the qwa-2600 for 130 bucks… but it Fails

slotet in 2nd aera of my x82
lspci find it as "ath10k_pci" 2x at 0a and 0b

But WirelessAPstation can´t find.... holy q_ap,,,, give me qts 4.4.x with 4.14 kernel please.
containerstation, wirelessap reinstalled … fail

HelpDesk ticket is on the way
wmarsch wrote:a qnap product (ac2600) in a qnap nas (x82) fail! just courious. no answer form Helpdesk... waiting
hi sorry to hear that. are you referring to the qts for your QNAP ? mines the QTS 4.3.5 latest build for TS-877 so it's based on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS from what i know according to Fathermande.
[youtube=]ONXfL6evR0Q[/youtube]




spikemixture wrote:Mine arrived so immediately opening my box up and slipped it in.
That was easy. Rebooted
And downloaded and installed the required software.
Add 2 AP one for 2.4 and the other 5G and named them appropriately.

They then showed up in my adapters as WirelesAP 1 and 2
Added them to one of my Virtual switches and went to my Android phone and there they were - my 2 new AP.

But then QVRpro would not see any cams. Rebooted NAS and Router (Asus) and my cams came back.

So far everything is working and took me about 5 hours of "testing"

And have PIA VPN setup and my phone sees me at my chosen VPN location.
naice. any performance tests? how does it perform? :'
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by spikemixture » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:12 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
naice. any performance tests? how does it perform? :'
No.

Give me what and how and I will run tests !
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - (Raid 6)
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - Plex and Emby server and some apps
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - cache
M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - undecided
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 150TB all up.
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:42 pm

spikemixture wrote: No.

Give me what and how and I will run tests !

there are a few methods.

using iperf
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=140883&hilit=iperf+guide



or speedtest
https://qnapclub.eu/en/qpkg/499





because my client device was a PC, i ran test that way.

but if your client is like a mobile smartphone device, then you may need to do it slightly differently :'
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by spikemixture » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:14 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
spikemixture wrote: No.

Give me what and how and I will run tests !

there are a few methods.

using iperf
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=140883&hilit=iperf+guide



or speedtest
https://qnapclub.eu/en/qpkg/499





because my client device was a PC, i ran test that way.

but if your client is like a mobile smartphone device, then you may need to do it slightly differently :'
Hey Moogle

Ok ran several test but what am I testing?

I ran iperf from my PC to my NAS and the numbers were very very close to yours in the iperf post.
I also ran iperf from my android phone to the NAS using my new NAS AP and my default NAS AP with and without VPN and the numbers were all over the place.

I will do the phone thing again and do a spreadsheet to see the numbers properly.
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - (Raid 6)
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - Plex and Emby server and some apps
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - cache
M.2 - 2x Crucial MX500 500GB - (Raid 1) - undecided
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 150TB all up.
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7124
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: QWA-AC2600 experience by spike

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:17 am

spikemixture wrote: Hey Moogle

Ok ran several test but what am I testing?

I ran iperf from my PC to my NAS and the numbers were very very close to yours in the iperf post.
I also ran iperf from my android phone to the NAS using my new NAS AP and my default NAS AP with and without VPN and the numbers were all over the place.

I will do the phone thing again and do a spreadsheet to see the numbers properly.
just checking if the file transfer speeds between the QNAP and your client devices over wireless is performing well or not.

read/write :)


using HBS backups wired 1gig ethernet, i can hit close to max 120 MB/s so i would ideally want something close to that :' so i'm comparing the performance difference i am getting between wired 1gig eth vs using the wireless instead.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4 HDD total x 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Kingston Hyperx Fury + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter addon.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung EcoGreen F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-659 Pro
[Backup] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TS-228
[Backup] QNAP TS-128 w. 1x 1TB Western Digital RE3 (WD1002FBYS)

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100mbps dl/50mbps ul FTTH Internet | Windows 10 Enterprise, Water Cooled PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides and articles by me
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review


https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”