Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:10 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-BbCZLLF5E

@1:47
they compare it against the TVS-x72XT series :'


@14:30
they discuss something about ram. Apacer, Kingston, Transcend get mentioned which is curious :'


instead of 10gbe, they give you 5gbe (which matches what asustor recently added to their lineup. So i'm guessing this is their answer to that? perhaps :) ). and because it's 5gbe, they recommend using with their QNA-UC5G1T adapter
https://nascompares.com/2019/07/26/qnap ... re-review/
Check out IEEE 802.3bz, which is the standard that specifies 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T.

2.5 Gbps over 100+ metres of Cat 5e
5 Gbps over 100+ metres of Cat 6
5 Gbps over 100 metres of Cat 5e in certain scenarios (e.g. good cable, low interference)


Odds are you'd probably get 5 Gbps over the short lengths found in homes.

Where are the 5Gb Ethernet routers
I don’t remember seeing 1.5mbit, 5mbit nics.
You don't really need a NIC to do this when there are USB3.0 to 5G/2.5G/1G/100M ethernet adapters from QNAP, TRENDnet etc:

https://www.qnap.com/en-au/product/qna-uc5g1t

So it won't matter if your PC only has a 1GBASE-T NIC as you won't need to use it.
Anything in between is a stop gap
RJ45 based 10GbE uses a lot of power, generates heat, and requires Cat6A cabling or better.

If you are a small business with a lot of Cat5 or Cat6 wiring then 2.5GbE or 5GbE might appeal as you can run that over existing LAN wiring.


The real problem is the limited options regarding switches with this at the moment.
https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2597835


the router in the illustration seems to be a Nighthawk AX8. maybe there are other 5gbe routers, but this is the one i spotted so far :)
The AX8 is the lower end of the two Wi-Fi 6 routers. It has two 4 x 4 antenna arrays (one for 5GHz Wi-Fi, one for 2.4GHz), five gigabit Ethernet ports, and supports a total of 6GHz of wireless throughput. The AX12 is very similar, but it includes an 8 x 8 antenna array for its 5GHz network, which Netgear says offers better long-range stability, along with a faster processor and a 5Gb Ethernet port.

For now, few (if any) people will actually be able to take advantage of all that power. In fact, you’re likely better off waiting to buy into the Wi-Fi 6 ecosystem: your phone, computer, game console, and everything else in your home almost certainly don’t support the new Wi-Fi standard, so many of these gains won’t help you. You’ll have to buy all new products in the coming years before support for some of these newer technologies arrives.

But if you’re eager to jump in, or just love the idea of wiring up a very capable local network, Netgear is one of the first to start offering this class of router. The AX8 goes on sale this month for $399. The AX12 will arrive in “late Q1 / early Q2” of 2019, with pricing still undetermined.

And while this is the first major Wi-Fi 6 router to be unveiled after the Wi-Fi 6 branding was announced, this router doesn’t actually state that it supports “Wi-Fi 6” on the box. It still says 802.11ax (perhaps because Netgear initially planned to announce this product months ago, but held off until today). A representative for Netgear said that the company “will be using the generational language from the Wi-Fi Alliance,” but that it would take time to implement.
https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker ... 12-80211ax




Intel Core i3-8100 (aka Coffee Lake) Review
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/in ... ,5385.html

4cores/4threads & 8031 cpu mark
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cp ... Hz&id=3103


then on the positive side they add 2 pcie instead of just 1in the TVS-x72XT series. Then you don't need to pick between a graphics or a Qm2, you can have both (the newer QM2 can be installed in the smaller pcie slots now).

they also have 2 models, 6 and 8 bay. Interestingly it seems it natively supports 2x m.2 NVME ssds :mrgreen: which is a nice change. M.2 SATA is these days similarly priced to that of m.2 NVME, so it makes more sense going for the NVME which is not bottle necked.

the downside is no thunderbolt. not much of a con if you didn't need that to begin with. Also the only option for this is an intel i3. If you require more bays for ssds, well, there are different models that have those extra slots, this model however just has the bare minimum that is fine for most people.

but , it added the 2 pcie vs the 1 pcie in the TVS-x72XT series.


i'm guessing the catch is that this model is meant to be the trimmed cut down version of the TVS-x72XT series for people not requiring thunderbolt, or necessarily pay out for 10gbe, nor pay for the i5/i7 variants (but want something better than a celeron), but instead get something much cheaper by trimming those things out. this is my assumption.

In summary, the features for the NAS does look good (in particular updating to m.2 nvme ssd slots internally? 2 pcie slots and of course the 5gbe), but curious about the final price tag for this model since that is what will be determinant how nice this model is :'

In particular, how does this compare to TVS-x73e, TS-x73 & TVS-x82 series in price? :'
https://www.qnap.com/en/product/compare ... t_overview


TVS-x72N seems to be my recommendation if you want something better than a ts-x53be (celeron), but cheaper than a TVS-x72XT & ts-x77. the inbuilt m.2 nvme ssd and 5gbe is also the main deciding factors for this recommendations. and assuming that it achieves a reasonable pricing in between these 2 model ranges.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:21 am

totally ridiculous.
A new model so you can have 5G instead of 10G ?
But no new expansion chassis for the zillions of models (including the TVS-x72XT, and probably the TVS-x72N). "eeh - the TX-800P is still just fine at thunderbolt 2".
I have no idea who comes up with this stuff.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 4973
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Post by Toxic17 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:38 am

I think if I had the choice it would be 10GbE before 5GbE I dont really see the point.
Regards Simon

QNAP 4.3.x/4.2.x Manuals

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.3.6.1040 • TVS-463-16GB 4.3.6.1040 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.0 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14096
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Post by dolbyman » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:03 am

most 10GbE adapters have fallback anyways, my 951X offers 10,5,2.5,1Gbit options on that port

the 5GbE chip must have been a good deal, to specifically build a new series around it :'

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7395
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Introducing the TVS-x72N: The 5GbE/2.5GbE/1GbE Multi-Gig NAS with SSD cache for higher performance

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:21 pm

not sure if this helps put into perspective, but i found this
$100 for the AQN108 and $130 for the AQN107
Aquantia’s new AQtion single-port network cards come in two flavors: AQN107 and AQN108. They use the AQC107 and AQC108 controllers respectively, just to keep things simple. The chief difference between them is that the AQN-108 tops out at 5GBASE-T (5 gigabit) while the AQN-107 offers support for 10GBASE-T (10 gigabit).
price difference at the time of the article posted in 2017 is just $30

https://www.extremetech.com/computing/2 ... thernet-pc


so the qnap, switch, router, pcie card on desktop client, all these components with an aquantia on it. perhaps the total cost of all these parts keeping it 5gbe instead of 10gbe will add up to some savings? does anyone have an actual price comparison between 5gbe vs 10gbe gear? if the price difference isn't that substantial then 10gbe would be preferable :X

On performance metrics, Aquantia have told us that the AQ107 can achieve 9.5 Gbps in each direction in the 10G mode with a CPU utilization of 12-20%, and in 5G mode it can do 4.6 Gbps in each direction with 6-14% CPU use. Due to the higher clock rate of the controller, in 1G mode the controller is quoted as having has lower latency than standard 1G controllers. The AQC107, in 5G mode, will have a typical power consumption around 3W when in use.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/10908/aq ... rs-for-pcs


how much power does 10gbe use? :'



so i did spot some parts that are capped at 5gbe (probly using the cheaper AQN108 part)

- motherboard 5gbe port
- the qnap usb 3.1 to 5gbe adapter thing
- wireless router (the netgear example)

then what about switches?
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”