First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:05 pm

Hi,

Looking for some advice / steps to make the most of my setup as it's my first time dabbling in a 10GBe network with the following setup:


Switch - QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch with SFP+ and RJ45 ports - 2 year Warranty

NAS - QNAP TVS-672XT (with RJ-45 10gbe Ethernet port and Thunderbolt 3 port)

Laptop - with a QNAP QNA-T310G1T adapter (RJ-45 to Thunderbolt 3).

Questions:
1) Assume any RJ-45 port on the switch can act as WAN port where I plug in from my ISP modem/router?
2) With my laptop, would I need to I plug in using the QNAP QNA-T310G1T adapter to the switch it I've already got a Thunderbolt to thunderbolt connection between laptop and NAS? Can the thunderbolt network interface ace as both a data transfer link and provide my laptop WAN access to the internet?
3) Will the switch simply pickup and assign to each connected device the same DHCP ip range assigned by my ISP modem / router?
4) I understand the switch is unmanaged to from an IP setup perspective I won't be able to define a different IP range specific just the devices connected to the switch it'll follow the same IP range as dictated by modem / router?

Thanks for the replies, been a long time since I've done any wired LAN networking and working with switches!

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7933
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:25 pm

gunnerxl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:05 pm
Hi,

Looking for some advice / steps to make the most of my setup as it's my first time dabbling in a 10GBe network with the following setup:


Switch - QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch with SFP+ and RJ45 ports - 2 year Warranty

NAS - QNAP TVS-672XT (with RJ-45 10gbe Ethernet port and Thunderbolt 3 port)

Laptop - with a QNAP QNA-T310G1T adapter (RJ-45 to Thunderbolt 3).

Questions:
1) Assume any RJ-45 port on the switch can act as WAN port where I plug in from my ISP modem/router?
2) With my laptop, would I need to I plug in using the QNAP QNA-T310G1T adapter to the switch it I've already got a Thunderbolt to thunderbolt connection between laptop and NAS? Can the thunderbolt network interface ace as both a data transfer link and provide my laptop WAN access to the internet?
3) Will the switch simply pickup and assign to each connected device the same DHCP ip range assigned by my ISP modem / router?
4) I understand the switch is unmanaged to from an IP setup perspective I won't be able to define a different IP range specific just the devices connected to the switch it'll follow the same IP range as dictated by modem / router?

Thanks for the replies, been a long time since I've done any wired LAN networking and working with switches!
did you read this? there some tips for 10gbe setup there
https://blog.qnap.com/10gbe-walkthrough-en/
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:58 pm

Thanks just had a read of the article. I've pretty much got all the hardware they talk about haha but doesn't answer my IP specific questions but assume all will be fine and that any port on the switch can act as the WAN Port and pick up the DHCP ip addresses provided by my router and will then assign any other devices connected to other ports on the switch the same IP range? Will ensure to try the MTU setting to 9000 tweak too! My disks will be a mix of 6x nvme m2 2TB drives in a RAID-5 running my primary system, plex and VM volume and 3x 6TB 7200RPM SATA will be a separate storage volume in a seperate RAID-5. Not sure whether to sacrifice 2 of the 6 2TB nvme drives and go for a RAID-1 read/write cache and have already posed these questions in my other thread viewtopic.php?f=12&t=149880&p=723267#p723267

Thanks for your advice!

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5241
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:30 pm

gunnerxl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:05 pm
Hi,
Questions:
1) Assume any RJ-45 port on the switch can act as WAN port where I plug in from my ISP modem/router?
yes you designate any port to use as the "uplink" port to your Router. the switch does not have a WAN port. the WAN port is the port facing the internet. it is on your router.
2) With my laptop, would I need to I plug in using the QNAP QNA-T310G1T adapter to the switch it I've already got a Thunderbolt to thunderbolt connection between laptop and NAS? Can the thunderbolt network interface ace as both a data transfer link and provide my laptop WAN access to the internet?
yes use the QNA-T310G1T as your connection to the LAN and the internet via the 10GbE Switch. the TB to TB connection on the NAS needs to be a different subnet than the LAN subnet as you will end up with routing/loopback issues, or just disable the TB to TB connection, you wont need it.
3) Will the switch simply pickup and assign to each connected device the same DHCP ip range assigned by my ISP modem / router?
the switch does not do DHCP, you router issues IP addresses via its DHCP server scope. however. A NAS's should really have there own Static IP addresses (so its is fixed and not dynamic). some routers DHCP Servers you can reserve an ip address, but if you cannot do that then assign an ip address on the NAS interface making sure the IP address is outside of the routers DHCP scope.

example
Router IP: 192.168.1.1 / 255.255.255.0

LAN is 192.168.1.0 / 255.255.255.0

DHCP Server scope 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.254 / 255.255.255.0

so 192.168.1.2-99 are free to use for static IP addresses on devices if required.

if the DHCP Server however has reservation feature then use that instead.
4) I understand the switch is unmanaged to from an IP setup perspective I won't be able to define a different IP range specific just the devices connected to the switch it'll follow the same IP range as dictated by modem / router?
unmanaged switches dont worry about assigning IP addresses. the router will do that.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1146 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1146 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1098 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.645 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.191016 • LEgo v3.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:37 pm

Thanks for the reply! Got it, my router can reserve IP's so will provide the NAS a static IP for sure. Just wanted to be sure that the uplink/WAN Port which into a port on the switch will automatically ensure any other devices including the NAS plugged into the switch will be on the same subnet as my router/rest of wireless devices on the network.

Question on the TB to TB direct connection between laptop and NAS thunderbolt port. Until my QNA-T310G1T adapter arrives I can either connect my laptop via wifi to my router or via gigabit LAN to the switch. But that being said, what can I do with the TB to TB direct connection? Will the NAS simply act as an external (albeit) fast file server? Is the NAS somehow able able to share WAN / internet access (it's obtained via its 10gbe port from the switch) via the TB port so my laptop won't need d to connect via wifi or gigabit LAN to switch even if it's on a different subnet?

Thanks again for your responses!

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5241
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:05 pm

it really depends on what you want to do on the NAS from your laptop.

with a TB-TB connection you cold map a drive and simply compy files to a frow from the laptop and NAS. this will be much quicker than using Wifi or LAN and will be a direct connection rather than go via a switch. choice is yours. if as you say you dont have the adaptor yet then leave your TB connection for now. once you get the adaptor setup you cna see what is faster. TB-TB or TB-10GbE adaptor.

as long as each connection is on a different subnet TB and 10GbE interfaces on the NAS/PC then you could connect either way.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1146 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1146 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1098 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.645 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.191016 • LEgo v3.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:20 pm

Right... so until the QNA-T310G1T adapter arrives. Will a TB to TB direct connection between laptop and NAS provide the laptop to access the internet via the NAS's connection to the switch via its connection to the switch via its 10gbe connection?

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:56 am

gunnerxl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:20 pm
Right... so until the QNA-T310G1T adapter arrives. Will a TB to TB direct connection between laptop and NAS provide the laptop to access the internet via the NAS's connection to the switch via its connection to the switch via its 10gbe connection?
Try it and tell Us !
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:58 am

spikemixture wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:56 am
gunnerxl wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 10:20 pm
Right... so until the QNA-T310G1T adapter arrives. Will a TB to TB direct connection between laptop and NAS provide the laptop to access the internet via the NAS's connection to the switch via its connection to the switch via its 10gbe connection?
Try it and tell Us !
Erm, alright! Just don't want to get muddled in virtual switches etc...

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:00 pm

u don't need to touch virtual swirches.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:35 pm

spikemixture wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:00 pm
u don't need to touch virtual swirches.
Ok we'll see, the Switch arrives this Friday, the thunderbolt adapted in 2 weeks so if the thunderbolt to thunderbolt adapter link allows internet connection sharing the laptop should be good to go. Interesting how qnap don't provide any documentation about what this thunderbolt connection can do beyond file server / sharing and drive mapping etc...

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7933
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:40 pm

gunnerxl wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:35 pm
spikemixture wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:00 pm
u don't need to touch virtual swirches.
Ok we'll see, the Switch arrives this Friday, the thunderbolt adapted in 2 weeks so if the thunderbolt to thunderbolt adapter link allows internet connection sharing the laptop should be good to go. Interesting how qnap don't provide any documentation about what this thunderbolt connection can do beyond file server / sharing and drive mapping etc...
https://www.qnap.com/solution/thunderbolt3-nas/en/

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/search/thunderbolt


QNA-T310G1T: Thunderbolt™ 3 to 10GbE adapter|NAS ASAP
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HMapUhgHoC0


Unveiling the QSW-1208-8C
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHU2qRkesJc


Network & Virtual Switch explained: Virtual service application and setup tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnKhr8l9eaw


:'
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:01 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:40 pm
gunnerxl wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:35 pm
spikemixture wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:00 pm
u don't need to touch virtual swirches.
Ok we'll see, the Switch arrives this Friday, the thunderbolt adapted in 2 weeks so if the thunderbolt to thunderbolt adapter link allows internet connection sharing the laptop should be good to go. Interesting how qnap don't provide any documentation about what this thunderbolt connection can do beyond file server / sharing and drive mapping etc...
https://www.qnap.com/solution/thunderbolt3-nas/en/

https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/search/thunderbolt


QNA-T310G1T: Thunderbolt™ 3 to 10GbE adapter|NAS ASAP
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HMapUhgHoC0


Unveiling the QSW-1208-8C
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHU2qRkesJc


Network & Virtual Switch explained: Virtual service application and setup tutorial
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnKhr8l9eaw


:'
Lol that's a lot of material indeed. But short of me going through each and every one does anyone know if a Thunderbolt to thunderbolt connection between NAS and and laptop afford the laptop internet access assuming the NAS has a seperate RJ-45 connection to a switch with WAN access?

gunnerxl
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by gunnerxl » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:08 pm

Based on this article https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/faq/arti ... -same-time I'm assuming that a Thunderbolt to thunderbolt connection between a Pc (laptop) and NAS it says it forms a network bridge. So I'm assuming it's a bridge to a pre-existing network they the PC *or* NAS is already connected to?

holafab
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:00 pm

Re: First time 10gbe network QNAP QSW-1208-8C 12-Port 10GbE Switch

Post by holafab » Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:34 pm

I tried a QNAp with two thunderbolt3 ports, filled with SSDs, with the intention of
- make two iMac have 10GBE (that's like a $400 value you get with the unit, like 2 thunderbolt to 10GBE adapters.)
- make iMacs would access the directly connected QNAP, of course.
- make iMacs access a 10GBE network that would be connected to 10GBE port on QNAP, so they can access my 10GBE switch and other QNAP, devices, internet, printers, etc.

When it works, it's amazing. Then a restart of a computer, or whatever, and doesn't work. Lack of documentation, QNAP won't explain what was designed for, what they expect you to do with it. All seems experimental. Video editors need things that work, they can't be told to tinker with settings or QFinder, so sadly i returned it.
2x TVS-871 - 2x TS-413P - 1x TS-453Be with SSD cache
Returned a disappointing TVS-472XT-PT thundebrolt3

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”