Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Introduce yourself to us and other members here, or share your own product reviews, suggestions, and tips and tricks of using QNAP products.
Post Reply
HelixOne
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:36 pm

Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by HelixOne » Mon May 11, 2020 4:39 pm

I started with the first QNAP x86 based NAS the TS-509 Pro and eventually migrated to the TVS-863+ due to the fact the TS-509 couldn't take drives larger than 2TB (due to a bug in the SATA controller). I've been very happy with the TVS-863+ and bought a couple of UX-800P expansion units (at the time it was cheaper than upgrading my drives to higher capacity drives, and I just kept buying cheap low capacity drives until they were full at which time I bunmped the drive capacities).

Now 5 years in I just upgraded to 16TB Exos (from 10GB Ironwolfs), and they seem great, but I've been using the system like a server more and more, and am running 2 VMs, three containers, and a couple of heavy QPKGs and am up to the edge on RAM (I'm maxed out to 16GB and running right at the edge).

Needless to say, I need a box with more RAM capacity, and ideally more CPU power. I've been looking, and it looks like my best options are.:
1) TS-1677x (1700)
2) TS-1685 (D1531)
3) TS-1277 (1700)

If it weren't for wanting more RAM for VMs, I wouldn't probably be even considering a hardware upgrade, as speed is more of a nice-to-have. (Although if I am going to upgrade, I don't want to just go for the same thing with more RAM. IE: I'm not getting the TS-873 or TVS-873e.)

Of the 3, I really think the TS-1677x (1700) is the best for my needs, but:
1) It's discontinued
2) It's using a CPU that's 2 generations behind (soon to be 3)
3) It caps out at 64GB RAM. (This isn't that big of a deal today, but I don't want to be forced to upgrade the chassis again any time soon, so would prefer 128GB max ram.
4) None of the built-in USB ports are Gen2 (10G)

The other two aren't that much better.
1) The TS-1685 seems expensive for what it is, and you don't get the greatest CPU performance.
2) The TS-1277 has the same CPU and RAM cons as the TS-1677x. (It also doesn't have builtin 10GBE, but that's arguably offset by builtin 10G USB.)

I'm really torn, it feels like QNAP is overdue for an update of the TS-1677x, with a 3rd gen Ryzen, but it seems they are focused on other things? Should I just wait? (I can't find any roadmap info.) Kinda feels like I should either wait for a refresh or try to find a used TS-1677x (1700)?

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5250
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by Trexx » Tue May 12, 2020 5:29 am

Look at the new rack mount QuTS Hero Ryzen boxes.

Max at 128GB , Ryzen 3x00 cpu, 10GbE standard.

Can run QuTS (ZFS) which scales to 1PB capability.

https://www.qnap.com/en/product/ts-h1277xu-rp


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

HelixOne
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:36 pm

Re: Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by HelixOne » Tue May 12, 2020 8:15 pm

Apologies. I didn't make it clear that this isn't for a data center application. This is for my my home office lab server. For reasons outside of my control I have been working from home more and want a beefier home server. I like the convergence of storage and server in one. I could go a different route and build a full white box server running some Linux variant, but really have come.to like the convenience of having an embedded appliance. The mini towers that QNAP makes are an ideal form factor for this application, especially considering that they generally aren't as loud as a rack mounted server due to fewer fan size restrictions. The CPU in the server you linked is ideal and should in theory be able to go.into a very similar motherboard as the ts-1677x which is why I'm waiting for an update. As far as ZFS goes, I have deployed QES servers in data centers, and for those use cases it's been great. Thinking I want to stay with ext4 for now.

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5250
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by Trexx » Tue May 12, 2020 8:25 pm

I have a home lab with a 1/2 rack in my utility room so I don’t assume anything :). Some models that support QTS can also run QuTS hero (when released) and the same apps that QTS runs. You do have to reformat though to switch between them.

Haven’t heard of new Ryzen boxes on the horizon, but doesn’t mean it couldn’t happen. I would guess you are at least 3+ months out though.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 831
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed May 13, 2020 12:15 am

I think there are countless people (including me) that are waiting for "the list" from QNAP to see exactly what models will run QuTS, and which models won't. Currently, there are 3 "official models" that run QuTS, and the least expensive is a 4 bay that is $3000. (the TS-h977XU-RP). A little pricy for my "home lab" to experiment with. I too install a lot of enterprise QNAP systems, but I certainly don't want to install a QuTS at a paying client, when I have no idea of exactly how it works, and what it's limitations are.

So like everyone else, I will "hold my breath" and wait.
Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
Trexx
Ask me anything
Posts: 5250
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Contemplating a new NAS.. (Have TVS-863+)

Post by Trexx » Wed May 13, 2020 2:00 am

Actually Bob the low-end Ryzen box for QuTS is a 9 bay box. It has 5 internal 2.5” drives (slide back top panel) + 3.5” front facing drives.

I don’t know if the 2.5 drives are hot swappable or not.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.3.x
QTS (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
Data (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar
VMs (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
Ext. (HDD): TR-004 [Raid-5] 4 x 4TB HGST Ultastor
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
UPS: CP AVR1350

Model:TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
Model:TS-228a FW: 4.4.3.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Post Reply

Return to “Users' Corner”